USGA Reviews | Glassdoor

USGA Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
James F. Vernon
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Liaison II in Far Hills, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USGA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Laid back environment, great benefits package, plenty of days off

    Cons

    Tough to get promoted - people rarely leave

    USGA2019-03-20
  2. "USGA, a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - U S Open Merchandise in Far Hills, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USGA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Workplace environment, mission-driven, organizational camaraderie, 403(b) plan, 401(a) plan, extracurricular events, volunteer opportunities, blood drives, Play 9 events, Drive, Chip and Putt events, and a new building to come in 2018!

    Cons

    Significantly greater cost of living in the immediate area of New Jersey, high state taxes in NJ, and high real estate taxes in NJ.

    Advice to Management

    God Bless!

    USGA2017-02-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "US Open Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USGA

    Pros

    They taught me a lot in the duration of my internship. They handled most of the furious customers and any major problems that arose. They paid for all of my Ralph Lauren clothing and I worked closely with my supervisors. They gave us some free time at the end to go observe the US Open and feel part of the bigger picture.

    Cons

    Honestly nothing, the interview process was lengthy but it was worth it.

    USGA2016-11-03
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in York, PA

    I worked at USGA for less than a year

    Pros

    Was an intern over the summer of 2014 and enjoyed my time at the USGA thoroughly. They really treated me like I was part of the full-time staff and take care of you with compensation and attire. Highly recommend!

    Cons

    Con was it is the headquarters are located in Far Hills, NJ which isn't close to many places to live.

    USGA2016-05-09
  5. "Short Term Operations intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at USGA

    Pros

    there were many great pros but ultimately this place has a Great team environment great pay fun job to do during summer.

    Cons

    its tough to get a full long term position with the USGA. can take years and internships on internships. that's okay thought because you can understand a lot of the company

    Advice to Management

    they need to listen to their employees more. also they can push workers too much sometimes. but tis all very fun.

    USGA2016-04-15
  6. "A lot of fun! Awesome Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Athens, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USGA for more than a year

    Pros

    Great memories and an awesome look into what goes into a U.S. Open. Beneath the ropes access during the tournament. Outside all day. Fun group of interns all in college.

    Cons

    Work 7 days a week most weeks and long hours but it's worth it to get the overtime money at pay and a half

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring cool interns

    USGA2016-01-26
  7. "hope to be back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at USGA

      Pros

      Friendly staff, flexible hours. Great work environment, and new upgrades to the building

      Cons

      Tucked away in a quiet suburb

      Advice to Management

      None, keep up the excellent work. Hope to return soon.

      USGA2015-12-04
    • "Great smaller sized company with international brand."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Far Hills, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at USGA full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent benefits, lots of PTO, nice people, fun scheduled golf activities. There is a putting green and museum on campus! Being smaller departments, I can personally have impact here. If you talk at all in meetings or get involved in any activities, people pretty much know who you are and you'll know everyone else here, creating a social accountability.

      Cons

      Because of the great benefits over the years, many people just don't leave. Many are stale in their skills and have no incentive to learn new things or change their ways. More and more younger people are being hired and this is changing, however.

      Advice to Management

      Lots of talk happens on making changes (which is good). Empower those at the bottom and middle to actually make these changes, because only talk happens at the top.

      USGA2015-08-27
    • "Nice company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Far Hills, NJ

      I worked at USGA for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Nice company to work for, people are genuine/respectful, helpful. Very smart individuals, Sr. Leadership Team has great respect for game of golf and looks to improve game and keep within the values and history of game. Middle management is very broad and has a strong value and grasp of what need to be done and has strong values for their team.

      Cons

      no cons to share at this time

      USGA2015-08-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Change"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at USGA

      Pros

      Mission driven. Great benefits. Super committed employees. Nice people. Nice workspace and activities. Association is changing because it really needs to. Newer people like me get it. Others have a harder time.

      Cons

      There is more change you can see coming. This is a traditional firm that is challenging people to do things differently. Not always successful but trying.

      Advice to Management

      Keep everyone informed and do not lose sight of your people and our efforts. There is so much good about the organization. Don’t lose touch with that.

      USGA2019-02-09
    Found 27 reviews