US Navy Fire Controlman Reviews | Glassdoor

US Navy Fire Controlman Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
US Navy Acting Secretary Sean Stackley
Sean Stackley
3 Ratings
  1. "Challenge of a life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Controlman in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    life long skills gained for a career.

    Cons

    Very hard and challenging work.

    US Navy2019-10-02
  2. "Fire-controlman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Controlman 

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    As FC/FCA (Fire Controlman/Fire Controlman Aegis), you will be working on multi-million dollars weapon electronic equipment. You will be doing preventive maintenance, troubleshooting, logistics, to upkeep the equipment which can be very rewarding if you're doing a good. Also, Fire controlman work can be translated quite well in civilian jobs outside the Navy, and easily get well-paying jobs without a degree

    Cons

    You will be doing more than your job description in the Navy as you will be most likely chipping paint on the ship's exterior, cleaning living areas, armed watches...etc. You will be doing a lot over time in the navy and you will not be paid extra for that.

    US Navy2020-01-11
  3. "Many Great Perks, Many Trade-offs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Controlman in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Awesome benefits, great pay if you make rank which depending on your drive, your job, and your attitude can be very fast. I advanced to E6 in 5 years. I now make the equivalent to 75k a year to a civilian compensation. I get free schooling while I'm in up to 6 classes a year, and then free tuition and living expenses stipend for 36 months (4 standard academic years). The retirement system is awesome weather you stay in 20 years or not thanks to changes in they way they do TSP, the government matches contribution up to 5 %.

    Show More

    Cons

    Leadership is very hit or miss, and they change constantly. The climate of each command is very unique and can change on a dime for the worse, but takes years to improve from the result of very good leadership. Work l/life balance in next to non-existent while assigned to an operational command which for my job is 5 out of ever 8 years.

    Advice to Management

    Stop pushing to enlist so many women especially in sea centered jobs, they have medical reasons that they get taken off of ships too often and leave holes in manning that cause commands to constantly be undermanned.

    US Navy2019-12-22
  4. "AEGIS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fire Controlman 

    I worked at US Navy full-time

    Pros

    Great experience and able to see the world and learn a trade while you're at it

    Cons

    Time away from family and commitment

    US Navy2019-11-03
  5. "Good training for your future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fire Controlman 

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free training, and well taken care of

    Cons

    Lots of time away from family

    US Navy2019-09-16
  6. "Changed my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Controlman in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    College benefits Free healthcare Free schooling Leadership training

    Cons

    Long hours Rigid lifestyle Long periods away from family

    US Navy2019-08-15
  7. "It's all right"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Controlman in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Three hots, and a cot.

    Cons

    Community Showers and mandatory fun.

    US Navy2019-08-21
  8. "Pound of flesh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fire Controlman 

    I worked at US Navy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1-2 years of specialized training before you start your job

    Cons

    100+ work weeks on deployment. At least 60 hour work weeks in port.

    US Navy2019-07-24
  9. "US Navy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Controlman in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are unmatched and travel opportunities

    Cons

    Duty, random underways, poor leadership

    US Navy2019-05-07
  10. "Greatest Job in US Navy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Controlman in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cheap Medical/Dental, Free Travel, Job Security. Get paid to place ordnance on target and to play video games!

    Cons

    Loss of Sanity, Time Traveling, dealing with idiots, not as fun as it use to be!

    Advice to Management

    Focus on eliminating enemy combatants and not on the fashion show!

    US Navy2019-05-02
Found 76 reviews