KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

USA Truck

Is this your company?

USA Truck

Add a Review

USA Truck Employee Reviews about "home time"

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 190 reviews

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
USA Truck President and CEO James Reed  (no image)
James Reed
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "My dispatcher keeps me booked up with loads as long as I have hours(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good Pay and every once in a while the CEO will buy you pizza(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Too much road time not enough home time(in 12 reviews)

  • "Everything they never answer the phones or messages and they don’t have enough trailers(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "home time"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      They have gave me an opportunity of a lifetime

      Feb 24, 2011 - Truck Driver in Van Buren, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      descent pay can easly get matters took care of

      Cons

      Lose a lot of valuable home time not to be able to be with family

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Unprofessional

      Aug 19, 2019 - OTR Truck Driver in Midwest, WY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Just another truck company to pay the bills

      Cons

      Too much road time not enough home time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      USA Truck Response

      Senior Marketing Manager

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Driver satisfaction is our top priority, so we regret that you had a negative experience. Please let us know if there is anything we could do to make this right. Feel free to contact us directly at DriverRelations@usa-truck.com, call 800-684-5832, or text 479-471-6623.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Driver

      May 31, 2018 - Driver in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Driver manager, safety and home time when you request. People are friendly for the most. Getting to know the shop mechanics is a must.

      Cons

      Equipment is old. Not sure why keeping a truck on the road for 500,000 plus miles is necessary. Three years would make plenty. Can not fix air conditioning. Can not fix rust.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      First OTR Driving Job

      Aug 19, 2017 - Truck Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not a bad company to start with. They paid for Truck Driving School.

      Cons

      They took me across the country when I requested home time. You got your time off, but sometimes it took a while.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Otr trucking

      May 18, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company Average pay but has plenty miles to offer Great home time

      Cons

      very strict company Certain places you can't work

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I love USA Truck, but they don't like me.

      Feb 26, 2016 - OTR Company Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Paychecks are always correct and on time. -Fleet manager will try to give decent miles. I was happy with 2200-2500. -Potential for good miles and ideal loads. -Very good training program and good benefits. -Management never complained about me working the time schedule I preferred, and my loads were always delivered early or on-time.

      Cons

      -May try to screw you on DAC report. -Limited home time. -Dispatch may try to jerk you around like a "chicken with its head cut off" to cover for their lack of knowledge. -Trucks governed at 63 mph, and equipment can be shoddy, outdated, or factory rejects. -Lots of short runs that take up too much time unloading and loading. -Driver manager admitted that company was being targeted by DOT for HAZMAT violations. -Very low paying per mile, even for drivers with limited experience. -Keep a close eye out for pay perks, like weekend pay and detention pay, etc. Your fleet manager may suffer from selective memory loss.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Not everything is what it seems.

      Oct 17, 2015 - Driver Trainer in New Orleans, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dispatchers are very nice and willing to work a problem with you to the best of what they are allowed by upper management. All trucks are equipped with APU's and inverters. They will work you hard and run you alot of miles if you are willing to do so. They have a driver retention team of great people that get things done when all else fails. You can take your home time where ever you want in the country.

      Cons

      "Religious discrimination". VP does not like visible tattoos. CEO does not have an open door policy like they say and you are not allowed to even ask to speak to him. On time home time when you request it is far fetched. Breakdown pay, detention pay, layover pay is all a lie. Reimbursement for say buying a headlight or tail light or clearance light for your truck or trailer to stay DOT legal over the road and so forth is a lie. When it comes to the shop for your truck or trailer, they will get things done, but not done correctly. If they tell you that something is allowed, like lug nut covers, you had better get that in writing and get it notarized or you will get fired for what they say is allowed.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst Experience With A Trucking Company

      Jul 18, 2015 - OTR Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not much good to say about them. The hotel in West Memphis, AR was decent. My driver manager is a pretty good guy. That's about it.

      Cons

      Poor equipment. Worst GPS navigation system I've ever dealt with. Peoplenet sucks. Some driver managers don't really care. Load planners will screw you, especially when it comes to home time. Management at West Memphis terminal treats your family like I unwelcomed pests. Wife was with me during orientation. She has a broken ankle. I was told she could not sit in the back of the classroom on the first floor. She would have to stay outside, in the July heat, or walk up a flight of stairs to the drivers' lounge.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      What

      Jun 4, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      To be fair to them, I had an excellent trainer coming out of school in 2005. I have talked to him in recent years and had tremendous respect for him (although he kept me from home when we were literally 2.5 miles from my house). Other than that, I learned a lot and was ready to drive as soon as I tested out.

      Cons

      Where do I begin? The first month, I finally got a chance to visit home and see my mother that was dying of cancer. We were told that we would have one day a month to go through the house. I went to the house, and could've spent a couple of days, but my dispatcher rushed me on to St. Louis where I sat for the whole weekend looking at the load I left in the lot. Was supposed to get a 900 mile load to WY, but the driver kept on going past me. So what did USA do for me? They gave me a 230 mile load to Joliet IL where I unloaded 37000 lbs. of tires for $60. Needless to say, I was on my way back to Van Buren to have a talk with my dispatch. They treated us like animals, or robots, which was even worse. The night/weekend dispatch were rude, and one yelled at me for calling too many times for proper directions. They were notorious for waking me up every chance they could...sometimes on the 10hr break, we were told to wake other drivers up. I eventually covered up the speaker on the qualcomm with a piece of velcro tape. The last straw was when my home time came up and they made me sit on the south side of Chicago 2 days into my home time. They weren't going to let me keep those two days and send me back out. I persuaded them to oblige and keep my home time so that I could see my mother. At the end of my home time, I returned my truck to the Vandalia terminal. I have never seen so many heartless people in my life! From the maintenance department to the dispatch, they were looking out for themselves. And I didn't mention that all of the students that went through C-1 with me got new trucks, and I was sent, by bus from Indiana to Houston just to get my truck from the wrecker yard. It was in a nasty state...so much that I had to sleep on the top bunk. I got used to it, but not very well. Was more than happy to leave them.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Okay to start out with, but keep your options open

      Jan 17, 2014 - Truck Driver in Marysville, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Okay starter carrier Average run is about 800 to 1000 miles I averaged 2700 The pay is actually good for a large carrier that trains drivers I'm still friends with my trainer to this day (I'm told I got lucky though by other current and former USA drivers...)

      Cons

      Severe lack of communication. They will not answer the phone or qualcomm in a timely manner on ANYTHING. You can expect to be on hold for 30 minutes or more even on urgent matters requiring immediate attention. Trucks are governed at 62 or 63. If they are unsatisfied with your fuel economy or idle time they will cut you down to 59. That ad in the trucking papers where they say you can "bank your home time" is an outright lie. You get 1 day of home time for every 7 days worked, can only bank up to 4 (If you work more than 28 days at a time you don't accumulate any more home time) They will drag their feet getting you home when you're due for home time. I stayed out for 28 days at a time so I could have 4 days. They always tried to call me on the second or third day to get me to leave early. I finally stopped answering my phone if it was them while on home time. They will try to write you up for things you're not even guilty of, that they can't even prove.

      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Popular Careers with USA Truck Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at USA Truck? Share Your Experiences

    USA Truck logo
    or