UTHealth Reviews | Glassdoor

UTHealth Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 375 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
UTHealth CEO Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, M.D.
Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, M.D.
136 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay for the market in comparison to other state agencies(in 15 reviews)

  • "High stress, especially during grant application cycles(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Assistant Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UTHealth

    Pros

    Good benefits, great salary, professional development stipend

    Cons

    Heavy teaching load, administrative support spread thin

    UTHealth2019-07-08
  2. "Work Satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Scientist/Instructor in Houston, TX

    I have been working at UTHealth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work satisfaction and availability of resources , programs for the development of graduate students and postdoctoral opportunities.

    Cons

    No Cons as such! I enjoy working here.

    UTHealth2019-08-12
  3. "Rated as a Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Applications Specialist III in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UTHealth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A very stable work environment with a lot of great employees

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    provide more opportunities for growth

    UTHealth2019-08-13
  4. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director in San Antonio, TX

    I have been working at UTHealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growth minded organization looking to improve market share and improve lives in the San Antonio area

    Cons

    Developing organization sometimes struggles with an accurate understanding of its perception in the community. Lack of promotional opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Let your managers and directors do their job without the multitude of feel good projects given to us

    UTHealth2019-08-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I have been working with UTHealth full-time for 4 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Clinical Applications Support Analyst 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UTHealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large system with the flexibility to move and grow within. Great Benefits Welcoming staff and management that makes it a familial culture.

    Cons

    As a state institution, it is tough for them to offer competitive salaries. At times processes and procedures become outdated & management is slow to react.

    Advice to Management

    Become more flexible in terms of office environment/perks. They have done a poor job of adopting to the needs of a younger workforce.

    UTHealth2019-07-29
  6. "Previous Psych Tech- loved the patients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Psychiatric Technician in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UTHealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    medical/dental benefits relatively relaxed working environment

    Cons

    patients can test your nerves sometimes a bit disorganized on the floor

    Advice to Management

    communicate better with employees

    UTHealth2019-07-24
  7. "Good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at UTHealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, a lot of vacation days if you stay long enough.

    Cons

    The organization is run very conservatively and there is very little innovation.

    UTHealth2019-07-15
  8. "Had a great internship experience and worked with a kind and helpful staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Intern in Brownsville, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UTHealth for less than a year

    Pros

    I had the pleasure of working with a kind and helpful mentor, and an even kinder staff. Everyone is so welcoming I felt a part of something good immediately.

    Cons

    The weather in Brownsville over the summer can be quite hot, only con I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    UTHealth2019-06-26
  9. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Seasonal Hire 

    I have been working at UTHealth part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Very understanding manager and coworkers.

    Cons

    Low Salary and no benefits for seasonal hires or casuals.

    UTHealth2019-06-24
  10. "A good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Applications Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UTHealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's a good environment.

    Cons

    Hard to move up within departments. No one leaves. Raises tied to state budget

    UTHealth2019-07-08
Found 375 reviews