US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews | Glassdoor

US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews

Updated July 21, 2017
2,676 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
US Department of Veterans Affairs Secretary of Veterans Affairs David Shulkin
David Shulkin
91 Ratings

2,676 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • upper management needs an overhaul (in 58 reviews)

  • Inferior wage scale compared to the private sector (in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "AWESOME PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Records Administrator in Tomah, WI
    Current Employee - Medical Records Administrator in Tomah, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, people, atmosphere, pay, and co-workers

    Cons

    Really none I love working at the VA

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!


  2. "There had been some issues with getting patients appointments in a decent amount of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Healthcare Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Healthcare Specialist in San Antonio, TX

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work and how rewarding is it serve the men and women

    Cons

    More patients than there were staff when several individuals call in

  3. "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Benefits package, pay, and flexible hours

    Cons

    Poor communication at times and difficulties with understanding some benefits for Veterans

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be a more flexible way to advance job levels

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. As you know, Nurse pay is different than GS Pay. That does limit the growth. However, the key I have seen in VA is that to advance in pay levels , one must advance in... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "No denying great benefits, veterans are sicker than the general population and bureaucracies are daunting."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN, Bsn in Pittsburgh, PA
    Former Employee - RN, Bsn in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The benefits and leave plan are great. Their affiliation with major teaching hospitals is awesome. The opportunity to care for America's heroes is priceless!

    Cons

    Silo-type management can make needed changes that affect direct patient care cumbersome, if not impossible. The good ole boy system of awarding contracts means ridiculous purchases are sometimes made without end-user imput. Staffing can be challenging, promotions can be challenging in hospitals where "you have to know somebdy" overrides the federal personnel systems.

    Advice to Management

    Eliminate the politics, Require interdisciplinary groups to make decisions at all levels. Get out of your offices and walk the hospitals alone, while engaging front line staff.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks you for your input. Sorry, it was not the best fit for you. Public Service can be challenging and rewarding. All the topics you mention are ones everyone encounters at least once in a career... More


  5. "Human Resources Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Human Resources Officer in Fayetteville, NC
    Current Employee - Chief Human Resources Officer in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Stable employment, excellent mission in helping Veterans obtain the proper Healthcare. Great Hours. Excellent employee

    Cons

    Because the VA is in the news, more emphasis on who is in trouble vs working together collaboratively is a big problem in the VA right now

    Advice to Management

    Lead by collaboration instead of fear of retribution. Remember it is the Veterans who tend to suffer due to high turnover

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Great feedback. Thank you for sharing. As a HR rep, you can definitely help in setting the new tone in VA. By sharing your constructive insight, you demonstrate the ICARE values. Thanks! DS


  6. "Awesome Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Volunteer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs (More than a year)

    Pros

    Interaction with great patients
    Socializing and learning from others

    Cons

    Work can get quite routine

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    I thought you were going for a 5 Star review after reading your comments. We will get there! Thanks for the positive assessment, together we #MakeTheDifference!


  7. "Good benefits and good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Augusta, ME
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Augusta, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits: healthcare, employee health services and prescriptions at no charge, as well as 401 K and pension plan. Best pay rate for pharmacy technicians in area.

    Cons

    Same issues as any job; such as, short staffing.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. Maybe we will see you again in the future! DS

  8. "IT Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Albany, NY
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    VA leverages agile software development

    Cons

    VA maintains traditional organizational structures

    Advice to Management

    Take the virtual workforce farther.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    I love the fact that IT staff are having a 5 Star experience at VA. As a user, I have noticed vast improvements on technology over the past few years. The innovation and staying on the leading edge... More


  9. "VA IT Specialist review of agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Martinsburg, WV
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Martinsburg, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Job Security is really good.

    Cons

    Starting salary and career path not always great.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    IT is leading the way! Thanks! DS


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Advanced Medical Support Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advanced Medical Support Assistant in Milwaukee, WI
    Former Employee - Advanced Medical Support Assistant in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hours, benefits, people, pay, flexibility

    Cons

    Drama, favoritism amongst supervisors with staff, limited growth

    Advice to Management

    Break up the "in crowd" they've created. Also, make sure you enforce the same rules and structures all across the board, and not just with people you don't care for.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Appreciate the feedback. Culture change happens slow, but it is happening at VA. I encourage everyone that may read this to look in the mirror and make sure we are not part of the problem. ICARE. DS


Showing 2,676 of 2,852 reviews
Reset Filters