US Marine Corps "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

US Marine Corps Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
US Marine Corps Commandant Joseph F. Dunford, Jr.
Joseph F. Dunford, Jr.
2,546 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits to include pride of belonging(in 400 reviews)

  • "Brotherhood and Leadership that prepare employees for success(in 345 reviews)

Cons
  • "Extremely long hours in an expeditionary environment(in 929 reviews)

  • "Very difficult hours and time away from family(in 457 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Its Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Combat Engineer 

    I have been working at US Marine Corps full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits during and after service

    Cons

    Can be stressful to some

    US Marine Corps2019-11-25
  2. "4 Year Marine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Comptable 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    World travel, great benefits, Tricare

    Cons

    Potential poor leadership depending on location

    US Marine Corps2020-01-20
  3. "Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Attorney in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, wide range of opportunity

    Cons

    Limited control over assignment and work location. Promotions not merit based. Family-Work balance is difficult

    US Marine Corps2020-01-10
  4. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanic 

    I worked at US Marine Corps full-time

    Pros

    Great co workers, good advancement, great benefits

    Cons

    Hours can vary greatly so be prepared

    US Marine Corps2019-12-22
  5. "I was a small unit i infantry leader."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at US Marine Corps

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great friends. Great times.

    Cons

    Long hours, long nights. Can’t make more even when working more.

    US Marine Corps2019-12-18
  6. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Precision Measurement Equipment Technician in Jacksonville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits for the time served.

    Cons

    Long Hours varied depending on maintenance load.

    Continue reading
    US Marine Corps2019-11-12
  7. "Communications Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Camp Lejeune, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. The best leadership training and opportunities. A lot of world travel opportunities.

    Cons

    Long hours, last minute deployments.

    US Marine Corps2019-10-26
  8. "It had its ups and down, but I'm glad I did it. I'm certain it has shaped my life for the better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Twentynine Palms, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A chance to travel (usually), job security, housing provided, steady paychecks, excellent opportunity to get in shape, and great benefits (including free college). Really it all depends on your attitude.

    Cons

    Your life belongs to Uncle Sam, every single second of it from the moment you join to the moment you get out (maybe for while after you get out too). High potential for life threatening situations, though I'm sure many consider that a pro. Potential for getting a different MOS (job) then what you desired, Uncle Sam makes the decisions now. Every Marine is a rifleman, but every Marine is also a janitor, especially those in the lower ranks. Whenever you do end up getting out your body will feel 20 years older then your actual age. Like I said, it's all about your attitude.

    US Marine Corps2019-10-25
  9. "Join the Marine Corps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Systems Administrator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, upward mobility, physical fitness

    Cons

    Relocation required sometimes, on call 24/7.

    US Marine Corps2019-10-16
  10. "Love hate relationship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tactical Switchboard Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Best friendships Travel the world Foods premade for every meal

    Cons

    If you've been in you know

    US Marine Corps2019-10-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 400 reviews