USA Hockey Reviews | Glassdoor

USA Hockey Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
USA Hockey CEO Ron DeGregorio (no image)
Ron DeGregorio
10 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at USA Hockey full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are passionate for their jobs in hockey. Benefits are outstanding.

    Cons

    Salaries could be a little higher but the benefits make up for most of it. Some introduction of work-life balance procedures would protect from employee burnout.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the passion of your employees alive by knowing when to give them a break to recharge.

    USA Hockey2019-09-04
  2. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance 

    I worked at USA Hockey full-time

    Pros

    Not one. It’s cold and that’s about it.

    Cons

    Terrible management, higher ups scream over everything

    USA Hockey2019-08-23
  3. "Good part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Referee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USA Hockey part-time

    Pros

    Easy certification process. Easy to keep and maintain.

    Cons

    Unfair treatment by coaches and parents.

    USA Hockey2019-06-10
  4. "Great people, not so great professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USA Hockey full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really great benefits Work-life balance Flexibility

    Cons

    Professional development Culture Lack of management

    USA Hockey2019-05-17
  5. "Solif"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Referee in New Brunswick, NJ

    I worked at USA Hockey part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to get games Set your own schedule

    Cons

    It was a good experience, none

    USA Hockey2019-04-09
  6. "Good Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Madison, WI

    I worked at USA Hockey part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership did a great job

    Cons

    The pay was not the best

    USA Hockey2019-03-14
  7. "USA Hockey Official"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Hockey Official 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at USA Hockey part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel, meeting people and lifelong friends, fun job.

    Cons

    Angy people, not good pay, travel, not always knowing where you're going to be the upcoming weekend.

    Advice to Management

    Raise pay, and be more understanding for time off.

    USA Hockey2018-12-19
  8. "Great Job - Referee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USA Hockey part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Make your own schedule -Good pay -Good partners -Flexible

    Cons

    None that I can think of. Sometimes you get put by yourself because, depending on the area, there aren't enough officials to cover all the games; however, the pro to this is that you usually get twice the pay since you don't have a partner to split it with.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    USA Hockey2017-12-05
  9. "National Athlete"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Athlete in Duluth, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USA Hockey part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management Skills Adaptive Sports Accommodations Inclusivity Hiring Great Coaches and Staff Travel Accommodations and Excellent Quality Hotels Bonus Travel Experiences with each Trip Representing your country

    Cons

    Balancing additional work and national level training takes practice and dedication, but it is completely worth it in the long run.

    Advice to Management

    More team training opportunities.

    USA Hockey2017-11-23
  10. "Fun work as a referee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Level I Referee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USA Hockey part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training, excellent work atmosphere

    Cons

    hard to get scheduled, lots of training

    USA Hockey2017-10-13
Found 25 reviews