US Department of Treasury Reviews | Glassdoor

US Department of Treasury Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 314 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
US Department of Treasury CEO Steve Mnuchin
Steve Mnuchin
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Enforcement Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Treasury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing mission, passionate people and some great opportunities

    Cons

    Budget issues with federal government, organizational chaos

    Continue reading
    US Department of Treasury2019-06-21
  2. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Excise Tax Auditor 

    I have been working at US Department of Treasury full-time

    Pros

    Job security, advancement, training, supportive environment

    Cons

    Management, ambiguous goals, low training budget

    Continue reading
    US Department of Treasury2019-08-14
  3. "Great mission, but sometimes tough work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - International Economist in Washington, DC

    I worked at US Department of Treasury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing mission, smart people, interesting work. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Long hours, overly political, very hierarchial.

    Continue reading
    US Department of Treasury2019-08-10
  4. "Disability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ratings Analyst in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Treasury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for the Federal Government has many advantages, such as structured environment, job security (sometimes) and a good benefit package.

    Cons

    Politics, if you do not play well with others, it can cost your career

    Continue reading
    US Department of Treasury2019-08-09
  5. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Economic/Business Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Treasury full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits (insurance and retirement) are really good. Generally nice, competent coworkers too

    Cons

    Pay is lower than the private sector and there are long hours

    Continue reading
    US Department of Treasury2019-08-04
  6. "Average Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SOC Analyst in Rockville, MD

    I have been working at US Department of Treasury for more than a year

    Pros

    Stability Relationships built with team members Fast pace No micromanagement Average benefits

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunity Limited salary increases

    Continue reading
    US Department of Treasury2019-07-17
  7. "Good experience for college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DO 

    I worked at US Department of Treasury for less than a year

    Pros

    -good work environment -work was usually easy -good work environment -supervisor was extremely involved with interns and was always willing to take time to help, also put in a lot of effort to help interns develop career skills and prepare for professional life

    Cons

    -unpaid -tasks were often dull and repetitive (e.g. 508 testing, conducting test scripts) -disorganized communication

    Continue reading
    US Department of Treasury2019-07-09
  8. "Office of Global Economics Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Treasury for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of free time to chill.

    Cons

    There are five economists in the office and three interns. The interns are unpaid and have very little work to do because there are so few economists. You will spend your summer sitting around doing very little work. Oh and by the way, they give you an exploding offer when hiring interns. Don't be afraid to reject them because you will be doing nothing of value in this office.

    Continue reading
    US Department of Treasury2019-08-12
  9. "Great Experience with Supportive Co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at US Department of Treasury

    Pros

    I gained administrative skills to support intergovernmental and international projects. I also worked on some interesting topics ranging from disaster mitigation to terrorist financing.

    Cons

    Sometimes a little slow or boring, but compared to other internships, I was given much more responsibility. At times, I was even treated as full-time staff in terms of responsibilities.

    Continue reading
    US Department of Treasury2019-06-30
  10. "Government job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at US Department of Treasury full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of time off, flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Management are well aware of employee concerns but do little to address them.

    Continue reading
    US Department of Treasury2019-06-19
Found 314 reviews