USAA "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

USAA Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
26 Ratings
  1. "Great benefits and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Product Manager Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, professional work environment, on site gym, great people and mission.

    Cons

    Plano is predominately IT, but there are now a few business positions made available.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-22
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to learn and grow, work-life balance is a pipe dream for my team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer & Integrator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers are really nice, friendly, and helpful. I've always had great managers and interesting work. GREAT benefits. Depending on the team, you'll have great work-life balance. Awesome mission. Shareholders are the members. IT stack is still behind, but is quickly modernizing.

    Cons

    Depending on the team, you'll have horrible work-life balance. We rely a ton on third party contractors, which they're great, but there is a lot of turnover which means some quality drops and more phone calls in the middle of the night when things break. Work-life balance is getting hit hard recently with all the pushes towards compliance. Also, depending on the team, you won't be promoted until you're past the 2 years waiting period.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-09-25
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Risk Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible on location - Great benefits

    Cons

    - Salary is far too low for the job being done - Misled on career opportunities and moving up within the company - Despite being in a quantitative field, moving up within the company is largely political, and a popularity contest. - Job typically gets more difficult over time as new requirements are constantly added. - When hired, the offer is misleading in that it includes the annual bonus as part of your annual salary. The annual bonus widely varies; the reported average is often nowhere near what is actually paid out. In fact, it's usually far less.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-07
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster 

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits plenty of pto

    Cons

    No down time, little time between calls, difficult conversations

    USAA2019-09-18
  5. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good pay.

    Cons

    No downside I can think of.

    USAA2019-09-26
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Great company to work for but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits from day 1 Great work schedule flexibility PTO hours generated every pay period Education assistance is great so use it to pursue your career of choice. Military culture

    Cons

    It is a call center and you are expected to sell insurance on almost every call. Work life balance is not that great, unpaid lunches, bonus is determined by overall business results. Florida campus is expected to outperform other campuses but you will get paid the same. Sales practices are inconsistent sometimes as well as instructions given. Managers tend to focus on what you did wrong no matter what. Even if the call was perfect they are trained to find something you could do better. No the highest paying insurance company

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-09-27
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Like USAA, Hate Mortgage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    USAA has great benefits and a strong company culture. The 401K match is 8% and there is usually a retirement-plus added 401k bonus in February. There is an on-site gym, clinic, and cafe with half-priced "healthy" options.

    Cons

    The mortgage department has a new executive leadership team that has been difficult to work with. I am currently carrying the loan volume of two people, but they keep saying the average pipeline size is about 35-38, so why do I have the pleasure of carrying 55 loans? It is not acceptable to have employees working overtime for 5 months (and that isnt ending anytime soon).

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-05
  8. "Long Interview Process - But Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Executive Operatonal Planning Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very strong and established culture with great benefits and an awesome campus.

    Cons

    Long interview processes but its understandable and worth it

    USAA2019-09-20
  9. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Solutions Specialist 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, 8% match for retirement, a lot of work at home availability

    Cons

    call center job, not much opportunity for growth in company

    USAA2019-09-07
  10. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Non-Injury Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great including education assistance. Bonuses

    Cons

    Heavy workload, no flexibility on schedules, work everyone's claims including your own.

    USAA2019-09-06
Found 556 reviews
</>Embed