USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center Reviews | Glassdoor

USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center

      Pros

      Supportive team & learned a lot, great learning experience as a student

      Cons

      Some departments don't have structured internships, so workload may be dependent on your advisor

      USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center2017-10-18
    • "Worst place I have ever worked"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center full-time

      Pros

      Work life balance. Generous winter recession break.

      Cons

      Nobody cares, not even management cares.

      Advice to Management

      They kept their job for so long by doing bare minimum. Informatics team need more supervision.

      USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center2018-11-14
    • "Great and dedicated staff! Phenomenal research being done!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center

        Pros

        Dedicated passionate teams. Lots of new and innovative clinical research trials being done! Great cafeteria.

        Cons

        Very quiet and sad environment sometimes

        Advice to Management

        Have more focus on and conversation with your junior staff

        USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center2018-02-06
      • "Research associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Laid back working environment

        Cons

        PIs exploit mostly international candidates

        Advice to Management

        I think the management need to critically evaluate and audit hired manpower and consider then placing them in more suitable role rather than leaving it to the PIs to exploit young scientists.

        USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center2017-08-04
      • "Research Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center full-time

        Pros

        Research wise is okay but not great

        Cons

        Low payment, few choices after graduation

        USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center2017-03-31
      • ":)"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Lab Technician 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center

        Pros

        Decent pay, USC has amazing benefits, most employees were very friendly, equipment up to date staff given proper tools needed

        Cons

        A bit unorganized, stressful atmosphere, employees schedules a bit scattered

        USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center2016-07-09
      • "Research Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Research Intern in Monterey Park, CA
          Recommends

          I worked at USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center for more than a year

          Pros

          Great professor, clean and professional environment, affordable cafeteria, lots of autonomy

          Cons

          Professors are busy with their own research too, that's why I had lots of autonomy!

          USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center2016-02-02
        • "Lab Assistant"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Negative Outlook

          I worked at USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center full-time

          Pros

          Theres a shuttle from the train station if you decide to take the train to work

          Cons

          Not a safe neighborhood to walk around alone at night

          USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center2016-01-25
        • "overall not that bad"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center

            Pros

            good and interesting work sometimes.. free coffee

            Cons

            very dull work at times for students

            Advice to Management

            give nice projects to students

            USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center2015-07-07
          Found 9 reviews