Find jobs for Company Driver

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

USA Truck

Is this your company?

USA Truck

Add a Review

USA Truck Company Driver Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 193 reviews

1.6
3%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
USA Truck President and CEO James Reed  (no image)
James Reed
1 Rating

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Outstanding

    Dec 1, 2016 - Company Driver in West Memphis, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They always get me home on time. My dispatcher keeps me booked up with loads as long as I have hours. Everything my recruiter told me was true, he never lied or promised me the moon. THE ONLY COMPANY that I've ever worked for in the past 10 years that treats me with respect!

    Cons

    The average hold time on the phone with dispatch is about 35-40 mins.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Unethical

    Dec 19, 2019 - Company Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hire recent grads and thats where it ends

    Cons

    Cheat your miles, detention and layover

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Ok for a starter company

    Sep 17, 2019 - Company Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get experience XM radio

    Cons

    A lot of breakdowns Horrible equipment

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    USA Truck Response

    Senior Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us!

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Won't go back if I can help it

    Aug 20, 2016 - Company Driver in Van Buren, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Starter Company for new drivers. I got my start there didn't get my tuition reimbursement despite being there for a year & 3 months.

    Cons

    Liars, cons, crooks, management doesn't communicate with the exception of how to screw you. Every time I got a load for 1,000 or better, I was pulled off of and placed into a new fleet. Hometime was never on time. If the truck didn't make enough money because of them not giving you decent enough loads then you had to stay until they made the money they wanted to make off of you. I won't say never because of my luck & often eating crow afterwards. I won't go back voluntarily and if I'm ever face with the choice of going back or go to hell. I may have to flip a coin.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I love USA Truck, but they don't like me.

    Feb 26, 2016 - OTR Company Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Paychecks are always correct and on time. -Fleet manager will try to give decent miles. I was happy with 2200-2500. -Potential for good miles and ideal loads. -Very good training program and good benefits. -Management never complained about me working the time schedule I preferred, and my loads were always delivered early or on-time.

    Cons

    -May try to screw you on DAC report. -Limited home time. -Dispatch may try to jerk you around like a "chicken with its head cut off" to cover for their lack of knowledge. -Trucks governed at 63 mph, and equipment can be shoddy, outdated, or factory rejects. -Lots of short runs that take up too much time unloading and loading. -Driver manager admitted that company was being targeted by DOT for HAZMAT violations. -Very low paying per mile, even for drivers with limited experience. -Keep a close eye out for pay perks, like weekend pay and detention pay, etc. Your fleet manager may suffer from selective memory loss.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    My Experience at USA truck

    Jan 3, 2015 - Company Driver in Van Buren, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Both of my trainers where fantastic. If you manage to get Bruce or Dan E. as your trainer you are in for some top notch training. When I was assigned my first truck, I was also assigned to some really cool driver managers. I had the pleasure to work for Michael Barnes, Jason Oxford, and their boss who was named Jerry. Both Mike and Jason were awesome, but Jerry is the very definition of the type of guy that truck drivers want to work for. Jerry always let me know what was going on. Jerry went above and beyond to get me home. And Jerry was always concerned about my safety which is a huge plus. Most of the tractors I was assigned to where well maintained and in good condition. I was given loads from top notch companies like Amazon, Piston Automotive, Fedex, and Staples, all of which had extremely professional employees that I to this day I can still call friends. I never had any issues with pay. My co-workers were always available to give advice. I got home just about every weekend. I got plenty of work and made pretty decent money.

    Cons

    My first truck was a piece of junk. Going up mountains with any real weight in my trailer, the temperature of my engine would rise, but the fans wouldn't cut on to cool it down resulting in overheating and coolant spraying all over the place and into my cab. Was sent in many times to fix this issue, but the breakdown people never listened to what I said was wrong and it never got properly fixed up into the point where Jason got me put in a new truck that was flawless. Most of the guys that did repairs at terminals were incompetent, and I'd sit there waiting on repairs or oil filters for most of some weeks. Some of the brokering companies we did work with were also completely incompetent, such as Focus Solutions, who were the biggest types of idiots that would screw up even the most basic runs that were the same weekly, which in turn made USA truck look bad to the customers which quite frankly really pissed me off. If one of the driver managers made the mistake of giving a member of Focus your number, you would get constant calls reminding you of tardiness that was not our fault but theirs, to the point that it was unsafe because they would constantly call you while you're driving. Communication between the day managers and the night and weekend managers was not always very good either, so those guys would not know what was going on a lot of the time. A lot of the trailers I got were junk too, and even if you take them to terminals they aren't likely to get fixed. One of the safety guys down in Texas is a jerk and extremely unprofessional, won't mention his name.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    undecided

    Dec 3, 2014 - Company Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    when i ask to go home i am able to

    Cons

    Now i have been here for only a few months fresh out of school, all i want to do is drive and make money,however every week there is a problem,either with not being able to find a empty which i had to sit for two days waiting for one, or my dm does not know what he is doing,sending me on a run that someone else is on.one week i had to go get my truck repaired sat for two days until it was fixed. i have not had a paycheck over six hundred dollars. i cant leave because they paid for my school.they have me by the balls.All i want to do is drive and make the money i was promised.not happening.after reading these reviews i wonder if it ever will. so dissapointed!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Been good so far

    Sep 26, 2014 - Company Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company work with you have a newer truck from get go let you work not on you if they know you can do the job

    Cons

    Lower wage than my last company have a battery operated cooling and heating apu good for ten hours only not been a problem but worried about it when there would be one truck has a idle cut off

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Jul 24, 2014 - Company Driver in Van Buren, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Chris fm for fleet 31, all the miles you could possibly ask for, brand new tractors, apu, the will to work with you I was treated as a human and if I had a problem it was resolved, the miles are here no problem running over 2800 every week, kinda asking my self why I left right now

    Cons

    Some older trailers, night and weekend dispatch ( luckily I was always dispatched through the weekend) people net e logs

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    a horrible mistake i wish i could take back

    Jan 16, 2014 - Company Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nothing worth mentioning except they did give me a job.

    Cons

    their equipment is in bad shape and the dispatchers do not care for the drivers

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with USA Truck Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at USA Truck? Share Your Experiences

USA Truck logo
or