US Navy Interior Communications Electrician Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Interior Communications Electrician

US Navy Interior Communications Electrician Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
96%
Recommend to a Friend
US Navy Acting Secretary Sean Stackley
Sean Stackley
0 Rating
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Communications Electrician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are hands on trained for your job, you travel, and you learn what it is like to work with others to finish the mission.

    Cons

    You can be away from your family alot, the hours can be long, and your always on call.

    Advice to Management

    Find more ways to boost moral. Not just on the ship but on shore duty as well.

    US Navy2017-05-04
  2. "Good job with an opportunity to grow skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Interior Communications Electrician 

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    solid benefits, stable pay, exciting opportunities

    Cons

    long hours, overworked, little control of job mobility

    US Navy2019-10-24
  3. "Great transferable skill set"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Interior Communications Electrician 

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Awesome skill set that's transferable to the outside world

    Cons

    If I could consistently be stationed in the same geographical area I would never leave

    US Navy2019-09-13
  4. "Room to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Interior Communications Electrician in Bremerton, WA

    I worked at US Navy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There was never something broken that didn't need fixing. You were never without a task.

    Cons

    It's a very under-appreciated job.

    US Navy2019-05-23
  5. "Enlisted Grade 6"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interior Communications Electrician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Navy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If someone is looking for an engaging work demographic constantly new challenges the U.S. Navy certainly provides that. Active duty lifestyle is ever changing as are the duty stations and locations you may find oneself attached to.

    Cons

    The political atmosphere and system tend to hold back and reinforce negative behavior patterns by rewards to incompetence. Additionally, this often forces subordinates to do less with less i.e. 60 hours worth of maintenance on the schedule with 6 man team with only 8 hours of maintenance to be completed by each member. The math simply does not add up... when seeking answers supervisors answer was figure it out. Supervisor given better than average evaluation for not creating "waves."

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes we chose battles, yet I see less and less senior management in the U.S. Navy leaning in to fight the good fight and make choices not based on getting the next promotion, but on how their next choice can effect the next generation of young sailors and the fleet for readiness.

    US Navy2019-05-10
  6. "You get what you put in but there's no shortage of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Interior Communications Electrician in Pearl Harbor, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Navy for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Good Pay Travel Gain practical skills depending on what job you picked

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours and you live and die by your supervisors which change more than I change my underwear. Lots of collateral duties that suck and do not pertain to your job. Lots of cleaning and then more cleaning. (We were made to sweep the rain off the deck while it was still raining just because that's what we usually do in the morning after duty!)

    Advice to Management

    What management?

    US Navy2018-01-31
  7. "Navy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Communications Electrician in Bremerton, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security, consistent pay, challenging work, sense of purpose, benefits

    Cons

    miss important life events, repetitive, bad sailors slack must be picked up by the good ones.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing it changes in every command no general advice can be given

    US Navy2017-05-03
  8. "It has it's ups and downs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Interior Communications Electrician in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy

    Pros

    You have steady paychecks, that increase or decrease but you know the reasons why. Hands on training. Paid college and money for college.

    Cons

    You have extended periods away from your family and friends. You have to conform to rules and regulations that you may think are useless. But you make it what you want it to be.

    Advice to Management

    Some are right some are wrong! You have to respect the title!

    US Navy2017-04-21
  9. "Interior communications electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Communications Electrician in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learn great skills and work ethnic

    Cons

    Time consuming and not very flexible with personal schedule

    US Navy2017-04-19
  10. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Communications Electrician in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provides good benefits such as health care, dental, and life insurance. You get lots of opportunities to go to places and do things that not many people get to do such as going to countries outside of the U.S. while you are overseas. Dental is very friendly and they will take care of your oral cares!

    Cons

    Your "Chain of Command" or bosses that work above you are sometimes not the best. You'll be working with people you don't like and have to work with on a daily basis. It is hard to balance between life at home and life at work due to time being overseas. Medical onboard ships are hard to rely on when it comes to issues you find yourself having. They won't always help you with what you need unless it's an on-going issue and you pest them enough to help you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are always people within the command that you can talk to if you are having issues such as the Chaplin, the equal opportunity officer/manager, and your chain of command. There are many programs also that assist you to whatever sort of issue you are having such as Fleet and Family services.

    US Navy2017-03-23
Found 26 reviews