USAA "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

USAA Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "RUN- Too much power to Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Insurance Agent in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and amenities, 401k , gym, bonuses.

    Cons

    Depends on your manager- they can easily nit pick and score you down and get you fired. I went from getting a raise ,changed managers, then was fired 4 months later, perfect attendance and 100% customer sat scores 8 months in a row.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-08-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "member relationship specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Member Relationship Specialist 

    I worked at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and culture throughout

    Cons

    There is a lot of micromanaging

    USAA2019-07-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    benefits are great. people you work with are awesome

    Cons

    Need to be more structured for training. You are stuck in a room watching modules all day and its not necessarily relevant to your job. You will get different answers on questions, depending on who you ask; not necessarily getting the right one each /any time.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-07-31
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Culture is changing in a negative way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investments in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and campus. Nice cafeterias on site as well as gyms.

    Cons

    The company is trashing what was once a fantastic company. The management has lost its focus on caring for its employees and providing a healthy environment to work in. Some decisions being made at the higher levels are truly disappointing. I question what the company looks like in 3 years if they keep going down this path.

    USAA2019-06-29
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great for collecting a check"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Processor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, 8% 401k match, annual bonus but keeps getting smaller. Company provides a lot of quality of life benefits and really focused on employee experience but to a fault.

    Cons

    Terrible place to work if you're young and ambitious. Degree is a must if you plan on moving anywhere above a senior role. Too many underperforming, tenured employees working in key positions that prevent top talent from moving up and is making departments run incoherently. USAA places employee experience at great importance but isn't holding employees, mostly high tenured, accountable in fear of backlash. A lot of the tenured employees have zero clue how well they have it. Middle management is typically high tenure with no will or want to learn the job they're managing, relying on seniors to pick up the slack.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-06-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great out of college."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Adjuster III in San Antonio, TX
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and tuition assistance.

    Cons

    Little room for growth or gaining experience outside your initial field.

    USAA2019-07-08
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Highly Competitive / Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - USAA in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Overall, great people.

    Cons

    Overworked and lowest paid based on current market | claim that OT is offered to help you will overwhelming workload | not enough employees or appropriate processes in place to properly and effective handle claim work load

    USAA2019-06-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic company to work for with awesome benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    USAA's values aren't just for members, they are for employees too! Work/life balance is great. Benefits are also top notch (8% 401k match, affordable healthcare, etc).

    Cons

    Opinions on matters can change from team to team. I suppose the same can be said of any large company.

    USAA2019-06-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great traditional company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer & Integrator III in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some amazing - talented people, working on utilizing new technology, offices are tailored for millennial appeal with ping-pong tables/pool, some flexibility to work from home, benefits are great, lots of PTO

    Cons

    Limited offices across the US, mainly in San Antonio, Tx. Company works slowly to put you in roles that you want or have a strong point in. Older technology and slowly transferring into new tech. Full-time remote positions are hard to come by. Very corporate

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-06-14
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Deteriorating Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Flexible on work hours and location. Focus on customers.

    Cons

    Where did my company go? Since USAA emphasized regulatory compliance, senior management has tossed any notion of respect for front line managers/directors. Deadlines are given without regard to any input on the actual scope of the work. A senior exec (EVP) was quoted as saying that "within a year, all of this compliance work will be behind us". In reality, we're on a 3-5 year journey best case. Our leaders are making promises to regulators that are not logistically possible. The result is that the front line compliance folks we worked so hard to recruit will be yelled at and shamed to meet those made up goals. This will end badly.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-06-03
Found 556 reviews
</>Embed