UW Medicine Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

UW Medicine Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
UW Medicine CEO Paul G. Ramsey
Paul G. Ramsey
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits; good work life balance(in 37 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, good salary range, great people to work with, great job security(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, no opportunity for promotion(in 9 reviews)

  • "There is a lot of political drama between upper management(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Relations Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UW Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Comparably manageable schedule, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    very little flexibility in schedule, very little room for upward mobility

    UW Medicine2020-01-30
  2. "Lacks management skills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UW Medicine for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The non-profee staff who want to make the company/department great.

    Cons

    No clear communication from management staff. You get one thing from one person and another thing from someone else. And they hire unexpirianced managers for departments that truly need highly qualified managers just hoping they can cut it.

    Continue reading
    UW Medicine2020-02-15
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conflcits Atty in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UW Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great benefits; good work life balance

    Cons

    not much in growth; no bonus pay structure

    UW Medicine2020-01-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Steady, but not a challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UW Medicine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good work/life balance. Opportunities for lateral movement. Easy job to be good at because so many others in this position under-perform.

    Cons

    Not a challenge, so I get bored and I feel like my talent isn't be utilized well. Hard to make changes or improve processes due to bureaucracy and red tape. The politics of advancing in this organization is pretty sad. They tend to attract and keep mediocrity.

    Continue reading
    UW Medicine2019-12-10
  5. "UW Medicine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ccr1 

    I have been working at UW Medicine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits package. Union. Good pay

    Cons

    Constant change of procedure, micromanagement

    UW Medicine2019-12-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UW Medicine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits relative to other companies is very good. Especially older workers who can get additional 401K match, 457 deferred comp.

    Cons

    Dysfunctional management Directionless staff with very low morale

    Continue reading
    UW Medicine2020-01-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Leadership sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Designer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UW Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not too many reasons to come here.

    Cons

    Lots. Too many to list. IT leadership needs a lot of work!

    Continue reading
    UW Medicine2020-01-02
  8. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UW Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great state retirement plan, good medical benefits with blue cross

    Cons

    Inefficient system, broken elevators in hospitals, and no desire to improve to make the hospital run more efficiently. The response always is, “no it can’t be done”

    Continue reading
    UW Medicine2019-12-05
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at UW Medicine part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work as an entry position

    Cons

    I do not find the downside yet

    UW Medicine2019-11-19
  10. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Patient Service Representative 

    I have been working at UW Medicine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great health benefits and friendly

    Cons

    inconsistency with staff leading to more work

    UW Medicine2019-11-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 293 reviews