US Naval Research Laboratory "nrl" Reviews | Glassdoor

US Naval Research Laboratory Employee Reviews about "nrl"

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
US Naval Research Laboratory Commanding Officer Scott D Moran
Scott D Moran
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "At NRL you have great access to resources and mentors(in 16 reviews)

  • "there is a great work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "With all the good said, I have to focus on the fact that I don't find the NRL to be family friendly at all(in 16 reviews)

  • "Somewhat bureaucratic, lots of red tape but that's expected(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "nrl"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to learn and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Mechanical Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

    Pros

    At NRL you have great access to resources and mentors.

    Cons

    Being next to blue plains can be unpleasant at times.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-09-09
  2. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Mechanical Engineer Trainee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

    Pros

    I haven't been here that long but all the people I've talked to seem happy and keep saying that the NRL offers more flexibility than other government jobs.

    Cons

    Most of the buildings are very old. Not a big deal though

    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-08-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stable work but not family friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Physical Scientist in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work is very stable and it's easy to make a career here. It's not uncommon to meet scientists who have been working on the same research for 30+ years. A lot of scientists here are from ivy league schools with impressive pedigrees and dozens of publications in top tier journals. My coworkers and Section Head were fantastic and I loved being surrounded by intelligent people. Despite the dilapidated buildings, there is some state-of-the-art technology to help with your research. The majority of research groups have base funding and don't have to constantly beg for money. My experience here added enough to my resume that I was able to accept a job offering DOUBLE my current pay. Even having the words "Naval Research Lab" on your resume gets you a lot of attention.

    Cons

    With all the good said, I have to focus on the fact that I don't find the NRL to be family friendly at all. There is no parental leave, child care through JBAB has a 2+ year waiting list, and while schedules are largely flexible, my Division Head looked at me like I had two heads when I told him I have to leave by 3 to pick up my daughter from the bus stop. Many people here don't even have families and, as a result, don't understand when you need a day off here or there due to school closings and child care hiccups. I understand that a career in research isn't family friendly to begin with, as taking any kind of extended leave ruins research timelines and screws any collaborators, but the NRL doesn't even try to mitigate this inherent obstacle. I was on the waiting list for a raise for almost 3 years before I decided to look for new employment. I just didn't feel like there was enough opportunity for advancement or broadening my area of research, and that the management didn't understand that there's more to life than conducting research. Looking back on my career, the lack of advancement and stagnated pay make me feel like I was taken advantage of. I wish I had looked for employment elsewhere sooner. It is a shame that these failings make it so appealing to leave an otherwise amazing laboratory.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-06-14
  4. "Great People, Underfunded, Facilities are falling into disrepair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - NRC Postdoctoral Research Associate in Broomfield, CO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at NRL allows you to work on excellent research projects with a quality team of people

    Cons

    1) Government bureaucracy! 2) Facilities are falling apart. Some of the buildings need to be demolished, but they're standing due to some federal rules. Almost every roof is leaking. 3) Stinky neighbors! Sometime the smell of blue plains (DC's biggest water treatment plant) wafts over to us.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-01-23
  5. "Great work/life balance and research opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, good community of people and work culture. Fairly good reputation in certain fields. Postdoc positions often lead to staff offers.

    Cons

    Since postdoc positions at NRL are so cheap, they try and keep you a postdoc for as long as possible. Staff position pay after conversion is significantly under industry but benefits and security offset some of this.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-04-27
  6. "Great resources poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Materials Research Engineer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    NRL has some of the leading researchers in their field and the latest and greatest equipment. The potential to collaborate and work between disciplines is good.

    Cons

    Management direct as a whole changes frequently and is brutal for entry level scientists look to move up. The moral is low and work expectation are extremely high.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-02-15
  7. "SEAP Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - SEAP in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    Great co-workers, relaxed environment, free ice cream in the summer

    Cons

    A lot of the buildings are old and need a makeover. NRL in DC is right by the sewage treatment plant, so some days it smells when you are outside. Other than those small things, there aren't any cons.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-01-25
  8. "Great place to intern through NREIP program, very helpful supervisors (Computer Science)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Summer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    - When I was there, schedule was pretty flexible. - Transit access - There were a few events/BBQs over the summer that were pretty good - The summer I went they would let you on base for 4th of July fireworks right along the river, which is a cool view. - The mentor I had was really supportive and helpful - NRL takes a lot of NREIP interns so there will probably be other interns to chill with - You may end up getting hired again for the next summer as well. - Great work/life balance, as well as good worker's rights as it is a government job

    Cons

    - Pay for 1st year interns as of 2017 may not be competitive, especially if you're paying for housing too. Returning intern and graduate student pay is pretty good though. - Some projects are more interesting than others - Some projects require security clearance (and therefore US Citizenship) in order to work on them, most at NRL were unclassified though. - You're a contractor which means you have to pay self-employment tax and you don't get government benefits.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-11-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Can be terrible or could be great, based on the team you work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible hours -Very relaxed atmosphere -A few very talented people -Some teams are excellent to work with -Hard to get fired

    Cons

    Unfortunately a lot of the pros lend themselves to the cons as well. While there are some very talented people who work at the NRL, there are only a few that stay for a long period of time. What you're left with are smart people who become lazy and disinterested with time and a lot of people not qualified for their job. On a side note I worked there for years and only spoke with my supervisor a handful of times. There was little to no direction on any of the projects both my coworkers and I worked on. The lack of communication wasted a lot of time and effort and helped me realize how much money our government is willing to throw away by not laying out a game plan and communicating it. Ultimately my experience was disappointing and helped me decide to stay in the private sector for the rest of my career. Also, may be a big deal depending on your personality, but this place is more clique oriented than most other jobs I've had.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-11-16
  10. "NREIP Student Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    - My mentor took a genuine interest in what I was working on and in designing a project that would me to benefit by learning some more real world programming skills while also building a product that benefitted their work. - It's really cool to see the project you work on actually be used and often for some really cool piece of hardware or a part of a bigger project. - NRL has a really academic atmosphere and really encourages you to explore areas that interest you as long as they can help improve the project. - Working as an intern can open a ton of doors for jobs at NRL afterwards for the Pathways/Edison programs.

    Cons

    - The amount of mentoring you get depends from department to department and you might get a mentor who spends a lot of time off base or in other buildings. If you prefer a more hands-off approach, this could be a plus for you. - The technologies used here are often quite old. You might be editing code or working on something that isn't used in other industries. (IDL, Fortran, etc.) - Depending on what field you come from, the pay is not amazing, especially if you have to pay to live in D.C. Transportation is also hard because the metro doesn't run to the base. - The application process takes a long time to get everything through. I applied in November and got a confirmation for everything (base clearance/etc) in April.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-07-31
Found 29 reviews