US Department of Veterans Affairs Employee Reviews | Glassdoor

US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews

Updated February 19, 2017
2,394 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
US Department of Veterans Affairs Secretary of Veterans Affairs David Shulkin
David Shulkin
0 Ratings

2,394 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (244)

    "Logistics"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics
    Current Employee - Logistics
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I came from the private sector where it is all about fattening someone's pockets while you work work work. I'll never go back to that. This job is fulfilling because you get to help our nation's hero's. Nothing can compete with this vacation policy, I have more time off than I'll ever use. If you enjoy helping others and not helping your CEO get his 4th vacation home, you'll like this place. Oh and the insurance and retirement are outstanding.

    Cons

    It is true about what you hear about Government employees. Just don't fall into that loop and you'll be happy. Don't let other peoples' negativity get you down, because when you look at these Veterans and realize what they went through, the piddly arguing goes out the window.

    Advice to Management

    Trim the fat.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Jun 16, 2015 – Department of Veterans Affairs Employee

    Thank you for sharing your experience! It is invaluable to hear directly from VA employees. I agree that the absolute best part of a career at VA is the ability to help our Nation’s Veterans, and I ... More


  2. "I CARE"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    The Department of Veteran Affairs cares about its employees and our veterans! Its a great working environment and lots of opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    There are so many who need assistance and only so many workers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! Many are thankful for all of your sacrifice!


  3. "Marketing Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New Orleans, LA
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Serving veterans. Fellow staff. A learning environment. Everyday can be different, I never get board. Benefits are better than most, especially 5% 401K match, ample leave.

    Cons

    Negative politics and media can be depressing. Intranet is slow at times. Rarely receive press of positive events.

    Advice to Management

    Forward March! Dr Shulkin is a talented leader with desire. I have had the time to brief him and he was someone that was a pleasure to work with. Humble and knowledgeable while respecting staff opinion. Reward good behavior and discipline poor behavior/ performance.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Supply Technician"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    Government job with good benefits. If disabled veteran, easy access to health care through the VA. Potential to find higher paying jobs once you are in.

    Cons

    Shift work. If you stay in the position you will have to wait for someone to retire or get promoted to be able to change shifts and its according to tenure.

    Advice to Management

    Hire quality employees


  6. "Catheterization and Electrophysiology Lab RN"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Little Rock, AR
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, salary, and benefits.

    Cons

    The hiring process for new staff takes too long.

    Advice to Management

    Refine the hiring process.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Feb 16, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review, I hope your experience becomes 5 Star soon. I agree the hiring process can be lengthy. I understand that all levels are working to improve processes through use of LEAN ... More


  7. "Great People, Great Benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time at the VA. It felt like going to work with family every day and had a strong community feel, working for Veterans. Plenty of opportunities for promotions as well.

    Cons

    Not the best location in town.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Feb 16, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    I am seeing a trend here that many former employees are giving 5 Star ratings. In the Army, your worst unit was the one you are in, and the best was the one you just left. Says a thing about ... More


  8. "Great Place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This was the best place I ever worked.

    Cons

    I did not have any cons for this job.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Feb 16, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    I simply love your response. Short, sweet and to the point! Thank you for the time you gave serving veterans! DS


  9. "Licensed vocational nursing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits and steady income

    Cons

    Nothing bad. Everything is good

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Feb 16, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for the 5 STAR review. So glad to see those. Thank you for serving veterans! DS


  10. "Clerk"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    It has great benefits and steady employment.

    Cons

    Depending on the department you're in it can be political.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to treat all employees the same.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Feb 16, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Good advice! Clerks are one of the first people our vets see and set the tone for the entire visit. Thanks for the smiles! I encourage you to share this info with peers and leaders ... More


  11. "I'm a LSMW WITH SPECIALTY IN ADDICTIONS WITH NCAC1 and CACP."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LSMS, NCAC1, CACP DETOX COUNSELOR in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Former Employee - LSMS, NCAC1, CACP DETOX COUNSELOR in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    My work ethic is phenomenal due to loving my job. I'm out of the office hardly ever and I learn new programs very quickly. I was the top of my undergrad program as well acquiring 4.0's in both degrees.

    Cons

    My biggest flaw would be probably working too hard due to the empathy I have for my clients.
    Again another flaw would be taking on too much might become overwhelming however this has not yet happened. Like I said before I'm very good with prioritizing my work load however so may believe that may go overboard.
    One last thing I really invest my time with my clients to help them out as much as I can.

    Advice to Management

    My last supervisor looked to me for various projects and gave me opportunities to higher people that would be working with me ( further social workers).
    I also was even the task of training other interns working on their masters.
    Finally, I'm open to critiques to better my profession. I don't believe any questions a stupid question. However ones that don't ask critical advise or guidance are at a disadvantage.
    Knowledge is power.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    Feb 16, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    LOVE your attitude! Thank you for serving veterans. 5 STAR!! DS



Showing 2,394 of 2,541 reviews
Reset Filters