US Customs and Border Protection "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

US Customs and Border Protection Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
58%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
US Customs and Border Protection CEO R. Gil Kerlikowske
R. Gil Kerlikowske
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "In addition to the pay and benefits, I felt that I made a difference in my community(in 17 reviews)

  • "Good pay with the overtime; good job security not particularly dangerous for a law enforcement job(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Homeland Security and CBP are politically driven agencies(in 10 reviews)

  • "Long hours, facilities can be rough in older airports/cargo offices, normal headaches that come along with managing union employees(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Radiation Safety Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Physicist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Customs and Border Protection full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and great people

    Cons

    long hours and constant travel

    US Customs and Border Protection2017-04-06
  2. "Decent work with great pay, sometimes can be a bit robotic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Us Customs and Border Protection Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Customs and Border Protection full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Pay -Benefits -Meet people from all walks of life

    Cons

    -Long Hours -Cynicism -Feels like DMV with a firearm -Lack of employee development

    Continue reading
    US Customs and Border Protection2019-07-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "CBP Supervisor (First-Line)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CBP SUpervisor (First-line) in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Customs and Border Protection for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay, opportunity to earn up to $45000 in OT per year in addition to base salary and up to $2500 end of year performance award (if you are a good/excellent manager)

    Cons

    Long hours, facilities can be rough in older airports/cargo offices, normal headaches that come along with managing union employees.

    Continue reading
    US Customs and Border Protection2018-03-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "GOOD PAY / LONG HOURS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    CBP Officer 

    I worked at US Customs and Border Protection for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay was good, always had overtime, and it is sometimes very rewarding.

    Cons

    Long hours, lack of respect for common employee by public and management

    Continue reading
    US Customs and Border Protection2017-03-12
  5. Helpful (14)

    "customs and border protection officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Us Customs and Border Protection Officer in Calexico, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Customs and Border Protection full-time

    Pros

    The job has ample opportunity for overtime. I left as a gs 11 step 5. I made well over $100,000 a year. In addition to the pay and benefits, I felt that I made a difference in my community. I intercepted numerous narcotics and alien smuggling attempts.

    Cons

    Long hours away from family. Last minute notice of overtime after working a full 8 hour shift.

    Continue reading
    US Customs and Border Protection2016-09-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "CBP Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CBP Officer in Tok, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Customs and Border Protection for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Professional atmosphere. Good Supervisors

    Cons

    Long hours at various times

    Continue reading
    US Customs and Border Protection2015-08-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "CBP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Customs and Border Protection

    Pros

    Job satisfaction, promotions and opportunities to move around the country.

    Cons

    Shift work and sometimes long hours standing up.

    Continue reading
    US Customs and Border Protection2014-09-23
  8. "A great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Helpdesk Technician in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Customs and Border Protection full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment, good communications, worthwhile work, occasional travel.

    Cons

    Long hours, shift work, varying work locations.

    US Customs and Border Protection2013-03-18
  9. Helpful (4)

    "good agency to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CBP Officer in Nogales, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at US Customs and Border Protection full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    stability, high earning potential, carrer advancement

    Cons

    long hours, alot of prior tranining, long probational period

    US Customs and Border Protection2013-01-13
Found 9 reviews