Uber Reviews in Seattle, WA | Glassdoor

Uber Seattle Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
85%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi
Dara Khosrowshahi
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Changing the world. * Co-workers are super smart -- and super friendly/helpful/supportive. * Interesting work. * Good work/life balance. * Perks (like free lunch) * Constant learning * Extremely competitive compensation * "Unlimited" PTO * Nice offices. * Potential upside of equity

    Cons

    * Much less time actual coding than at some jobs. * Due to consequences of bugs getting out into the wild, very slow development process. * Potential downside of equity

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Uber2019-04-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid people, lean company, very little internal politics and beurocracy, Open source friendly, good compensation, great management, everyone optimistic about the future of the company

    Cons

    workload might be more than other older tech companies

    Uber2019-02-26
  3. Helpful (6)

    "High impact product work with strong, healthy culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High impact, work at global scale in fast-moving environment. Overall very talented colleagues with inclusive, collegial culture – way more than expected and certainly very different from reputation acquired in 2017. Generally a fair amount of autonomy available even amidst highly-coordinated cross-functional efforts.

    Cons

    Uber is a large company that hasn't yet figured out some of its processes. There is a surprising amount of hierarchy and a little disorganization (this isn't more, however, than at other companies, regardless of maturity). In the last three months there has continued to be some churn at executive leadership team level and, with new hires, the future is a bit unknown

    Uber2018-09-18
  4. "Uber Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Excellent benefits -Brilliant coworkers -Pleasant work environment -Meritocratic management styles

    Cons

    -Culture promotes cutthroat individualism -You have to be prepared to defend your company when you tell people who you work for. -Constantly have to explain that you don't drive.

    Uber2018-09-24
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Don't Be An Expert, Seriously"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Expert in Tukwila, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are amazing people, the partners are what makes this job, the benefits are seriously the best I have ever seen.

    Cons

    Unprofessionalism, lack of experience, HR department is in various locations and not on site, budget issues, a bunch of things you'll come across you should not have come across in a entry level position.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring people based on their education level and start evaluating their professionalism and if they have basic customer service skills, this job has so much added stress do to management not being able to perform at a very basic level of approval it is so sad, upper management (executives) need to start caring about these Uber Hubs because as of now they do absolutely nothing and it seems as if they did not know that and Uber Hub was a thing, it's a great idea but there is no oil in the engine.

    Show More
    Uber2018-07-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Strong team * Innovative environment * Challenging tasks * Great culture

    Cons

    * Not public yet * No onsite chefs :)

    Uber2017-12-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Learning a lot everyday as an Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work environment is great - Engineers are really passionate about what they build

    Cons

    - Struggling to hire so teams slightly understaffed due to external reputation but that is starting to change

    Uber2017-10-17
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Uber is a great place for builders to build!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Ownership: I have more than 13years of experience in the tech industry and I have never been in a company which that much ownership. I can really feel that I'm the owner of the product I work on and I have lot of freedom to influence the roadmap. - Real impact on customer's life (and more broadly on society) : The impact on customers and cities are real. I can feel it on a day to day basis. - World wide company: All the feature we work on are though through an international perspective. - Super great opportunity to relocate within Uber to another city or country.

    Show More

    Cons

    - All the infrastructure layer are done internally. We don't use any of the cloud public offering like AWS or Azure. Not sure how this will scale in the future. - Lack some structure and process around scrum management and more generally around engineering and management.

    Uber2017-09-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Uber Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's been a pretty flexible company that offers great benefits. I was able to have surgery and was out of work for two months. They provided paid leave and got me back into the grove at a reasonable pace. Coworkers are great!

    Cons

    No room for growth. I've been at the same spot for a year and have tried to get involved in as many projects as possible, but they can't provide raises due to the fact that the pay is set as a standard. You could be pulling 40+ hour work weeks and still be getting paid the same as the person who is slacking off and works 20 hours. There will be people that make you feel belittled as an Expert and point blame on you for something out of your control. You do get treated like the "help" from the higher corporate levels. The turnaround for this job is REALLY high.

    Show More
    Uber2017-09-25
  10. "Unicorn - in more ways than one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Empowerment at lower levels, move fast, incredibly smart coworkers and massive personal and market growth opportunities. International exposure is valuable as well.

    Cons

    Org changes are frequent and with limited transparency. The leadership Merry go round can be exhausting. The negative PR cycles can be distracting.

    Advice to Management

    We need more seasoned leadership at the top.

    Uber2017-09-14
Found 28 reviews