Find jobs for OTR Driver

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

USA Truck

Is this your company?

USA Truck

Add a Review

USA Truck OTR Driver Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 of over 193 reviews

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
USA Truck President and CEO James Reed  (no image)
James Reed
3 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Need drivers for otr great benifits

    Jul 6, 2021 - OTR Truck Driver in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Up to 70cpm and great benefits

    Cons

    Have to be on the road for 2 plus weeks

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    USA Truck Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate it!

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Ok company

    Jun 6, 2021 - OTR Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can pick off load board

    Cons

    Atlanta Maintnence shop isn’t worth it

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    USA Truck Response

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please let us know if there's any way we could improve your experience.

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Unprofessional

    Aug 19, 2019 - OTR Truck Driver in Midwest, WY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Just another truck company to pay the bills

    Cons

    Too much road time not enough home time

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    USA Truck Response

    Senior Marketing Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Driver satisfaction is our top priority, so we regret that you had a negative experience. Please let us know if there is anything we could do to make this right. Feel free to contact us directly at DriverRelations@usa-truck.com, call 800-684-5832, or text 479-471-6623.

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company to drive for.

    Jul 3, 2019 - OTR Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always get miles. Dispatch keeps you informed.

    Cons

    Struggles getting home on time. Sadly no matter who drive for that seems to be an issue.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    USA Truck Response

    Senior Marketing Manager

    Thanks so much for the great review! We appreciate your feedback. Glad you're part of the USA Truck team.

  5. 4.0
    Former Freelancer

    I like USA Truck Capacity solutions

    May 14, 2019 - Regional OTR Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at USA truck for a short period. A short period by force not choice because i absolutely enjoyed my job and dispatch Mark we got along just fine they kept me rolling and getting paid pretty good..i am currently employed with another company i wont speak on. But i must say i do look forward to going back with USA Truck👌

    Cons

    I cant think of a downside at USA truck i was completely satisfied with my position

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The Drivers behind Review.

    Mar 3, 2019 - OTR Driver in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The trucks are good quality and operational. The satellite radio,benefits,and Retirement company.

    Cons

    The time at home and the up and down mileage routes.Their poor communication to the driver.The Driver pay can be unfavorable.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    USA Truck Response

    Senior Marketing Manager

    Thanks so much for your feedback. Your input is important to us!

  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    One of the worst paying companies I've ever worked in my 18 years

    Aug 2, 2018 - OTR Truck Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can wash and dry your clothes for free at all of their terminals . In which their are only 3 in the nation.

    Cons

    Worst pay! Do not be deceived by these reviews giving the hype that all is good here. Trust me the turn over is high! I made 35k last year at 43cpm stayed out months at a time. They also have cameras in their trucks that face the driver. I do not recommended this company. I will be writing more detail reviews and a upload of my pay stubs in the future whether employed or unemployed here. I also have good recommendations for students and experienced looking for good paying companies. Why am i still here? Well because job hopping is no good either when you're trying to find a good stable company. The job is not stressful! You will find that the lack of pay causes the stress. Also they will put you through various fleet managers in attempt to give the perception they are trying to match you however do not be deceived by this trick in giving you the best experience as a driver. The name of their game is kick the can down the road. I'm sure the recruiters have offered you a big bonus to sign on to #USATRUCK right? Well expect that to be absorbed by your downtime from breakdowns and being poorly managed. Yes, they will do all in their effort to make as if it is your performance that is causing your woes. Do not be deceived. Women lie men lie but numbers don't lie! There is a driver shortage in this industry not because of the shortage of people looking for jobs. There is a shortage in pay!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Otr

    Apr 8, 2018 - OTR Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a steady job that has excellent customer base.alot drop and hook staff all in all very nice

    Cons

    You have to work and you can't drive a 100

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Truck driver at USA.

    Nov 12, 2017 - OTR Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They hire new drivers with no experience. Dispatch curtious, friendly and professional and will do what they can to help their more valued drivers.

    Cons

    Problem with USA is not the people or the staff. It's their upper management all the way up to their CEO. Being a company driver, you will come to find out everyone there is following a set of rules set by the upper management or face termination. They"'ll continuously make their driver run 100 to 300 mile short hauls for entire week. When shut down at a truck stop, off duty, they will make you drop and hook, while off duty and sleeping. Excessive micro management. The company will never approve or give their drivers a 34 hour reset, never. 3 hours coming back the next day after a 10, they will still run you. Just about every live load, I had a bad pick up number and long wait times to get a new one from the account managers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    OTR Not Valued

    Feb 25, 2017 - OTR Driver in Van Buren, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Safety is the only department that cares about the OTRs.

    Cons

    DMs and Dispatchers should have a minimum of 1 year experience as a OTR. They don't have a clue to what it is like to be an OTR. They give you loads with unreasonable deadlines and want you to have log violations like we are robots or slaves. There needs to be a revamping of organization training for the DMs & Dispatchers. Someone needs to create a virtual reality simulation for the DMs and Dispatchers to experience life on the road as a OTR. They also need some Customer Service training to increase driver loyalty. We are their customers. Some of the Dispatchers act like we are slaves. This is why there is such a high CHURN rate in the trucking industry with OTRs. My pay does not match my experience as a OTR. New hires are coming in at my current rate of pay, that is just wrong.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

Popular Careers with USA Truck Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at USA Truck? Share Your Experiences

USA Truck logo
or