Cover image for Udemy
Logo

Udemy

Engaged Employer

Udemy

Add a Review

Udemy Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 366 of over 423 reviews
4.3
83% Recommend to a Friend
95% Approve of CEO

Found 355 of over 423 reviews

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Udemy CEO Gregg Coccari (no image)
Gregg Coccari
175 Ratings

What people are saying about Udemy

Join the conversation on

Teachers

200.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Udemy~434871
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Udemy and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Helping to improve lines through learning

    Dec 1, 2022 - Recruiting Leader in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredible Mission Blameless culture Really smart yet humble colleagues Opportunity for continuous learning and growth Interesting work in all areas

    Cons

    I can't really think of any cons

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Figuring out how to do big company things, but still a nice place to work.

    Nov 2, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Udemy has great work-life balance, talented mangement, and opportunties for growth. Generally, every day at Udemy is a good day and is a great place to work! The sales role is challenging, in a good way. If you are new to sales, you will learn a lot working here. Udemy Business operates as a true SaaS business, with all the correct systems and processes in place to ease tension between sales, marketing, and ops.

    Cons

    Majority of the sales team is currently not hitting quota. Economic climate is playing a role, but as Udemy scales it's also been a challenge to learn how to sell multiple products. It appears most decisions being made are based on large enterprise and partnerships goals, and commercial sales feels a bit left behind.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Udemy Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your experience here this past year and hope you’re learning a lot! We appreciate your thoughts about scaling our Sales team. Regarding your concerns about the quotas, we make these business decisions with all segments in mind. If you’d like more clarity on the process, we welcome you to connect with your leader to learn more. As an ongoing process, we also encourage you to connect with your manager, leaders, and People Partner for any feedback or ideas to help us continue to improve our processes. Thanks!

  3. Join the Udemy team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work for those looking to forward their careers or explore other paths

    Nov 29, 2022 - Account Development Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free learning and education on the Udemy platform, plus a $1500 yearly stipend

    Cons

    Hybrid work environment, not remote. Office 2-3 times a week - depending on the team

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Salary at Udemy

    Nov 16, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Union, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Culture and Colleagues, always learning and growing

    Cons

    Force you to come in the office if you are in an entry-level role.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The promises of tech but real

    Jul 25, 2022 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, work life balance, a culture of learning, open to feedback, great salary, great team, great overall. You know in the tech world companies always sell you on culture and perks but when you join the company you realize it's a bunch of lies to get you in the door. At Udemy it's actually bizarre how everything they promised, they actually over delivered on. I will def recommend this place to anyone looking. Plus they actually listen. They tried to do a return to office and people had comments and pushbacks and based on the feedback they listened and implemented great policies. This place is amazing and growing. Anyways, don't believe me? Go on LinkedIn and look at peoples average tenure here, it's nuts for a tech company. People in tech job hop every 9 - 13 months. here people actually stay 5-6yrs and get promoted, it's oddly refreshing

    Cons

    None related to the company or culture but to the role. Couple growing pains as a sales org (nothing crazy) and quality inbound leads are hard to come by

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent place to work

    Oct 16, 2022 - Sr Creative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work/life balanced is prioritized and pay is more than competitive with great benefits

    Cons

    Growing company means many processes are still developing and can be hit or miss. There are also way too many administrative times asks on top of the workload, things like self reviews/peer reviews, quarterly goal setting, etc. It gets burdensome and feels like an exercise in putting words on pages.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Udemy Response

    Thanks for your review! We’re happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your experience so far and appreciate all your hard work these last three years. About the increased administrative tasks comment, we recognize that as we shift into a more mature company, the new processes we incorporate can sometimes need a bit of fine-tuning. We’re working on making changes and will share updates with our teams soon. We’re always happy to hear your feedback and learn how we can improve. If you haven’t already, we encourage you to connect with your manager or People Partner to share your concerns so we can take that into consideration. Thanks!

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    None

    Nov 2, 2022 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly work environment and helps you to grow.

    Cons

    Overwork since there was a lack of manpower.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Work

    Oct 25, 2022 - Enterprise Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great management - great product - competitive pay

    Cons

    - grew so fast, operationally unorganized - SFDC data unorganized - many competitors in the space

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Incredible Culture

    Oct 13, 2022 - Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Unlimited PTO (actually encouraged to use) - 1 U Day per month for personal and professional development - Great health benefits - Incredible culture (amazing people, events, opportunities for growth) - Beautiful corporate office - Flexible hybrid work environment

    Cons

    As of now, there are none

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing company

    Oct 21, 2022 - Account Executive, Latin American Markets 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    competitive Salary, amazing people, good benefits, nice office ( hybrid and remote positions)

    Cons

    regular pains from a fast-growing company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 355 Reviews
</>Embed

Udemy Reviews FAQs

Udemy has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 423 reviews left anonymously by employees. 83% of employees would recommend working at Udemy to a friend and 83% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Udemy employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Udemy. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

83% of Udemy employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Udemy 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Udemy to be benefits, senior leadership, career development and the cons to be management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Udemy Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Udemy? Share Your Experiences

Udemy logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Udemy Photos

+ Add Photo
Udemy photo of: Global Learning Fair 2018
Udemy photo of: Our Dublin team supported our partner, the Irish Youth Foundation.
Udemy photo of: Our India team had a blast celebrating Diwali this year.
Udemy photo of: Our people enjoyed Denver Learning week at the office.
Udemy photo of: Members of Umigos (our Hispanic/Latinx ERG) checking out the Diego Rivera exhibit at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA).
Udemy photo of: Our Mountain View team celebrating Hispanic/Latinx Heritage Month 2022.
Udemy photo of: Our Denver team spent their UDay out on the greens.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Udemy Job Seekers Also Viewed

Eventbrite Logo
Eventbrite

3.8

600 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 423 Udemy reviews submitted anonymously by Udemy employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Udemy is right for you.