USG "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

USG Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
USG CEO Christopher Griffin
Christopher Griffin
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator 7 in Gypsum, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall they are a great place to work. They are one of the few companies that offer 401k and pension plan for their employees. .50 cent company match on the 401k. Starting pay at the gypsum plant is over 18$ now

    Cons

    Work/life balance is non existentent. Look foward to working 8 or 9 day in a row before you get one off. Management overall is good, but they definitely overlook the policy and rules if it means more production, even though they are a safety first company. Non-union which can be a pro and con

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people. Our plant was short handed atleast 20 people between all the departments . This would help the work/life balance and give you a happier work force. Knauf and Chris griffen might fix this they have only be in charge for a couple of months

    USG2019-08-03
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    Management takes short cuts when it. Comes to safety. Equipment is never working properly and maintenance is unable to fix anything. Management cant make a schedule to save their lives. They want. They claim work life balance. But that is a flat out lie.

    Advice to Management

    Get it together. Management is way too top heavy.

    USG2019-08-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A lot of fake reviews."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It used to be a great place to work. Pay is still good.

    Cons

    Did anybody notice 85% of reviews with 5 star ratings are listed as "current employee"? That is obviously an attempt to manipulate ratings. Virtually all other "Great Reviews" are from people listed as management... As an operator I can say this place is thriving for poor management. No work/life balance. Will only change as a reaction to issues rather than proactively making things better. By the time they react..., it's always too late to make a significant difference.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Production is what brings in the money to sustain you... Stop putting production staff at the bottom of the priority list.

    USG2019-04-06
  4. "Work/life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Galena Park, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is a good thing about USG

    Cons

    Nothing that I can mention

    USG2019-02-21
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Very Disappointing - Look Elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USG for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance. Downtown location. Generally decent people.

    Cons

    Cyclical industry. Bonuses are poor. Very administrative for no reason and no value. Frustrating environment. Not the best leadership or management in certain departments. Arrogance and the blame game occurs at times. Poor teamwork and collaboration. Very reactive to industry rather than proactive. Good at explaining why targets are missed rather than aggressively putting plans to address. Your job duties... will be 1-2 levels below your experience. A bit of a mess to be honest.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hijacking the organization’s time, money, and resources on massive programs that are expensive and are not delivering value. Start focusing on delivering business results.

    USG2018-12-14
  6. "Strategic Sourcing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at USG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, GREAT work/life balance, good team

    Cons

    Savings goals can be unrealistic

    USG2018-05-03
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USG full-time

    Pros

    Work in IT with sharp, hard working individuals. Very supportive environment with management. Company has good vision with its new CEO. Good work-life balance. The corporate location is fantastic for commuters taking the train - conveniently located by OTC & Union stations.

    Cons

    Every job is going to have downsides, nothing really stands out with USG to warrant avoiding working here. My only concern is how tightly it is tied to the housing industry, so, you're riding the highs and lows of the industry.

    Advice to Management

    None - Keep up the good work.

    USG2017-12-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Say one thing mean another bosses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in East Chicago, IN
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees always help one another, safe, won't fire you for messing up product. Good place to stay if you wanted a long career

    Cons

    Weekly swing shift, management will preach safety when everyone is around but always force production over safety, work life balance is nonexistent, management does not care about employees only dry wall

    Advice to Management

    Stop the swing shift. Listen to your employees. And stop preaching safety if all you care about is productivity, we all can see through your lies

    USG2017-05-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers throughout the company. Many have been there for 20 years or more. Each one always had something to contribute. They always try to make you feel like you're part of a team. My time with the company will always be remembered as a positive point in my career.

    Cons

    Some of the managers can be stuck in their ways and not be open to new methods. A few of these managers also state the importance of work/life balance but do very little to follow through. The salary is also not necessarily the highest for certain positions.

    Advice to Management

    Actively practice what you preach when it comes to work/life balance. There are many in the company willing to put the extra hours in their work from time to time but burnout quickly when that sacrifice becomes the expected norm. You have a lot of great people working there and they should be treated as such.

    USG2017-04-28
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Not the place I loved....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at USG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employees are dedicated and push boundaries - great culture of work/life balance and family-first thinking.

    Cons

    The management team is completely disconnected with all sorts of weird power plays happening on the 18th floor which unfortunately translates to annual lay-offs, the loss of some amazing and smart people and budget cuts that make it nearly impossible to maintain a competitive advantage. Employees are paranoid to spend money or say the wrong thing for fear of their job/reputation. Consistently cutting marketing and... sales spending which makes it harder and harder to compete when frankly our competition is investing. Outdated and legacy technology platforms that are hobbled together makes it hard to do the most basic jobs - like customer service - I think we are still on green screens! We launch new products, build momentum and then don't invest in the plants so we can't manufacture the product. Definitely don't put the customer first.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to stop worrying about their own titles and salaries and start thinking about what made this company so great in the first place. The CEO has surrounded himself with only those who say "yes sir". I wouldn't be surprised if the company is sold or acquired due to poor top of house management.

    USG2016-05-03
Found 32 reviews
</>Embed