USAA "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

USAA Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
23 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Collateral Review Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Company currently downsizing and reorganizing

    USAA2020-01-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Service Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good pay, financially strong company, lots of growth and opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Lots of reorganization at the executive management level right now. Leading to confusion at the mid management and front line employee level.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-01-10
  3. "Loan Officer Associate, help Loan Officer day to day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consulting Senior Software Engineer 

    I worked at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and great incentives

    Cons

    hard to move up positions.

    USAA2020-01-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Fair pay, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible, work life balance

    Cons

    Corporate politics, bureaucracy, Limited mid and upper management opportunities outside of home office.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-01-02
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Agent 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, great time off.

    Cons

    Seniority structure, lots of bureaucracy

    USAA2019-12-17
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Good Benefits, Horrible Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Member Solutions Senior Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits only positive thing I can think of other than when applying for new jobs employers see you worked at USAA more than 5 years and are more eager to job offer you because USAA used to be known for only hiring quality employees.

    Cons

    Horrible direct managers in call center areas of USAA. Can have 1 good manager, and then a terrible manager that will only care about numbers and metrics. Pushy sales tactics are taught to employees in this department in order to meet metrics. If you have a higher moral standard and respect for Military and want to really help them when offering insurance policies they can afford management will ask why you did not write the policy that was 600.00 more than what they already have? Why did you not get them to say yes to the bank account (even though banking was not a good solution for that particular individual) I always had good numbers but it was more because I was ethical and do not lie to potential members. In the almost 6 years of working here I witnessed colleagues use bait and switch tactics, writing policies the customer was unaware were issued, and bank accounts opened and offered as free bank accounts just open accounts and policies to meet metrics for the department. Not much room for advancement in this department, had colleagues with masters degrees that had been in the same position on the phone for 10 years. To advance to a higher position in this department it’s more who you know because not many spots open up. Before becoming a work at home employee would see colleagues in weekly coaching in tears. Managers will tear you down and make you feel worthless in the call center side of USAA. If you can handle the stress of thinking you are going to lose your job everyday and an incredibly mismanaged department be my guest and work here. I have been a member of USAA for 14 years I can say after seeing from the inside of what goes on and company practices I am not as proud to say I am a Member of USAA. Do not ever file an employee relations complaint against a manger even if it is warranted, the no retaliation policy does not exist.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-01-14
  7. "Insurance Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, company 401k match 8%, 40 hrs sick time, you can purchase additional vacation time, lump sum company bonus in February , holiday bonus, company gives Education card with up to 10k annually.

    Cons

    Sometimes Management isn't supportive, sometimes it's hard to change your schedule.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-11-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, helping veterans. End of year bonus.

    Cons

    Claims is just a call center. They try to suggest that you have ownership over your claims and that you can help members, but it is just an inbound call center. Only metric they cared about was how many inbound calls you took. 20+ voicemails a day and no time to return the calls.

    USAA2019-12-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Good Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment in Plano office. Managers let you get your job done without micromanagement. Projects are interesting and there is always someone that is willing to help you. Benefits are great with lots of PTO, gym membership assistance, healthy food discounts on campus, and more. Lots of room for lateral movement if you wish to try out a new avenue.

    Cons

    Low base salary for industry with a hanging carrot of a bonus. Promotions are hard locked into time frames (2+ years) with little chances to be promoted early for hard work. Make you drink the company Kool-aid

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-20
  10. "Great benefits and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Product Manager Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, professional work environment, on site gym, great people and mission.

    Cons

    Plano is predominately IT, but there are now a few business positions made available.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-22
Found 555 reviews
</>Embed