Uber Reviews in San Francisco, CA | Glassdoor

Uber San Francisco Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 568 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi
Dara Khosrowshahi
154 Ratings
  1. "Awesome culture and strong engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer II in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome culture, excellent WLB, strong engineering with lots of interesting issues to solve for our users and for our internal teams.

    Cons

    Rest-and-vest behavior for lots of senior employees, process for performance/promotion very inefficient, lots of inexperienced managers.

    Uber2019-07-15
  2. "Finally! A company I feel I'm a great match for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the core pillars the Executive Leadership Team focuses on is Employee Retention. I've never experienced that before. They spend a lot of effort working on ways to keep employees, happy, engaged, and recognized.

    Cons

    Some groups are not part of the core Rideshare teams and are, as such, semi-isolated by communications and initiatives. But, to be fair, it's a huge, global company.

    Uber2019-07-10
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really great community of people here at Uber. Everyone is very smart, thoughtful, and accepting here which is amazing. From day one your voice is heard, and your opinion is taken into consideration. The work life balance is amazing. Management here truly understands that there is a life outside work - And they encourage you to live it. The unlimited paid time off is actually used - No one ever gives you a hard time for...

    Show More

    Cons

    For this role as a recruiter - It's a hard job. Just trying to help people to understand that this is a great place to work can be a challenge. Also, the technical bar expected for hiring of engineers is high.

    Uber2019-07-09
  4. "Best job I have ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Tech II in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits, good energy, engaging work, and amazing people.

    Cons

    It's in San Francisco. Finding a place to stay in the city that is affordable is a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Weeknight housing!!!

    Uber2019-07-08
  5. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SWE Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber

    Pros

    As an intern, I feel that I'm doing interesting work with the support of amazing colleagues.

    Cons

    Some of the offices are a little overcrowded.

    Uber2019-06-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company culture, incredibly fast paced environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy & Planning in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1) Great company culture - people want to do the right thing 2) Super smart people - haven't yet someone I wasn't impressed by 3) Lots of growth opportunities - the business is growing, so you will too! 4) Interesting problems to solve - no one else is doing this work (or very few are)

    Cons

    1) Compensation is WAY below market - you are here because you love working here, surely not for the money 2) Start-up hangover - people who have been here for a while have risen to the top; they might not have the right skills or experience 3) Need to figure out HR basics (goal setting, performance assessment, etc.)

    Advice to Management

    Bring compensation up to par with market!

    Uber2019-06-18
  7. "Cool work, workplace, colleague and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Awesome work and technology 2. Free food and lots of snacks 3. At par compensation 4. Awesome benefits 5. Awesome leadership team. 6. Great vision 7. Employee discount on Uber and UberEats

    Cons

    Company doesn't match 401k, hope some day company will look into it.

    Advice to Management

    Management is taking great effort to transform company's pubic image. I find it great once in life time company. Just keep making it better and don't ruin it. It can truly transform the future of how people get around.

    Uber2019-06-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Clear market leader in a space with huge upside, competitors will struggle to compete in the long-term - "The power of the platform" is real. Uber's brand and technology allow us to rapidly expand into new markets and onboard customers/vendors - Weekly all-hands meetings to announce major events, business updates, and a Q&A with top-voted questions answered by top execs. I appreciate the transparency. - The...

    Show More

    Cons

    - This is a tough market. Will Uber continue to execute toward a path to profitability?

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent, reward your employees for their hard work, and make the business work

    Uber2019-06-12
  9. "Summer intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting Projects Fast Paced Really smart colleagues

    Cons

    Huge org without a lot of structure.

    Uber2019-06-06
  10. "Busy, but good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Global Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Breadth of projects spanning analytics, program management, product team interactions, and global team/travel

    Cons

    Easy to get too busy and to stay at the office too long

    Advice to Management

    Match 401k. Betting on uber stock for retirement is kind of risky

    Uber2019-06-04
Found 568 reviews