US Department of Defense Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
US Department of Defense Secretary of Defense James Mattis
James Mattis
393 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "fast staff turnover of military staff(in 109 reviews)

  • "Away from family, long hours, constant PCSing(in 94 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Job stability"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US Department of Defense full-time

    Pros

    you will be gainfully employed and receive perks in government service

    Cons

    you may not be fully compensated for your talent

    US Department of Defense2020-03-26
  2. "Good place to work with a lot of room for growth."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Washington, DC

    I have been working at US Department of Defense full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are many opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Work life balance can sometimes get lost.

    US Department of Defense2020-05-27
  3. "DOD Employment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intelligence Officer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Defense full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Security, Service, Duty, Honor, Country

    Cons

    None, Mission always, Persistence Vigilance

    Continue reading
    US Department of Defense2020-05-20
  4. "DOD Is Not All War"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Writer/Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at US Department of Defense full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Good benefits. I've gotten to work on things I saw come into the private sector years later. Travel opportunities. Advancement potential.

    Cons

    Can get monotonous. Backstabbers. Politics.

    US Department of Defense2020-05-12
  5. "Will monitor your every keystroke"

    2.0
    Former Employee - CAF Adjudicator in Fort Meade, MD

    I worked at US Department of Defense full-time

    Pros

    Nationally accredited adjudication certification program which is sought out by other government agencies and private industry.

    Cons

    Micromanaging that is unlike anything you’ve ever experienced. Unrealistic production requirements.

    US Department of Defense2020-05-26
  6. "Cyber Security Service Provider"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Defense full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. Employment stability 2. Competitive benefits 3. Latest technology to include NEXGEN 4. Speciality Network Pool of Knowledge

    Cons

    1. Career Ceiling 2. Career position is bias (based on who you know and not in skillset) 3. Lacks in pay and benefits in comparison to the corporate industry

    Continue reading
    US Department of Defense2020-05-23
  7. "Good job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Geospatial Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Defense full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great job with a sense of purpose and great benefits

    Cons

    Hours can very and be very long days

    US Department of Defense2020-05-09
  8. "Great"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Child and Youth Program Assistant 

    I worked at US Department of Defense part-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, good pay, and team support.

    Cons

    You're on your feet a lot

    US Department of Defense2020-05-07
  9. "Aircraft Mechanic"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Defense full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great career with plenty of opportunities for professional growth.

    Cons

    Military membership requirements and overseas assignments.

    Continue reading
    US Department of Defense2020-05-07
  10. "Group Commander"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Officer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Defense full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Awesome people that you can trust

    Cons

    Deployments, long work hours and tiem away from family

    US Department of Defense2020-05-06
Viewing 1 - 10 of 2211 Reviews