Uline "micro management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Uline Employee Reviews about "micro management"

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Uline CEO Dick Uihlein
Dick Uihlein
346 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The dress code is a little strict but nothing hard or unreasonable to comply with(in 92 reviews)

  • "silly little things that the big boss doesn't personally like, micro management, super corporate culture(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "micro management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Pleasant Prairie, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, good money, nice people

    Cons

    silly little things that the big boss doesn't personally like, micro management, super corporate culture.

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-03-29
  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouser in Braselton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay great bonuses friendly people

    Cons

    Micro managing. No other cons

    Uline2020-01-21
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place to Work! With an Interesting Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uline is definitely an interesting place to work. It all depends on your department and managers. I enjoy the work and I have amazing leadership above me. They treat you really well here with outstanding benefits I know many other companies that would not do half of the things Uline does for their employees. The dress code isn’t as dramatic as people say it is. You are told before hand so when people complain it is just interesting because you were told before you accepted the job. The amount of events we do is great and they are always well done. Work life balance, at least in my department, is great!

    Cons

    At times the CEO is too involved and does not let people do their jobs. She lacks trust in her employees and uses biased opinions to make decisions. Although, the dress code isn’t a big deal having woman wear pantyhose is a bit excessive. Many employees tattle on each other to HR. Which definitely affects moral, we are treated like insubordinate children at times (too many items on desk someone decides your shoes are too casual etc.) The PTO policy is absolutely horrible. People come in sick all the time because they don’t have enough PTO or come in even when family emergencies arise because they are scared. Employees express this a lot but HR still does nothing - employee feedback should be important and implemented. Quite a lot of entitled complainers in the company. Diversity lacks substantially but it is improving. Micro managing - directors micromanage managers which then micro manage their team and so on. You hired people to do their job so let them.

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-11-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great post grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Braselton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, 401k matching, great benefits

    Cons

    Micro managing and the overall stress of a call center

    Uline2019-10-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great bonus, a lot of employee events, nice people.

    Cons

    Busy work, micro managing, they keep track of all metrics and have high expectations. The days get very repetitive and long.

    Uline2019-10-08
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Great perks but very strict"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Allentown, PA

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and profit sharing bonus, generous PTO, clean and safe environment

    Cons

    Very strict and old fashioned dress code, extremely micro-managed, unable to use PTO unless requested very far in advance and no flexibility due to low staffing

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-05-30
  7. Helpful (36)

    "Actually a Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary, with some flexibility. Coworkers are great. Training is top notch.

    Cons

    Micro managing is the worst thing in the history of micro managing. There is a report for EVERYTHING with this company. If you’re on the phone too long, you get an email, if you’re trying to look for a new job, you get an email, if you don’t finish your work by end of day, you get an email. You get reviewed monthly about your numbers even though you don’t make commission. Dress code is stuck in 1980 when the company first started. Management and HR claim they listen to the feedback from employees, but in reality this never changes. Hence why the dress code is still in the 1980’s. Oh and you have to clock in every day even when you’re a salary employee!

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-02-19
  8. Helpful (38)

    "Don't Come to Uline and Expect to Make a Difference."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager in Pleasant Prairie, WI

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great pay. -Outstanding benefits package. -Beautiful campus - walking paths, gym on site, amazing subsidized cafe, cleaner than you can imagine and well-lit.

    Cons

    -Extreme micro-management at every level. -Creativity is not valued. -No opportunity to make things better, the president absolutely does not want processes to be improved. -Clocking in and out and required 10+ hour days. Holidays and PTO count as 8 hours, so those extra 2 hours must be made up to keep your average at 10 hours/day. -Politics at every turn - both the owners' politics being shoved down your throat in meetings and internal politics within the company.

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-10-04

    Uline Response

    October 29, 2018

    We’re disappointed to hear about your experience at our company. While we don’t shy away from our high standards to meet our growing demand and customers’ needs, we take pride in providing various professional development opportunities to help our management and employee teams thrive together. We credit our collaborative and hands on work environment with evolving our company from a business run out of a basement into a billion dollar brand. We recognize that our employees come from diverse backgrounds, and believe that all employees have the right to express their individual beliefs in ways that are important to them —without fear of recourse. In fact, we believe a diverse workforce is necessary to grow and maintain our brand. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Buford, GA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great starting salary for you g college grads and good benefits

    Cons

    Everything else. Antiquated dress code. Micro management. Managers have favorites. Mean staff that likes to gossip and start rumors. Hr Is terrifying. CEO pushes political beliefs on staff. Sexist.

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-10-01

    Uline Response

    October 29, 2018

    We’re disappointed you had unhappy tenure at Uline. As an employer of choice for more than 6,000 employees, Uline team members come to us from a wide range of interests, backgrounds and experiences. Though we all may have different points of view, we believe that freedom of thought and choice is something we want to promote among all employees. We have strong Midwestern values and our employees understand it is this tradition that has brought us much success and continues to. That is also why we offer outsized perks, such as competitive salaries, a robust wellness program, and a full social events calendar. It’s all because we truly do appreciate you! Thank you for sharing your experiences.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Plenty of good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Buyer in Pleasant Prairie, WI
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits including a gym with access to a free personal trainer, full cafe on-site with great food at good prices, access to a salon and masseuse on-site. Solid, fast-paced and private company that is rapidly growing. Great pay for what the job entails. Most employees are great people. They are hard working, detailed, and strong employees.

    Cons

    High micro-management environment where every single thing you do is analyzed and scrutinized. Lack of ability to make autonomous decisions without multiple tiers of management for the simplest of tasks. In ability to drive your own processes for improvement or make sounds decisions out of the status quo. Lack of good managers who know how to lead, be change agents or have an appropriate level of emotional intelligence. Even though it has gotten better in terms of hiring from within, slow to move at growing and encouraging employees to flourish. This company wants to do what they have been doing for 30 years. Typical statement I hear a lot, "if it isn't broke, why fix it?" mentality. Culture is to pit other departments against each other due to senior executive management style. Lack of communication across departments or trust to work as a team.

    Continue reading
    Uline2018-05-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 46 reviews