USG "housing market" Reviews | Glassdoor

USG Employee Reviews about "housing market"

Updated 14 de Dec 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
USG CEO Christopher Griffin
Christopher Griffin
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "housing market"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent people to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at USG full-time

    Pros

    Safety was in the forefront of everybody's mind in the company. A focus on the employee was evident daily.

    Cons

    Cyclical business dependent largely on the housing market.

    USG2018-12-14
  2. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good pay, nice entry level opportunities. The company prides itself on treatment of employees, and being fair and consistent. Kudos to a great company.

    Cons

    Too frequent downsizing at all locations. Layoffs since 2008 when housing market crashed. It's a good ride if it lasts.

    Continue reading
    USG2015-11-04
  3. "Stuck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at USG

    Pros

    Outststanding people. Great work-life balance. Perfect location & office environment. Highest level of integrity.

    Cons

    Waiting for housing market rebound. Career and comp on hold. People are pension locked and just waiting for retirement.

    Continue reading
    USG2011-06-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good Benefits, Great People, Interesting Work...BUT Low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Information Technology in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USG

    Pros

    Many employees have been there a long, long time. Everyone is very friendly with each other. Interesting work for minimal amount of employees left. Company is pro-lateral moves in career Work/Life balance Location of HQ

    Cons

    Pay Company depends on housing market Not many opportunities to advance Many layoffs Did I mention, pay!!

    Continue reading
    USG2011-01-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "troubled times breed dissension. it's not the loyalty-oriented place it used to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Chicago, IL
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USG

    Pros

    environmental responsibility integrity of employees interesting manufacturing processes in more robust business environment, good training opps and good opps for advancement. education reimbursement for college degrees great benefits package, including defined-benefit pension plan good severance package for management; ok package for emps HQ location downtown Chicago right by Union Station

    Cons

    housing industry is in the tank; future looks bleak; recently laid off 40% of salaried workforce and closed a number of manufacturing facilities. pretense of diversity commitment company has been in bankruptcy twice since 1990 troubled times breed dissension. it's not the loyalty-oriented place it used to be. heavily cyclical business really hurting with current housing market; not getting better any time soon

    Continue reading
    USG2009-01-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great US manufacturing company,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USG

    Pros

    I was satisfied with USG because the culture was laid back and the potential to move from one functional area to another was great from a development stand point. I always felt like I was treated fairly and management runs a company you can be proud of.

    Cons

    The downside to working for USG was that it's business is getting hammered by the weak housing market. Management made the right moves to reduce costs in the new environment, but that led to reduced career opportunities for up and comers. I decided to leave instead of waiting in the doldrums.

    Continue reading
    USG2008-10-07
  7. "Excellent, lots to learn each day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USG

    Pros

    great benefits, very good compensation, location ( right in front of union station), nice office building, sponsored tuition for higher level education. can move to different jobs within company, many opportunities to explore growth and interests.

    Cons

    company's success is tied to the housing market. this can be hard for promotions when housing market is in a rut, as is the current situation.

    Continue reading
    USG2011-01-05
Found 7 reviews
</>Embed