USA Truck Reviews | Glassdoor

USA Truck Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 153 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
USA Truck CEO James Reed  (no image)
James Reed
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "My dispatcher keeps me booked up with loads as long as I have hours(in 12 reviews)

  • "The people you work with on a daily basis are great people(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Dedicated Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dedicated Driver in Culpeper, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USA Truck full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Driver Managers, Company Loyalty, Respect For Drivers

    Cons

    Need faster response time for authorization on repairs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you are doing. Great job.

    USA Truck2018-12-17

    USA Truck Response

    December 19, 2018Senior Marketing Manager

    We appreciate your wonderful review more than we can say! We are so glad you've stuck with us and we are proud to have you as part of the USA Truck family.

  2. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USA Truck full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and solid growth

    Cons

    Need substantial raises for certain positions

    USA Truck2019-09-23

    USA Truck Response

    September 25, 2019Senior Marketing Manager

    Thanks so much for this stellar review! We appreciate you sharing your experiences with us.

  3. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USA Truck full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, care about employees

    Cons

    Long hours, can be stressful

    USA Truck2019-09-26

    USA Truck Response

    September 30, 2019Senior Marketing Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! We appreciate you taking a moment to leave us your review.

  4. "Ok for a starter company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Company Truck Driver 

    I worked at USA Truck full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get experience XM radio

    Cons

    A lot of breakdowns Horrible equipment

    Advice to Management

    You should do mental evaluation on your trainers before you someone in the truck with someone

    USA Truck2019-09-18

    USA Truck Response

    September 25, 2019Senior Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us!

  5. "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Midwest, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USA Truck full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just another truck company to pay the bills

    Cons

    Too much road time not enough home time

    USA Truck2019-08-20

    USA Truck Response

    August 22, 2019Senior Marketing Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Driver satisfaction is our top priority, so we regret that you had a negative experience. Please let us know if there is anything we could do to make this right. Feel free to contact us directly at DriverRelations@usa-truck.com, call 800-684-5832, or text 479-471-6623.

    Show Less
  6. "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver Manager in Van Buren, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USA Truck full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some good people are employed there

    Cons

    Very stressful, always someone looking over your shoulder, bad pay, no raises even if you are one of the top employees. The upper management likes to tell everyone how great the culture is when everyone in operations feels like a slave.

    USA Truck2019-07-18

    USA Truck Response

    July 22, 2019Senior Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our team has made a renewed pledge to driver satisfaction and we sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your experience. We would be happy to discuss your specific situation offline. Feel free to contact us directly at DriverRelations@usa-truck.com, call 800-684-5832, or text 479-471-6623.

    Show Less
  7. "Good company to drive for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver 

    I have been working at USA Truck full-time

    Pros

    Always get miles. Dispatch keeps you informed.

    Cons

    Struggles getting home on time. Sadly no matter who drive for that seems to be an issue.

    USA Truck2019-07-03

    USA Truck Response

    July 5, 2019Senior Marketing Manager

    Thanks so much for the great review! We appreciate your feedback. Glad you're part of the USA Truck team.

  8. "No more spying on drivers with cameras"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CDL Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USA Truck full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flatbed division Mileage Many terminal locations

    Cons

    Camera inside cab Unresponsive to telephone calls or Qualcomm messages Driving manager overload Cameras in cab

    Advice to Management

    Consider safety AND productivity Not all drivers need the same sense of “babysitting .” So cameras inside the cab seemed unnecessary Ensure what is good for the goose is good for the whole flock; if there are rules ensure everyone follows them and is reprimanded in whatever way is appropriate for said violation. Consider driver’s opinions new and veterans

    USA Truck2019-06-22

    USA Truck Response

    June 26, 2019Senior Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our renewed pledge to driver satisfaction is the motivation behind everything we do, so we regret that you had a negative experience. We would be happy to discuss your specific situation offline. Feel free to contact us directly at DriverRelations@usa-truck.com, call 800-684-5832, or text 479-471-6623.

    Show Less
  9. "Leadership is Overpaid and Unproductive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USA Truck full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Frontline employees operate like family.

    Cons

    Middle management is unproductive and scared of talented up & coming individuals.

    Advice to Management

    Terminate every mid level manager you have on the operations floor and a couple executives. Insanity is repeating the same behavior over and over and expecting a different result.

    USA Truck2019-06-13

    USA Truck Response

    June 17, 2019Senior Marketing Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Reviews like yours are essential to building better experiences for our drivers in the future, and we take comments like these very seriously when looking for ways to improve.

Found 153 reviews