US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews | Glassdoor

US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews

Updated June 26, 2017
2,625 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
US Department of Veterans Affairs Secretary of Veterans Affairs David Shulkin
David Shulkin
69 Ratings

2,625 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • VCS upper management is the worst (in 57 reviews)

  • Inferior wage scale compared to the private sector (in 56 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Associate at Board of Veterans Appeals"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Extensive training
    - Clear and high career ladder
    - Extremely flexible after one year at employment
    - Great work for a greater cause
    - Great culture and positive interactions are always encouraged
    - Independent work with no micromanaging (though your experience may vary based on your supervisor)

    Cons

    - Management keeps changing the quota system.
    - The work is not for everyone. Extroverted people will likely have trouble with this position as it requires writing opinions on a regular basis.

    Advice to Management

    - Please keep the needs of the Veterans in mind in balancing quality vs quantity.
    - Continue promoting positive culture within the Board.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jun 23, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for the review. I love your assessment about extroverted people may not be a good fit for a position requiring a lot of writing work. I think it is important we each find our seat on the ... More


  2. "Hard to Change Positions, don't apply if you don't already love what you do"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Instrument Technician in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Medical Instrument Technician in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You actually do get to provide excellent care to veteran's and there is a lot of job satisfaction in that.

    Cons

    Red Tape and Bureaucracy can keep you from advancing, even if you know the right people.


  3. "Rewarding and fulfilling managing the care of critically ill puts with my professional colleagues in the micu"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - RN ICU in Philadelphia, PA
    Former Employee - RN ICU in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great staff good salary team atmosphere good benefits job security I enjoyed working with the then micu staff as we worked together an exceptional cohesive group of professionals taking great care of the veterans

    Cons

    Non union little input from staff nurses with management may have changed now no ancillary story staff transport nursing assistants on shift

    Advice to Management

    Seasoned critical care professionals want the opportunity to regain or beige employment consider them
    Before agency contractors


  4. Helpful (2)

    "IT Analyst Telephony Network Administrator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Systems Analyst in Boise, ID
    Current Employee - IT Systems Analyst in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits. Pays for Cisco training and certifications after your are hired.

    Cons

    Very flow bureaucracy. Difficult to fire employees who need to be let go.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for the review. Always great to see a positive attitude. I find that the more we all focus on the ICARE values, the more others around us perform also. Have a great VA day!


  5. "Public Relations"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Public Relations in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Public Relations in Portland, OR

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    It is a great mission serving veterans

    Cons

    There is a lot of public scrutiny we have to deal with

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jun 23, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    As a public relations professional, no one knows that better than you. Working in Recruitment Marketing, I see that also. However, the good part is most people know and want to support VA. I try to ... More


  6. "Great $$ and benefits - If you can play by the rules"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Clinical Social Worker in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Current Employee - Licensed Clinical Social Worker in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Salaries better than community
    Focus on excellence
    Many resources - good facilities, office space, campus, better patient treatment

    Cons

    Buried in bureaucracy- too many supervisors micromanaging
    Paramilitary
    Political
    Takes a long time to move up (but can move laterally)

    Advice to Management

    Organize the chain of command for your medical specialties by treatment program rather than by service; Make Service (Psychology, MD's, Nurses, Social Workers) mostly administrative, and let the clinicians trying to run the programs (Department Managers, etc.) make the decisions about work conditions and rules. Clinicians' job requirements are most affected by the program they work in. Making too many rules for one service (Social Work) interferes unnecessarily with employee job satisfaction.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jun 23, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Great observations and a 5 Star rating. Some great comments about improvements. Be sure to share these with leaders when you have the opportunity. I like your comment "better patient treatment ... More


  7. "Register Nurse"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Juan, PR
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Juan, PR

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Professional, clean and update nursing practice

    Cons

    Demanding and stressful daily work

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jun 23, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for the honest assessment. As a nurse in PR, I can only imagine the demand that you may experience each day. Be sure to use the employee assistance program and take care of you also ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Learn your profession"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Biomedical Equipment Technician in Largo, FL
    Current Employee - Biomedical Equipment Technician in Largo, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Plenty of training
    Good benefits
    Long-term relationship
    Above market pay
    Opportunity for advancement
    Ability to relocate and transfer throughout the company
    Internal is looked at first for a job opportunity

    Cons

    Not treated like a person but like a number.
    Not understanding the situations of people's needs.
    Act of urgency
    People just there to collect a paycheck
    No one gets back to you in a timely manner

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees that care.


  9. "Reach and Valuable Experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Addictions Therapist in Loma Linda, CA
    Current Employee - Addictions Therapist in Loma Linda, CA

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Power dynamics within team can be stressful occasionally.

    Cons

    It feels that I make a true difference in Veterans' life.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to embrace people from various backgrounds.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Addiction therapy can be a stressful position. Thank you for serving veterans, you do make the difference. DS


  10. "Ambulatory Care Pharmacist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Staff Pharmacist in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Clinical Staff Pharmacist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great Technology & pioneering care in an academic teaching environment with Medical Schools many opportunities

    Cons

    the challenged enforcement of goverment federal regulations & government bureaucracy, politics, a paramilitary organization with pros & cons

    Advice to Management

    the danger of inbred since hiring own residents mainly, losing perspective of standard in community e.g. standard learning from standards such as major HMO e.g. Kaiser

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Keen observation. I suggest sharing with your supervisor or the Pharmacy Recruitment and Retention Office. IF you need a contact email vacareers@va.gov and as for PRRO contact.


Showing 2,625 of 2,798 reviews
Reset Filters