US National Guard "deployments" Reviews | Glassdoor

US National Guard Employee Reviews about "deployments"

Updated 24 de Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
US National Guard CEO Joseph L. Lengyel
Joseph L. Lengyel
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and job training for in demand jobs(in 61 reviews)

  • "pay is not bad for the state of MS, great coworkers to work with, and I love all the soldiers for the job they do(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "Biggest downside is being away from friends and family on deployments, but its part of the sacrifice for serving the nation(in 62 reviews)

  • "potential to travel to dangerous places, long hours(in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "deployments"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Can't beat it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Attorney in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US National Guard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, great benefits, low stress

    Cons

    possible deployment, parking is hard to find

    US National Guard2019-09-24
  2. "Everyone's experience will be different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UH-60 Helicopter Mechanic 

    I have been working at US National Guard part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Education Benefits only one weekend a month and one two weeks a year

    Cons

    Deployments Hurry up and wait Drill pay is not great

    US National Guard2019-05-31
  3. "Best way to get into a trade you want"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 91E in Redding, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US National Guard part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and job training for in demand jobs.

    Cons

    Biggest downside is being away from friends and family on deployments, but its part of the sacrifice for serving the nation.

    US National Guard2019-02-16
  4. "68 Whiskey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at US National Guard

    Pros

    It is an honor to serve your country and state

    Cons

    Deployment to dangerous places

    US National Guard2018-04-03
  5. "Military Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US National Guard part-time

    Pros

    Educational benefits, health insurance, traveling opportunities.

    Cons

    It's demanding and could strain a family being away on deployments and temporat duty stations.

    US National Guard2017-10-12
  6. "Life Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Heavy Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic in Edgefield, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US National Guard part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Had opportunities during my 15 year enlistment that I would not have had with the guard. I got to see some other counties, and paid for my college tuition.

    Cons

    Was held back from promotion due to a SGM that didn't want to promote the soldier in front of me. So the entire promotion list was held down until that got out. I missed E-5 pay for my entire Iraq deployment.

    Advice to Management

    Take an interest in your soldiers. Help them to get all of the benefits that are entitled to them.

    US National Guard2017-10-04
  7. "Infantryman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Team Leader in Dowagiac, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US National Guard part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Experience. Learn valuable life lessons.

    Cons

    Can be called up at a moments notice to start training for deployment.

    US National Guard2017-07-07
  8. "Great Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Platoon Leader in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US National Guard part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    * Great Benefits * Excellent professional development * Outstanding leadership and training

    Cons

    * Deployments and training can be hard on families

    US National Guard2017-04-24
  9. "Rewarding Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US National Guard full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, health insurance, pay, networking, leadership growth

    Cons

    Deployments can take away from family time

    US National Guard2017-05-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Combat Medic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Combat Medic 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at US National Guard

    Pros

    Education benefits. The country does not recognize me as a veteran and I am not eligible for any VA benefits except for a small school stipend. And Federal Tuition Assistance cannot be used in conjunction with said stipend. Good thing my state offered its own TA!

    Cons

    Everything. The National Guard and Reserves are a waste of time. I joined to be a soldier and a combat medic and I trained long and hard to be the best soldier medic possible. In the process I hurt my shoulder and got stiff armed by the VA. You most likely will serve all 6 years and never deploy, this is where Uncle Sam gets you because, YOU ARE NOT A VETERAN AND ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR ANY VA BENEFITS UNLESS YOU HAVE... FULL TIME SERVICE. And in the Guard that means deploying. If your unit never deploys for over 6 months then you never existed to the VA. It does not matter how hard you have worked, what you have done for the Army on your own time, how dangerous your training or state missions may have been, or how bad you have been hurt. You can serve 20 years in the Guard and you were nothing but a "weekend warrior" without a deployment. You are not a veteran. You will be accountable to your unit and be expected to conduct yourself as a soldier at all times. The training is poor and often dangerously misplanned and misorganized, and soldiers can and do get hurt. All in all I would not recommend the National Guard to anyone. It was a complete waste of 6 of the best years of my life and I live with pain in my shoulder and regret in my heart every single day!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your soldiers joined to be soldiers. They want to train hard and they want to deploy and do their jobs. Recognize them as veterans!! Allow them the exact same VA benefits when their service is complete as their active duty counterparts! They served their country and worked hard (even outside of drills), it is not fair to not deploy them and then punish them and rub it in their faces by the VA! What sense does it... make to say, "I joined the Army and served once, but I'm not a veteran because I joined the National Guard and not active duty"? Nevermind the hurricans, the floods, and civil disturbances I responded to.

    Show More
    US National Guard2017-02-04
Found 62 reviews