US Department of Veterans Affairs "private sector" Reviews | Glassdoor

US Department of Veterans Affairs Employee Reviews about "private sector"

Updated Oct 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
US Department of Veterans Affairs CEO  Robert Wilkie
Robert Wilkie
164 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Federal job so you get paid a lot less then your private sector counterparts(in 83 reviews)

  • "Management hired was fired by previous employee yet is in upper management(in 76 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "private sector"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Work/Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Administrative Officer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Telework is available to most non-clinical employees. Get to work from home 3 days a week.

    Cons

    Federal job so you get paid a lot less then your private sector counterparts.

    Advice to Management

    No one in the bay area stays long. Make the pay comparable to local hospitals.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-09-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great flexible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regulatory Affairs Specialist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great for young families. Recession proof. Benefits package aside from pay is better than the private sector.

    Cons

    Difficult to move up. Difficult to get past HR.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-10-28
  3. "In need of quality staff to continue to change the climate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse, Emergency Room in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    More gratitude received from the patients than other facilities.

    Cons

    The VA is still a highly utilized medical facility that does not receive the funding it needs to rise to a status comparable to the private sector.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-09-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Disorganized Requiring Outsourcing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs

    Pros

    Remote/ Telecommute Ready with some systems in place for structure for on-boarding have begun.

    Cons

    I mostly concur with other 1 and 2 star reviews. • Culture not as good as the Private Sector • Upper Management Does Not Like Challenged • Hire Quick Fire Quicker • Ego of upper management • Derogatory Locker Room Condescending when not performing. • expected to wait to be told what to do • boredom • wasted time • under utilized • political • infinite on boarding

    Advice to Management

    I would retire if I were management. Not because of age, but because of ego.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resource Assistant in Canandaigua, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are better than private sector.

    Cons

    High turnover, poor management, low wages. Training is all virtual or via email, no one on one training. New duties are added without notice or training. Heavy computer work using multiple government portals simultaneously, very stressful and negative work environment. A lot of unhappy employees.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time necessary to meet with your staff, talk to them, they are your biggest asset. Evaluate and distribute job duties with more care rather than just handing it off to get it off your plate. The volume of work is overwhelming and new hires are immediately set up for failure. Big disconnect with management and lack of care and concern for your employees is visible daily.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-08-30
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Worst Hiring Process I’ve Ever Experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Lyons, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and looks good on a resume.

    Cons

    Redundant processes to submit credentials. Obtaining fingerprints was a nightmare. They are never in the office and do not answer the phone. In the private sector it is so much less cumbersome and more streamlined. I changed my mind and decided to stay with my current private sector employer who is great. I only wanted this job for strategic reasons and I realize now it doesn’t have to be with the VA. I’ve seen... enough to know I’m glad I don’t work here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You will probably attract more talent if you streamlined your on boarding process better. Coordinating redundant information with 3 different HR specialists is nonproductive. There are competing area hospitals offering so much more money and making the process more worth my time.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-07-22
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Veteran centric mission-fulfilling work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - I Line Supervisor in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mission and resource availability

    Cons

    Talent is not always rewarded at private sector pace because of constraints with antiquated Title 38 and Title 5 laws; cliques; incompetence in strategic areas; and lack of innovation

    Advice to Management

    Rotate your career senior executives to ensure innovation and diversity of thought.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-06-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great pay, hours and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Social Worker 

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay higher than private sector, cannot beat the benefits

    Cons

    Red tape and hard to hold people accountable

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-06-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Okay place to work if your unit has no drama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits compared to most private sector

    Cons

    So much bullying from management and not sure why VA does not fire bad management who bring negativity in the hospital unit. Don't walk away, RUN if you can and find a hospital/private sector that can treat you better.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-03-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Why the VA can’t get/keep physicians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physician in Spokane, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to help America’s veterans

    Cons

    Pay is much lower than the private sector

    Advice to Management

    Increase salaries

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-02-26
Found 122 reviews