USAA "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

USAA Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The first year on the phones are the hardest if you do not have previous call center experience(in 361 reviews)

  • "Very much out of touch with its military membership(in 125 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "usaa is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a great company and they care about their employees. Competitive pay and benefits.

    Cons

    I did not want to leave USAA, but a call center job just isn't for me. I hope to come back to USAA in the future.

    USAA2019-11-17
  2. "Good overall company/benefits package."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant/Project Manager in Addison, TX

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, 401k Match 8%, Wellness Allowance

    Cons

    High call center advisor turnover due to short shelf-life and substandard income progression.

    USAA2020-01-08
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Good Benefits, Horrible Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Member Solutions Senior Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits only positive thing I can think of other than when applying for new jobs employers see you worked at USAA more than 5 years and are more eager to job offer you because USAA used to be known for only hiring quality employees.

    Cons

    Horrible direct managers in call center areas of USAA. Can have 1 good manager, and then a terrible manager that will only care about numbers and metrics. Pushy sales tactics are taught to employees in this department in order to meet metrics. If you have a higher moral standard and respect for Military and want to really help them when offering insurance policies they can afford management will ask why you did not write the policy that was 600.00 more than what they already have? Why did you not get them to say yes to the bank account (even though banking was not a good solution for that particular individual) I always had good numbers but it was more because I was ethical and do not lie to potential members. In the almost 6 years of working here I witnessed colleagues use bait and switch tactics, writing policies the customer was unaware were issued, and bank accounts opened and offered as free bank accounts just open accounts and policies to meet metrics for the department. Not much room for advancement in this department, had colleagues with masters degrees that had been in the same position on the phone for 10 years. To advance to a higher position in this department it’s more who you know because not many spots open up. Before becoming a work at home employee would see colleagues in weekly coaching in tears. Managers will tear you down and make you feel worthless in the call center side of USAA. If you can handle the stress of thinking you are going to lose your job everyday and an incredibly mismanaged department be my guest and work here. I have been a member of USAA for 14 years I can say after seeing from the inside of what goes on and company practices I am not as proud to say I am a Member of USAA. Do not ever file an employee relations complaint against a manger even if it is warranted, the no retaliation policy does not exist.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-01-14
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Property Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Lots of benefits. Great atmosphere

    Cons

    Lots of phone calls. But it is a call center

    USAA2019-12-10
  5. "Awesome for military families and everyone associated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, care and attention, autonomy, decent money, advancement is good

    Cons

    call center is always busy, if you consider that a con-- none, other than that

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-11-07
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, helping veterans. End of year bonus.

    Cons

    Claims is just a call center. They try to suggest that you have ownership over your claims and that you can help members, but it is just an inbound call center. Only metric they cared about was how many inbound calls you took. 20+ voicemails a day and no time to return the calls.

    USAA2019-12-11
  7. "Just started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Growth, Awesome company, and Opportunities.

    Cons

    Call Center/Metrics and that's all I can think of that might be cons but I haven't really started yet.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-01
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Great Company, not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    USAA has great flexible schedules, bonuses and education assistance program

    Cons

    Call volume isn't distributed fairly amongst reps, it's a call center so expect to be treated as just a number producing sales. For an insurance company, the health insurance provided to employees is incredibly awful. The bonuses almost make up for less pay but because this is a sales position, commission at any other insurance company would still out weigh total salary with bonuses included. Management and resources providing information on how to handle calls is inconsistent. Managers micromanage everyone regardless of performance. Promotions are dependent upon sales numbers, military service and who you're buddies with.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-01
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great company to work for but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits from day 1 Great work schedule flexibility PTO hours generated every pay period Education assistance is great so use it to pursue your career of choice. Military culture

    Cons

    It is a call center and you are expected to sell insurance on almost every call. Work life balance is not that great, unpaid lunches, bonus is determined by overall business results. Florida campus is expected to outperform other campuses but you will get paid the same. Sales practices are inconsistent sometimes as well as instructions given. Managers tend to focus on what you did wrong no matter what. Even if the call was perfect they are trained to find something you could do better. No the highest paying insurance company

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-09-27
  10. "Excellent benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great health insurance, maternity leave and 401k

    Cons

    Most positions are call center

    USAA2019-09-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 387 reviews
</>Embed