Uber Operations Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Operations Manager

Uber Operations Manager Reviews

Updated 6 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 211 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi
Dara Khosrowshahi
89 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Some of the smartest people that you will ever work with - Interesting problems to solve every day, many of which the world has never solved before - Incredible benefits

    Cons

    - Some structural and organizational changes due to the ever-changing nature of the business. I'm sure that this will calm down a bit as the company matures as a public company.

    Uber2019-08-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Love Working at Uber"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I just started at Uber 3 months ago and i love my job and i see so many people working with single goal "Be the best of yourself"

    Cons

    I am very new here i dont have any.

    Advice to Management

    I love all hands meetings which brings so much transparency

    Uber2019-08-06
  3. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Operations Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary and compensation, very generous perks (amazing maternity/paternity leave, health benefits, opportunities to invest in your career). Meaningful work that touches millions of people's lives every day.

    Cons

    Hours/amount of work can sometimes be overwhelming. Nothing crazy, but just slightly more than preferred, at times.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employees!

    Uber2019-07-22
  4. "Has a lot to offer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a good place to work if you like the feel of a startup but want the benefits of a big company. A few specific things you get from this job: -- ability to work with a lot of data and hone data skills (i.e. excel analysis and SQL, among others) -- ability to carve your own career path (it's normal for people to move teams and/or offices if you want) -- ability to make a difference (a change you make could... result in +$1m revenue increase for the company within a week) -- ownership over your role (ability to make decisions and implement them yourself quickly)

    Show More

    Cons

    A big portion of the comp package is equity, so depending on how you view that it could be seen as a negative.

    Uber2019-06-25
  5. "Great benefits, terrible change management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are fantastic (free lunches, unlimited PTO, monthly Uber credits). You can move up and get opportunity as a young person, which I found wasn’t as true at Amazon (age-ist). It’s relatively easy to move internationally.

    Cons

    Uber is terrible at change management, and can’t figure out how it wants to structure the company. I’ve been through 6+ reorgs in the 1.5 years at the company. In two of these reorgs it was counter goals to the previous one (hire more decentralized offices > centralize in 2 cities, etc.). If Uber wants to be treated like an established company post-IPO, it’s leadership team needs to step it up and learn the... basics of change management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop the constant reorgs so people can get some work done. Realize that many teams work remotely / are always on the road, and that forcing people to sit in the same office doesn’t mean they’ll actually be next to each other.

    Uber2019-06-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Life Changing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced quick results-type of work. Uber is a special place where “best ideas win” and you are able to make changes/innovate and see results quickly. Work-life balance was tough in the early days (necessary) and got to a very comfortable state later on. The ppl they surround you with at Uber are legends. Truly some of the smartest ppl I’ve ever had the pleasure being around. Uber changed my life and I highly... recommend it as a place to work. From TK (the man!) to Dara....this place is still a rocketship taking off.

    Show More

    Cons

    Once Uber got big (ie: 10k+ employees), they really have a hard time tracking what ppl do and should be “cutting the fat” of ppl with no impact a lot sooner. Early employees got paid poorly for the amount of work it took to grow the company (can’t speak to what employees make now), but who cares, it was all worth it for the stock!

    Advice to Management

    Hire slow and fire fast. No use keeping ppl who don’t bleed the mission arounf.

    Uber2019-05-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the benefits + culture of the team

    Cons

    Fast paced, constantly on the move

    Uber2019-04-29
  8. "It's a great challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations and Logistics Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging work that builds your skillset for what the future will require

    Cons

    Realtime responsibilities lead to less personal time

    Uber2019-04-20
  9. "Great place to solve global problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - global projects - complex problems to solve - relevance with society - talented people - better work/life balance

    Cons

    - culture has changed from growth at all costs to very corporate - not as innovative and fast (things move slow now) - most of the OGs are gone - senior leadership in Ops and Product was not that strong - people team needs to improve - needs better comp

    Uber2019-02-28
  10. "Uber really underpaies operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Regional Operations Manager 

    I have been working at Uber full-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment and plenty of personal growth opportunities

    Cons

    The career path for ops manager is very limited

    Uber2019-02-05
Found 211 reviews