KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

USA Truck

Is this your company?

USA Truck

Add a Review

USA Truck OTR Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 193 reviews

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
USA Truck President and CEO James Reed  (no image)
James Reed
3 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Need drivers for otr great benifits

    Jul 6, 2021 - OTR Truck Driver in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Up to 70cpm and great benefits

    Cons

    Have to be on the road for 2 plus weeks

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    USA Truck Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate it!

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Ok company

    Jun 6, 2021 - OTR Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can pick off load board

    Cons

    Atlanta Maintnence shop isn’t worth it

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    USA Truck Response

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please let us know if there's any way we could improve your experience.

  3. 4.0
    Former Freelancer

    I like USA Truck Capacity solutions

    May 14, 2019 - Regional OTR Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at USA truck for a short period. A short period by force not choice because i absolutely enjoyed my job and dispatch Mark we got along just fine they kept me rolling and getting paid pretty good..i am currently employed with another company i wont speak on. But i must say i do look forward to going back with USA Truck👌

    Cons

    I cant think of a downside at USA truck i was completely satisfied with my position

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company to drive for.

    Jul 3, 2019 - OTR Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always get miles. Dispatch keeps you informed.

    Cons

    Struggles getting home on time. Sadly no matter who drive for that seems to be an issue.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    USA Truck Response

    Senior Marketing Manager

    Thanks so much for the great review! We appreciate your feedback. Glad you're part of the USA Truck team.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Luck of the draw.

    Jul 29, 2015 - OTR Driver in Carlisle, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The miles. Certain liberties that are rare amongst other companies. Driver Managers that work with you. Honesty. Detention and layover pay. Benefits are great and scales are now paid for through the company.You get what you put into it more or less.

    Cons

    EQUIPMENT! Tractors and trailers alike. Very difficult to find a good trailer to pull. Good news? They are starting to put brand new trailers in circulation. Starting pay for experienced drivers is a bit low. Wait time on phone calls is my personal gripe.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Unprofessional

    Aug 19, 2019 - OTR Truck Driver in Midwest, WY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Just another truck company to pay the bills

    Cons

    Too much road time not enough home time

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    USA Truck Response

    Senior Marketing Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Driver satisfaction is our top priority, so we regret that you had a negative experience. Please let us know if there is anything we could do to make this right. Feel free to contact us directly at DriverRelations@usa-truck.com, call 800-684-5832, or text 479-471-6623.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    They leave you stranded!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sep 18, 2014 - OTR Driver in Van Buren, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are not any good reason's to work at this company.

    Cons

    The DM's ignore you, whether it is day or night shift. They do not try to get you home for down time. They do not supply you with all the paperwork you need to do our job. They tell you that you can not use your GPS to get to your destinations, but do not give you route instructions. I was sent to Mehoopany, PA without any instruction, except not to use my GPS. The route I took is not marked as s restricted road and I was not told by my DM that it was. USA Truck knows this road is restricted, they have had driver's caught on it before. You end up getting over weight, over length and over height violations and fines ($2700 +) and then get fired and stranded on the road. Oh, you can take their bus ticket and leave all your personal belongings in boxes in their yard, they will get them to you sometime, somehow! If USA sends you to Mehoopany, go ahead and quit...they have sent you there to get your butt fined off and then to fire you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!This company sucks all the way around. They then told any company that called for job verification that I had unsafe driving practices, and no one will hire me for OTR!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Stay Away!!!

    Nov 18, 2010 - OTR in Van Buren, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Starter in the trucking field. get you 1 year of service and get out of their! it is a stepping stone job thats it.

    Cons

    Bad managment, horrible dispatchers, and breakdown was a joke. Managers dont care about their drivers just getting the load there on time. Dispatches and load planners give you loads that you can not meet the deadlines and when you tell them they blame it on you, its never their fault. Breakdown is a joke, lost 4th and 9th gear whil climbing a mountain with a 6% down grade with a 39k lbs load. Call to report it and they say to go to the terminal 160 miles away. Refused to countiue they sent a tow truck. Transmission blew a seal lost all the fluid, dealship said i would not have made the down grade with out loosing the entire transmission. Truck was inviled in a accident (not my fought) and the front end buggered up clearly not with in dot specs. sent pics and they say keep your load and we will get you a load going to a terminal to get fixed, three weeks later got to a terminal.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    OTR Not Valued

    Feb 25, 2017 - OTR Driver in Van Buren, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Safety is the only department that cares about the OTRs.

    Cons

    DMs and Dispatchers should have a minimum of 1 year experience as a OTR. They don't have a clue to what it is like to be an OTR. They give you loads with unreasonable deadlines and want you to have log violations like we are robots or slaves. There needs to be a revamping of organization training for the DMs & Dispatchers. Someone needs to create a virtual reality simulation for the DMs and Dispatchers to experience life on the road as a OTR. They also need some Customer Service training to increase driver loyalty. We are their customers. Some of the Dispatchers act like we are slaves. This is why there is such a high CHURN rate in the trucking industry with OTRs. My pay does not match my experience as a OTR. New hires are coming in at my current rate of pay, that is just wrong.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I love USA Truck, but they don't like me.

    Feb 26, 2016 - OTR Company Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Paychecks are always correct and on time. -Fleet manager will try to give decent miles. I was happy with 2200-2500. -Potential for good miles and ideal loads. -Very good training program and good benefits. -Management never complained about me working the time schedule I preferred, and my loads were always delivered early or on-time.

    Cons

    -May try to screw you on DAC report. -Limited home time. -Dispatch may try to jerk you around like a "chicken with its head cut off" to cover for their lack of knowledge. -Trucks governed at 63 mph, and equipment can be shoddy, outdated, or factory rejects. -Lots of short runs that take up too much time unloading and loading. -Driver manager admitted that company was being targeted by DOT for HAZMAT violations. -Very low paying per mile, even for drivers with limited experience. -Keep a close eye out for pay perks, like weekend pay and detention pay, etc. Your fleet manager may suffer from selective memory loss.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with USA Truck Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at USA Truck? Share Your Experiences

USA Truck logo
or