Uber Software Engineer Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi
Dara Khosrowshahi
133 Ratings
  1. "Well Organized Intern Program"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineering Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uber for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked at ATG for 2 summers and really loved the kind of projects as well as the teams I worked with

    Cons

    Documentation is lacking sometimes but state of the art for that is currently being developed

    Uber2020-05-26
  2. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time

    Pros

    Ship fast and make a large impact

    Cons

    Big company so hard to keep up with everything

    Uber2020-05-20
  3. "Overall great experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I worked at Uber full-time

    Pros

    Catered meals, free snakes all day, great people, the company works hard to do the right thing.

    Cons

    The expresso machine was broken for like a day. But they had a professional in to fix it asap

    Continue reading
    Uber2020-05-21
  4. "Like working here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work on the latest, best and complex trends in Software Engineering - Really good engineers all around - Very good mobile frameworks to help scale app to be worked on by 300+ engineers

    Cons

    Can feel a little less personal as it's a big company (I previously worked at a 200-person startup). As a result, can take a while to find where you fit in.

    Continue reading
    Uber2020-05-18
  5. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Uber for less than a year

    Pros

    - Passionate people on the Safety team - Cool projects - Excellent perks as interns (Uber credits, free food)

    Cons

    - Company a bit up in the air, dealing with financial losses, leadership changes, etc - Past behavior of former leadership questionably moral, tainting Uber's name a bit

    Uber2020-05-16
  6. "Good"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They were pretty good to me

    Cons

    the office was pretty loud

    Uber2020-05-10
  7. "Exceptional place and people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uber for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Uber is a world-class company. Benefits, innovative solutions, challenging problems, smart people, competitive compensation, travel, flexibility. All this mixed together with a genuinely friendly culture makes Uber a great place to grow and learn.

    Cons

    Many instances of a boy's club. As a female engineer, it is hard to work for long under a boss that doesn't treat you well. Thankfully, I only had one such supervisor, who was replaced after complaints.

    Continue reading
    Uber2020-05-22
  8. "Great Experience"

    4.0
    Former Intern - Intern - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Uber

    Pros

    Culture and environment is great to learn

    Cons

    Not really, I love it a lot

    Uber2020-05-20
  9. "Good"

    4.0
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Uber

    Pros

    Money Money Money Money Money

    Cons

    Less dev more doc ololo

    Uber2020-05-11
  10. "Software Engineer Intern at Uber ATG"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    inclusive environment; very collaborative; Research-driven; fast-paced.

    Cons

    the on-boarding is a little confusing and can definitely improve

    Continue reading
    Uber2020-05-12
Found 372 reviews