Uber Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Uber Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi
Dara Khosrowshahi
42 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Scale and growth 2. Work-life balance.

    Cons

    1. The company slowed down after 2017 incident.

    Uber2019-07-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "So glad I chose Uber"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer II in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Hiring process: very fast, I got an offer in the same week as my interview and from there it was just a matter of when I want to join - Revamped culture: I don't see any signs of what I use to hear in the media about the bad culture. I see the whole company pushing the new norms and focusing on diversity and inclusion - The mission: Uber has a great potential to letterly move the world - Talent in the company:... I'm yet to see someone who is not well qualified for their role and I have learned so much from my teammates already - Transparency: the management is always eager to hear what employees have to say and respond to all the hard questions that they ask. this definitely was not the case in my previous company when it came to compensations and financials of the company - Compensation: Very competitive and I love the package structure they have with cache and stock bonuses.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Uber is doing so much and joining from a startup company was a bit overwhelming - Hearing and seeing people leave the company (which is very normal for companies at this size and age) was a little hard for a new hire such as me

    Uber2019-07-24
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Worst internal politics I have ever seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The majority of team members are very skilled, kind, and very good to work with.

    Cons

    Some of the directors and managers, I worked with, have bad relationship with superiors/subordinates, and they let any pressure or negative feedback go through to the people reporting to them, without taking any responsibility.

    Advice to Management

    Managers should take responsibility for their own decisions. When managers ask engineers, who report to them, to do some work on projects in a specific directions, managers should not come back and blame the engineers for not doing other things.

    Uber2019-08-07
  4. "Awesome culture and strong engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer II in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome culture, excellent WLB, strong engineering with lots of interesting issues to solve for our users and for our internal teams.

    Cons

    Rest-and-vest behavior for lots of senior employees, process for performance/promotion very inefficient, lots of inexperienced managers.

    Uber2019-07-15
  5. "Good leadership, hard market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good leadership turnaround from Dara. Love the company's general treatment of employees.

    Cons

    It's a low margin market and any new player with money can basically force all players to drop their margins and go all in with the price-war.

    Uber2019-07-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time

    Pros

    good coworker, learn new things, good tech, good work life balance

    Cons

    many re-org, bad management, lost, changes too much

    Uber2019-07-17
  7. "Cool work, workplace, colleague and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Awesome work and technology 2. Free food and lots of snacks 3. At par compensation 4. Awesome benefits 5. Awesome leadership team. 6. Great vision 7. Employee discount on Uber and UberEats

    Cons

    Company doesn't match 401k, hope some day company will look into it.

    Advice to Management

    Management is taking great effort to transform company's pubic image. I find it great once in life time company. Just keep making it better and don't ruin it. It can truly transform the future of how people get around.

    Uber2019-06-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "No shortage of interesting challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * I strongly believe in the company's mission. While other top tech companies are all competing to steal your time, Uber is giving you the time back by getting you/things/food from point A to point B as fast as possible. * Almost everyone I know uses our products and it feels great to know how it works internally and to be able to influence its future. * A lot of interesting challenges with plenty of opportunities... to have impact * Great team

    Show More

    Cons

    * Uber receives a lot of attention in the news. When it's not positive - it can be discouraging

    Advice to Management

    I've seen the talent bar falling lower recently. This is discouraging. I would recommend management to watch that closely and make sure the low performers are first offered help to improve, but if that doesn't work - let go. Otherwise, the strong engineers will be demotivated and will leave.

    Uber2019-05-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Ignore the old reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment Interesting, large scale work Lots of trust to get stuff done

    Cons

    Not much, maybe better food?

    Advice to Management

    None

    Uber2019-04-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Changing the world. * Co-workers are super smart -- and super friendly/helpful/supportive. * Interesting work. * Good work/life balance. * Perks (like free lunch) * Constant learning * Extremely competitive compensation * "Unlimited" PTO * Nice offices. * Potential upside of equity

    Cons

    * Much less time actual coding than at some jobs. * Due to consequences of bugs getting out into the wild, very slow development process. * Potential downside of equity

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Uber2019-04-14
Found 95 reviews