USA TODAY Reviews | Glassdoor

USA TODAY Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
USA TODAY CEO Paul Bascobert
Paul Bascobert
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I wish editors assigned me more work(in 8 reviews)

  • "Upper management has no clue how to turn the brand around and is stacked with cronies of the CFO(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Overall a great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, flexible work from home environment - the people! coworkers/ team made it hard to leave

    Cons

    constant articles and bids for the company gets frustrating, pick a CEO ASAP

    USA TODAY2019-07-19
  2. "UI Develper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior UI Developer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USA TODAY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Company to work and Learn

    Cons

    Have to be focused on Agile & Waterfall methodologies

    USA TODAY2019-10-14
  3. "Not a bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Executive 

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent money if you hit goals

    Cons

    Very unorganized company and poor management

    USA TODAY2019-09-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Don't bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Recognizable brand name to propel you to your next job.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is only afforded to a select few. They will bury you under work. Benefits are garbage. HR department is useless.

    Advice to Management

    Stop working your best and brightest to death, and stop allowing the suck-ups to fail upward.

    USA TODAY2019-09-16
  5. "Good base pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have extensive training and a good base pay for their Sales Executives.

    Cons

    The USA Today Network is owned by Gannett, which was recently bought by GateHouse Media. A lot of change is going on right now. Future seems good but uncertain.

    USA TODAY2019-08-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience, but lots of issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Audience Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great people, great building, great salad bar

    Cons

    lay off people to make shareholder profits. They say journalism is important but it's really all about money.

    USA TODAY2019-08-02
  7. "Big focus on Diversity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at USA TODAY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    company's focus on hiring diverse talent -- opportunity to join ERGs -- career growth through internal promotions -- comprehensive benefits package -- work-life balance is truly valued here --

    Cons

    lots of change - it's not for everyone but that's part of being in this industry

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating to the employees. Set expectations accordingly.

    USA TODAY2019-07-19

    USA TODAY Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! Diversity, Equity and Inclusion are all very important to us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. - Brettany, People's Team

  8. "Great Teamwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USA TODAY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work with smart, engaged people in a fun environment

    Cons

    Industry is changing, so some uncertainty

    Advice to Management

    Communicate

    USA TODAY2019-07-17
  9. "Amazing Culture and Valued Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USA TODAY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The overall team culture is amazing. - We're basically a family - My work is valued here, and I genuinely feel like I'm making an impact for employees.

    Cons

    - We're a small team with an ever-growing amount of work to accomplish, it gets overwhelming.

    USA TODAY2019-07-17
  10. "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to gain a variety of skillsets. Must be able to fit in.

    Cons

    Basically, if you don't fit in with their team you'll get laid off, and not give an explanation as to why. Not appreciative of diversity. With that, it makes the work load so much harder. Very difficult to ask questions when getting ignored.

    Advice to Management

    clean house.

    USA TODAY2019-07-19
Found 159 reviews