KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

USA Truck

Is this your company?

USA Truck

Add a Review

USA Truck Employee Reviews about "trailers"

Updated Sep 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 190 reviews

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
USA Truck President and CEO James Reed  (no image)
James Reed
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "My dispatcher keeps me booked up with loads as long as I have hours(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good Pay and every once in a while the CEO will buy you pizza(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Too much road time not enough home time(in 12 reviews)

  • "Everything they never answer the phones or messages and they don’t have enough trailers(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "trailers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Oct 7, 2016 - CDL/A Driver in Van Buren, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family oriented ur not a number know you by name work with you on hometime can take hometime where you want when you want as an O/O

      Cons

      Don't run all 48....some older trailers ....closed alot of terminals and drop yards less areas for drivers to go in certain high traffic areas

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Stay away

      Sep 8, 2020 - Independent Contractor/Driver in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Do yourself a favor if you are an independent contractor and try Werner, Landstar or get your own authority

      Cons

      Everything they never answer the phones or messages and they don’t have enough trailers. You will have to sit and wait for a trailer or drive about 2 to 3 hours to get one

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      USA Truck Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our pledge to driver satisfaction is the motivation behind everything we do, so we regret that you had a negative experience. We would be happy to discuss your specific situation offline. Feel free to contact us directly at DriverRelations@usa-truck.com or call 800-684-5832.

    3. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Any job there

      Mar 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Van Buren, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None! A big fat ZERO

      Cons

      So many! Impossible to advance unless you are female, young, willing to ‘party’ with the big guys. No place to begin a career or end one. Unfair and demeaning treatment of drivers , bullying, horrible condition of trucks, trailers, along with the poor treatment of drivers should bump this lousy company to the TOP of the list of places NOT to work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Team Truck driver

      Apr 20, 2017 - Truck Driver in Van Buren, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get 1 day off for every week your out no max on days off

      Cons

      Not a team trucking company, most runs are short solo under 400 miles. 1 out of 3 trailers your stopping at ta for repairs

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Luck of the draw.

      Jul 29, 2015 - OTR Driver in Carlisle, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The miles. Certain liberties that are rare amongst other companies. Driver Managers that work with you. Honesty. Detention and layover pay. Benefits are great and scales are now paid for through the company.You get what you put into it more or less.

      Cons

      EQUIPMENT! Tractors and trailers alike. Very difficult to find a good trailer to pull. Good news? They are starting to put brand new trailers in circulation. Starting pay for experienced drivers is a bit low. Wait time on phone calls is my personal gripe.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Very unpleased.

      Apr 14, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent miles and pay if dedicated.

      Cons

      Equipment, management. Poorly maintained trailers and tractors. Dispatchers will purposely send you 1,000 miles in opposite direction when time for home. All management says is that it's all part of trucking.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      My Experience at USA truck

      Jan 3, 2015 - Company Driver in Van Buren, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Both of my trainers where fantastic. If you manage to get Bruce or Dan E. as your trainer you are in for some top notch training. When I was assigned my first truck, I was also assigned to some really cool driver managers. I had the pleasure to work for Michael Barnes, Jason Oxford, and their boss who was named Jerry. Both Mike and Jason were awesome, but Jerry is the very definition of the type of guy that truck drivers want to work for. Jerry always let me know what was going on. Jerry went above and beyond to get me home. And Jerry was always concerned about my safety which is a huge plus. Most of the tractors I was assigned to where well maintained and in good condition. I was given loads from top notch companies like Amazon, Piston Automotive, Fedex, and Staples, all of which had extremely professional employees that I to this day I can still call friends. I never had any issues with pay. My co-workers were always available to give advice. I got home just about every weekend. I got plenty of work and made pretty decent money.

      Cons

      My first truck was a piece of junk. Going up mountains with any real weight in my trailer, the temperature of my engine would rise, but the fans wouldn't cut on to cool it down resulting in overheating and coolant spraying all over the place and into my cab. Was sent in many times to fix this issue, but the breakdown people never listened to what I said was wrong and it never got properly fixed up into the point where Jason got me put in a new truck that was flawless. Most of the guys that did repairs at terminals were incompetent, and I'd sit there waiting on repairs or oil filters for most of some weeks. Some of the brokering companies we did work with were also completely incompetent, such as Focus Solutions, who were the biggest types of idiots that would screw up even the most basic runs that were the same weekly, which in turn made USA truck look bad to the customers which quite frankly really pissed me off. If one of the driver managers made the mistake of giving a member of Focus your number, you would get constant calls reminding you of tardiness that was not our fault but theirs, to the point that it was unsafe because they would constantly call you while you're driving. Communication between the day managers and the night and weekend managers was not always very good either, so those guys would not know what was going on a lot of the time. A lot of the trailers I got were junk too, and even if you take them to terminals they aren't likely to get fixed. One of the safety guys down in Texas is a jerk and extremely unprofessional, won't mention his name.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Jul 24, 2014 - Company Driver in Van Buren, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Chris fm for fleet 31, all the miles you could possibly ask for, brand new tractors, apu, the will to work with you I was treated as a human and if I had a problem it was resolved, the miles are here no problem running over 2800 every week, kinda asking my self why I left right now

      Cons

      Some older trailers, night and weekend dispatch ( luckily I was always dispatched through the weekend) people net e logs

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      ok place to work if starting out driving.

      Jul 7, 2013 - Local Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      able to b home every night and off weekends. Supervisors.

      Cons

      work long hours with no overtime pay, off for hollidays with no pay(id rather work and get paid then b off), old tractors that break down and paid 4 hours for the day if brokedown all day, shortage of trailers due to company selling majority of trailers. no option for advancement. maxed out at $16hourly, no bonuses and benefits r not great,

      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with USA Truck Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at USA Truck? Share Your Experiences

    USA Truck logo
    or