Cover image for US Department of Veterans Affairs
Logo
See All Photos

US Department of Veterans Affairs

Engaged Employer

US Department of Veterans Affairs

Add a Review

US Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Instrument Technician Reviews

3.1

1% would recommend to a friend

(9 total reviews)

Secretary of Veterans Affairs Denis McDonough

Denis McDonough

1% approve of CEO

Ratings by category

3.2

Diversity & Inclusion

3.2

Compensation and Benefits

2.7

Career Opportunities

2.5

Work/Life Balance

2.3

Culture & Values

1.5

Senior Management

Ratings distribution

5 stars

11%

4 stars

67%

3 stars

11%

2 stars

11%

1 star

0%

Ratings by Demographics

Want more options?

This rating reflects the overall rating of US Department of Veterans Affairs and is not affected by filters.

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email

Found 9 of over 9K reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2023

    1. 5.0
      Jan 7, 2019
      Medical Instrument Tech
      Former Employee, more than 8 years
      Mountain Home, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and AFGE Union support once you’ve been working fir 12 months

      Cons

      Bad Supervisors are not dealt with by administration.

      1
      1. 4.0
        Jul 3, 2023
        Medical Instrument Technician
        Former Employee, more than 5 years
        Salisbury, NC
        Recommend
        CEO Approval
        Business Outlook

        Pros

        Great benefits and great pay

        Cons

        Lots of bureaucracy, office politics, etc.

      2. Join the US Department of Veterans Affairs team
        See Our Latest Jobs
        1. 4.0
          Mar 7, 2022
          Medical Instrument Technician
          Current Employee
          Cleveland, OH
          Recommend
          CEO Approval
          Business Outlook

          Pros

          M-F shift not usually available when providing medical services.

          Cons

          Weak management, no true measure of effectiveness.

          1. 4.0
            Jan 31, 2022
            Medical Instrument Technician
            Current Employee, more than 3 years
            Richmond, VA
            Recommend
            CEO Approval
            Business Outlook

            Pros

            Job security Helping out vets Access to other government jobs Nice place to retired

            Cons

            Poor communication Other departments are slow to help

            1. 4.0
              Aug 24, 2018
              Medical Instrument Technician
              Former Employee, more than 8 years
              Loma Linda, CA
              Recommend
              CEO Approval
              Business Outlook

              Pros

              Stable and personally rewarding job. Great management that cares about their employees. Excellent team concept to work under.

              Cons

              Not enough room for personal and professional growth.

              Thank you for sharing this review, and for the 8+ years you spent serving our Veterans at VA. We're grateful for dedicated employees like you who support our cause.

              1. 4.0
                Jun 26, 2017
                Medical Instrument Technician
                Current Employee, more than 1 year
                Houston, TX
                Recommend
                CEO Approval
                Business Outlook

                Pros

                You actually do get to provide excellent care to veteran's and there is a lot of job satisfaction in that.

                Cons

                Red Tape and Bureaucracy can keep you from advancing, even if you know the right people.

                I hope we get to the point we do not have to convince people that VA provides great care. The news does not always do us justice at times and people like you make the difference. That is also why I believe only those with passion for Veterans should apply, or even stay. You are appreciated. ICARE DS

                1. 4.0
                  Oct 3, 2012
                  Medical Instrument Technician
                  Former Employee, more than 10 years
                  Tampa, FL
                  Recommend
                  CEO Approval
                  Business Outlook

                  Pros

                  A positive benefit program compared to other employers.

                  Cons

                  It was difficult to find promotion opportunity.

                  1. 3.0
                    Oct 1, 2023
                    Medical Instrument Technician
                    Former Employee, more than 5 years
                    Temple, TX
                    Recommend
                    CEO Approval
                    Business Outlook

                    Pros

                    good pay, holidays, benefits, quite a bit of freedom

                    Cons

                    management is horrible, alot of favoritism , they dont like change, things get swept under the rug.

                    1. 2.0
                      Jun 20, 2022
                      Medical Instrument Technician
                      Current Employee, more than 1 year
                      Atlanta, GA
                      Recommend
                      CEO Approval
                      Business Outlook

                      Pros

                      Job security and good benefits.

                      Cons

                      Poor leadership on all levels. Extremely high work loads. Very high turnover throughout all departments. No work life balance. No structure or set policies or procedures. Employees are undervalued.

                    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews
                    </>Embed

                    Popular Careers with US Department of Veterans Affairs Job Seekers

                    JobsSalariesInterviews

                    Want the inside scoop on your own company?

                    Join your Company Bowl™ for anonymous work chats.

                    Popular Conversations

                    Interview Tips

                    Feel free to post any interview questions you might be asked and I’ll help you compose an effective response :)

                    ComEd

                    Got booted from my former position about 4 years ago, which I LOVED. I have the impression I was "kept" in sympathy. Now that I have my feet beneath me, I feel like I'm running in place. Over the past 2 years, I've probably applied for about 100 positions in other departments. True, a few were unlikely moonshots, but for the most part I didn't misrepresent myself. Am I the world's worst interviewer? Otherwise.. shouldn't I have been accepted elsewhere, by choice?

                    2
                    3 Comments

                    Administrative Assistant

                    I haven't worked since Jan. 2020 when my job as administrative assistant for the Hospitalist group was eliminated. I can't begin to count the number of applications submitted, interviews I've had, jobs that I was told were mine then they weren't, etc. Several jobs have fallen through or not panned out. I am not a job hopper and want to stay where I go. I have a zoom interview tomorrow for a front desk receptionist position at an oral surgeon's office. Any interview tips are appreciated.

                    5
                    3 Comments

                    Meta

                    Hey all, I’m looking for advice on program manager hypothetical interviews such as: “what would you do if X happened?” Is there a particular thing or core value that Bloomberg looks for? Thanks!

                    1
                    0 Comments

                    Glassdoor has 9,444 US Department of Veterans Affairs reviews submitted anonymously by US Department of Veterans Affairs employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if US Department of Veterans Affairs is right for you.