US Farm Service Agency Reviews | Glassdoor

US Farm Service Agency Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Jim Gwinn
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Farm Service Agency full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work life / home life balance; Great salary; Great place if you're going to be in a government job - USDA genuinely seems to care about it's employees

    Cons

    Government bureaucracy can be a pain

    US Farm Service Agency2017-10-26
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Technician 

    I worked at US Farm Service Agency full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great work atmosphere, decent salary.

    Cons

    High work load and not enough staff

    US Farm Service Agency2019-05-01
  3. "County Program Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US Farm Service Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people & fulfilling work.

    Cons

    Understaffed. Also suffers from cutbacks and politics at all levels of goverment.

    US Farm Service Agency2019-03-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "PT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US Farm Service Agency full-time

    Pros

    Can run your program how you want, get to work with producers on a personal level, good place to become familiar with ag programs

    Cons

    small offices, working for the government makes it hard to hire a full staff, co-workers can make or break the job

    US Farm Service Agency2018-08-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Program Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lansing, MI
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Farm Service Agency full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay scale and flexible schedules

    Cons

    No room for advancement. "Good ole boy" mentality regarding management. Cutbacks and funding issues are rampant. The workload is INSANE!

    Advice to Management

    You'd benefit from removing the CO management bullies out of your offices. Professionalism and courtesy towards ALL producers should be mandatory.

    US Farm Service Agency2017-10-05
  6. "County Program Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Farm Service Agency full-time

    Pros

    Laid back environment. Easy work.

    Cons

    Can be boring at times.

    US Farm Service Agency2017-07-17
  7. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US Farm Service Agency full-time

    Pros

    Pay is relatively good for our rural area

    Cons

    This is a government job.

    US Farm Service Agency2017-05-16
  8. "Program Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at US Farm Service Agency full-time

    Pros

    Always something to do. Good to connect directly with producers.

    Cons

    No advancement opportunities. Very little flexibility.

    US Farm Service Agency2017-03-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Programming Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Farm Service Agency full-time

    Pros

    Have the option to be a little flexible with hours. Great benefit and retirement packages. Has opportunities for growth, depending on years of service, you move up "grades" for more income. Great managers.

    Cons

    Daily activities rely heavily on technology and gets frustrating when equipment does not work. Programs and actions are constantly changing.

    Advice to Management

    Make employees feel appreciated and encourage them!

    US Farm Service Agency2017-02-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Program Technichian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program County Technician in Greencastle, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Farm Service Agency for more than a year

    Pros

    Love my job, great people!

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for advancement...you have to wait for people to leave or retire. But they do come up.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    US Farm Service Agency2016-12-05
Found 23 reviews