Ubisoft Reviews in Montreal, QC | Glassdoor

Ubisoft Montreal Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Ubisoft CEO Yves Guillemot
Yves Guillemot
130 Ratings
  1. "I love working at Ubisoft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good vibe, fun projects, enough freedom to work on what interests me most

    Cons

    Salary isn’t as high as I could get elsewhere

    Ubisoft2019-05-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Programmer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    You are just a number in the company. You are not stressed and you can have more time for yourself.

    Cons

    The pro is valid only in some teams

    Ubisoft2019-05-14
  3. "App developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - App Developer in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Ubisoft for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Easy to work with clear in their mission

    Cons

    Did not become rich, but thats OK, it was a risk

    Ubisoft2019-05-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work and learn, not for the long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Backend Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Awesome projects on AAA titles Get to face good technical challenges and gain good experience Flexible work hours On-site gym and clinic

    Cons

    Management practices/procedures end up creating silos, knowledge sharing should be encourage more. Pay is not competitive, specially if you gain seniority and experience pay lags. There’s a “French glass ceiling”, I managed to be proficient in French in my first years, reviews with flying colours, I was on lead of several initiatives in my previous team over the years, but promotions are hard to obtain since non native...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Review practices and salaries to improve employee retention over time and not get poached

    Ubisoft2019-04-25
  5. "Best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Oriented on different benefits, great working environment, travel possibilities

    Cons

    Several management layers, lower salary but compensate with all other benefits and the working envioronment

    Ubisoft2019-04-11
  6. Helpful (5)

    "One of the best place to work in Montreal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    -Work-family balance -Progressive company values -Lots of space for entrepreneurial ideas -Mobility (local-international) opportunities -Solid portfolio of brands -Offer training and education support

    Cons

    -Not always the best at recognizing effort -Internal politics -Big company, can feel anonymous for some

    Ubisoft2019-03-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    ""Cool company, poor organization""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Free games, awesome offices and super cool ambiance. Work / family balance Progressive company values Mobility (local-international) opportunities Offer training and education support

    Cons

    Salary not that high, but still good. Hard to escalate the professional ladder. Not always the best at recognizing effort. Internal politics. Crony promotions Big company, can feel anonymous for some. Many leads, product managers, and senior designers to make ambitious plans.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting always the same people. Stop the crony promotion.

    Ubisoft2019-03-16
  8. "Awesome for everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft for more than a year

    Pros

    Free games, awesome offices and super cool ambiance, people are friendly and chill

    Cons

    Salary not that high, but still good

    Ubisoft2019-03-06
  9. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Level Designer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Stable and experienced teams that constantly ship titles. Relaxed and low key atmosphere until it comes time to ship but certainly not a "100 hour a week" company.

    Cons

    Egos can get a little out of control on some of the bigger titles, but for the most part, the people in general are good to work with and down to earth.

    Advice to Management

    Trust the people to do the jobs you hired them for.

    Ubisoft2019-03-18
  10. "Ubisoft Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BI Specialist in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge technologies Good location, Friday fun

    Cons

    Nothing much to share, Ubisoft is a good company

    Ubisoft2019-03-10
Found 181 reviews