US Postal Service "no benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

US Postal Service Employee Reviews about "no benefits"

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
42%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
US Postal Service Postmaster General & CEO Megan J.  Brennan
Megan J. Brennan
1,696 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company to work for, good pay(in 927 reviews)

  • "Great pay great co-workers at some branches(in 556 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working long hours outside in the hot Texas weather(in 425 reviews)

  • "No benefits as this is technically considered a part time position(in 338 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Loved the job. Only left because of relocation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PSE Mail Processing Clerk in Friars Point, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Postal Service part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm a people person so you interact with different types of people everyday.

    Cons

    The many different negative attitudes. Make sure to get full time position because without it there are no benefits nor transfers.

    US Postal Service2019-11-21
  2. "Prepare to work hard and live, eat, breathe, and sleep the mail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rural Carrier Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Postal Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and lots of opportunities for overtime pay, but I still feel like carriers should be getting paid more for such a difficult job. Its a good job for someone looking to make a decent amount of money fast (but prepare to break your back for it and not have a social life). There is a sense of community and camaraderie with carriers because you are all in the same boat.

    Cons

    No benefits unless you are a regular carrier. No work-life balance. The work overload is crazy- I had overtime every week and worked 6-7 day weeks during December. It's dangerous because you are constantly focusing on several things while driving the truck. Lots of pressure to be fast and yet accurate. Not enough time for breaks because trying to get everything done by "evaluation." I felt like my other coworkers... felt stuck there because they had to support their families and didn't see a way out of honestly a miserable job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't put so much pressure on carriers. I understand mail must be delivered, but we stressed ourselves out enough on our own. It would help to be more gentle and understanding, although I know your jobs are stressful too.

    US Postal Service2019-11-13
  3. "Rural Carrier Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at US Postal Service

    Pros

    Autonomy driving around delivering mail. Customers are 99% great and appreciative.

    Cons

    Horrible hours as you’re on call 24/7/365 and not expected to turn down calls to go to work. No benefits, overburdened workload, poorly run management, impossible to do the job without breaking some of their cardinal rules like not backing the vehicle up, driving all speed limits absolutely. Vehicles LLVs are like something the Soviets would design in the 1960s. Brutal climate conditions in the vehicle when it’s hot... outside.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let RCAs use the modern tools to get the job done instead of doing it the old-school way because you don’t trust the scanner computer. If it’s that bad complain up and not down. Realize overburdened routes regarding casing and delivery.

    US Postal Service2019-11-12
  4. "Great for a part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rca in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Postal Service part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job is challenging but very rewarding. It's perfect for me but not everyone.

    Cons

    No benefits and it takes 5 plus years to become full time.

    US Postal Service2019-10-24
  5. "Contract to Hire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CCA 

    I have been working at US Postal Service full-time

    Pros

    So far no Pros to think of

    Cons

    No benefits for the first 2 years or so till you are hired as a full time career employee and low pay for the work being done

    US Postal Service2019-10-08
  6. "Post Office Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PSE Mail Processing Clerk 

    I have been working at US Postal Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay Very good pay for overtime

    Cons

    Hours are very difficult to plan anything Work weekends, holidays and usually schedule changes by day. Very little time for family or personal life. Sometimes work 56+ hours a week No benefits as this is technically considered a part time position

    US Postal Service2019-08-30
  7. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PSE Clerk in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at US Postal Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is 17.19 with 48 hr weekly 8 hr 6 days

    Cons

    No benefits for the first year

    Advice to Management

    Benefits

    US Postal Service2019-08-18
  8. "Considered temporary employee but worked 6 days a week"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PSE Clerk in Clinton, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Postal Service part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive wages Simple work that I didn’t have to stress about at home

    Cons

    Weird hours (my shift was at 2:45 AM) No benefits and considered temporary even though I worked 6 days a week minimum and usually over 40 hours

    US Postal Service2019-07-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Usps in Santa Ana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at US Postal Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Given lots of hours. Paycheck is nice. Paid weekly.

    Cons

    All the people that have been there the longest feel entitled to boss the new people around. When you're new, there's no benefits until you become permanent.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair and more understanding.

    US Postal Service2019-06-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Didn't last long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CCA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Postal Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to be on your own away from an office Public service Customers seem to appreciate you

    Cons

    Physically strenuous Low pay No benefits Stressful Working in all weather LLVs are terrible Long hours Little training Management only cares about time Takes 2-3 years to become permanent Never get Sunday off Uncertain future of USPS You either "have it" or don't to become a letter carrier. You have to be physically and mentally tough and it is hard EVERY DAY . Also, say goodbye to your family and... Sundays if you want to become one. If you are not fast enough you will be let go.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide more and higher quality training Better pay and benefits

    US Postal Service2019-06-17
Found 338 reviews