Uber Reviews in Seattle, WA | Glassdoor

Uber Seattle Reviews

Updated Apr 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi
Dara Khosrowshahi
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience So Far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Uber is fast-paced and gives you the opportunity to take on responsibility quickly as you build a cool product. The Seattle office has a great work culture where it feels like a startup but you actually get to work normal hours. I'm typically in the office from 8:30a-5:00p, and I tend not to work in the evenings or on the weekends. My colleagues are bright, friendly, and supportive, and the office's site managers do a stellar job of making this a fun environment to work in. There are several employee-led groups focused on anything from diversity to beer-tasting. Lunch, snacks, and drinks are free, and the office is in a beautiful location overlooking Elliot Bay. The company's culture seems to have undergone a heavy overhaul, and my concerns about working in a difficult or toxic environment (based on recent press) have thankfully been completely put at ease. I've been impressed with Dara's leadership and am very optimistic about the future of the company.

    Cons

    There is a decent amount of technical debt due to moving fast, so data and tooling can hamstring projects and lead to hacky solutions. I think Uber is in a transitional state of figuring out to how to operate at scale with excellence, so I don't think this is a permanent problem. The company is changing rapidly so it can feel a bit like getting whiplash as priorities shift from week-to-week, but as long as you can roll with the punches you'll do well.

    Continue reading
    Uber2019-05-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the benefits + culture of the team

    Cons

    Fast paced, constantly on the move

    Uber2019-04-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Ignore the old reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment Interesting, large scale work Lots of trust to get stuff done

    Cons

    Not much, maybe better food?

    Continue reading
    Uber2019-04-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Changing the world. * Co-workers are super smart -- and super friendly/helpful/supportive. * Interesting work. * Good work/life balance. * Perks (like free lunch) * Constant learning * Extremely competitive compensation * "Unlimited" PTO * Nice offices. * Potential upside of equity

    Cons

    * Much less time actual coding than at some jobs. * Due to consequences of bugs getting out into the wild, very slow development process. * Potential downside of equity

    Continue reading
    Uber2019-04-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid people, lean company, very little internal politics and beurocracy, Open source friendly, good compensation, great management, everyone optimistic about the future of the company

    Cons

    workload might be more than other older tech companies

    Uber2019-02-26
  6. Helpful (6)

    "High impact product work with strong, healthy culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High impact, work at global scale in fast-moving environment. Overall very talented colleagues with inclusive, collegial culture – way more than expected and certainly very different from reputation acquired in 2017. Generally a fair amount of autonomy available even amidst highly-coordinated cross-functional efforts.

    Cons

    Uber is a large company that hasn't yet figured out some of its processes. There is a surprising amount of hierarchy and a little disorganization (this isn't more, however, than at other companies, regardless of maturity). In the last three months there has continued to be some churn at executive leadership team level and, with new hires, the future is a bit unknown

    Uber2018-09-18
  7. "Uber Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Excellent benefits -Brilliant coworkers -Pleasant work environment -Meritocratic management styles

    Cons

    -Culture promotes cutthroat individualism -You have to be prepared to defend your company when you tell people who you work for. -Constantly have to explain that you don't drive.

    Uber2018-09-24
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Don't Be An Expert, Seriously"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Expert in Tukwila, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are amazing people, the partners are what makes this job, the benefits are seriously the best I have ever seen.

    Cons

    Unprofessionalism, lack of experience, HR department is in various locations and not on site, budget issues, a bunch of things you'll come across you should not have come across in a entry level position.

    Continue reading
    Uber2018-07-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Strong team * Innovative environment * Challenging tasks * Great culture

    Cons

    * Not public yet * No onsite chefs :)

    Uber2017-12-08

    Uber Response

    January 3, 2018Careers Brand Team

    Thanks for the review and keep up the great work in Seattle!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Learning a lot everyday as an Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work environment is great - Engineers are really passionate about what they build

    Cons

    - Struggling to hire so teams slightly understaffed due to external reputation but that is starting to change

    Uber2017-10-17

    Uber Response

    October 30, 2017Careers Brand Team

    Awesome to hear you're learning a lot and enjoying your time at Uber. Thanks for the review and all your hard work in Seattle.

    Continue reading
Found 31 reviews