USGA Reviews | Glassdoor

USGA Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
James F. Vernon
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Not a great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Far Hills, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USGA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Talented Employees, great work functions, nice environment

    Cons

    Terrible Leadership, no work/life balance, mediocre benefits The leadership of the USGA are not an asset to this organization. Leadership takes on more than resources or budgetary means allows. I have been with this company for over a decade and seen amazing things this organization has accomplished. In the last 3-4 years I feel like our mission is scattered, the company is disorganized and honestly disastrous. Many...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate your leadership team.

    USGA2019-05-21
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at USGA

      Pros

      Multiple projects, attend events, play golf

      Cons

      Corporate type. You're out when project is over.

      USGA2019-04-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Support Liaison II in Far Hills, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at USGA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Laid back environment, great benefits package, plenty of days off

      Cons

      Tough to get promoted - people rarely leave

      USGA2019-03-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Change"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at USGA

      Pros

      Mission driven. Great benefits. Super committed employees. Nice people. Nice workspace and activities. Association is changing because it really needs to. Newer people like me get it. Others have a harder time.

      Cons

      There is more change you can see coming. This is a traditional firm that is challenging people to do things differently. Not always successful but trying.

      Advice to Management

      Keep everyone informed and do not lose sight of your people and our efforts. There is so much good about the organization. Don’t lose touch with that.

      USGA2019-02-09
    • "Doesn't live up to reputation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at USGA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Benefits - health, retirement match, vacation time/comp days - very generous The vacation time/comp days cannot be matched.

      Cons

      It pains me to write how disappointing working at the USGA has become. Over time, layers have continued to be added, distancing the CEO from the employees. It is a top heavy organization with many inexperienced people in leadership roles. There is no employee development available. Promotions and pay raises are rare/not significant. There have been employees stuck in the same position for years. Also, company is very...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      The reason this company is successful is because of the employees that work hard and are passionate about the game and the USGA's mission. Culture needs to change and employees need to be developed. On the bright side, should only be up from here.

      USGA2019-02-07
    • "Great overall experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at USGA for less than a year

      Pros

      Went to the US Open for free, met a lot of the friendly workers there, and overall great experience

      Cons

      Communication between departments could be better

      USGA2019-01-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "This WAS a great organization. A lot has changed."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at USGA

      Pros

      Fun activities for employees. Great benefits. Pay was decent. If you are a golf lover like me, you will enjoy many aspects of this organization.

      Cons

      Leadership has changed drastically in this company. Years ago this was an amazing place to work but in the last 5 years new leadership took over and real talent started to get cut. To say this organization is demanding of your time is an understatement. Leadership is impossible to please and their expectations have no limit. This organization is behind on innovation and technology. If you are looking for a company where...

      Show More
      USGA2018-10-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Meetings, meetings , meetings"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at USGA full-time

      Pros

      Amenities in new building are great! People are generally nice and passionate about what they do.

      Cons

      Too many meetings. Need more flexibility

      Advice to Management

      Change the meeting culture. More flexibility

      USGA2018-07-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Far Hills, NJ
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at USGA full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Excellent retirement and health benefits; ample employee perks

      Cons

      Isolated office location; inexperienced management; dissociated leadership; severely limited potential for advancement

      USGA2017-03-22
    • "USGA, a great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - U S Open Merchandise in Far Hills, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at USGA full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Workplace environment, mission-driven, organizational camaraderie, 403(b) plan, 401(a) plan, extracurricular events, volunteer opportunities, blood drives, Play 9 events, Drive, Chip and Putt events, and a new building to come in 2018!

      Cons

      Significantly greater cost of living in the immediate area of New Jersey, high state taxes in NJ, and high real estate taxes in NJ.

      Advice to Management

      God Bless!

      USGA2017-02-22
    Found 27 reviews