Ulta Beauty Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
2,748 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great employee discount(in 404 reviews)

  • "Never boring, fun environment, supportive team(in 244 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance wasn’t always a priority(in 223 reviews)

  • "Some upper management very out of touch with struggles at store level(in 214 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ulta Beauty and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ulta

      May 5, 2021 - Ulta Beauty Advisor in Mechanicsburg, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gratis and discount are good

      Cons

      Management can be poor sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      who thought this was a good idea?

      May 7, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      exposure to every single bit of what drives a business and can grow an individual or team, hr, lp, inventory, pk. No two days will be the same.

      Cons

      way too many cooks in the kitchen make for a mess.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Skin Specialist

      May 1, 2021 - Skin Specialist in Westwood, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed working with a great team in Westwood Ma the pandemic however changed and skincare specialist still haven’t returned!! I believe the training provided by Ulta was amazing! The prices for services were a great value!! I hope to be back to work at some point!! My experience was so positive my were coworkers leadership in the store was outstanding!!

      Cons

      Location!! Continuous Training for skin therapist is amazing!! I had the ability to constantly learn about new products in the store! I loved the woman who truly get the meaning of building each other up!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing!

      May 2, 2021 - Beauty Advisor in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved my experience at ULTA. But if you think, you're going to be playing with makeup all day - Wrong. Lol. If you like to keep busy, this is the job for you. At least, pre-Covid. You can make a decent wage if you're fulltime and have experience. If you have a cosmetology license, even better. Loved my GMs.

      Cons

      It's a business so expect high, daily goals. Customers tend to think that you are their free, personal makeup artist. Beware of the customer who will not even buy an eyeliner after having done a full face makeup.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Plenty of Hours When Needed

      Apr 17, 2021 - Beauty Advisor in Towson, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you love make up it’s the perfect place.

      Cons

      Having to deal with constant attitudes from other female coworkers made working there an issue for myself. There was an issue with intolerance between myself and one other Muslim worker when one of the managers wouldn’t allow us to break our fast during Ramadan as required by our faith. She disrespected both of us but I will say that management handled the situation beautifully because she was relieved of her position like two days later.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      great place to work

      May 6, 2021 - Beauty Advisor in Tulsa, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great atmosphere, encouraging, friendly, understanding, and patient.

      Cons

      sometimes there are rude customers, getting a card can be hard, color matching while in covid is difficult.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company

      May 6, 2021 - Prestige Beauty Advisor in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get educated in the beauty world, get free gratis for hard work. Flexible workplace for part-timers.

      Cons

      Early morning shifts (6am), GM can be questionable sometimes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Challenging Work Life Balance

      Mar 30, 2021 - Retail Sales Manager in Snellville, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall, the company's values are strong. I have worked in two separate locations and I can say in full confidence, the experience you have really depends on the communication of your management team. The company values individuality which is a plus. Overall, the store works toward a common goal. -Paid time off for management -Bonuses if sales goals are met -Gratis

      Cons

      -Zero work life balance, especially given the circumstance of a global pandemic -Business hours leave the worker for very little personal time outside of their career (Aside from Paid Time Off, which is often discouraged to use) -Depending on location, truck is passed off to the Retail team, which throws off the work flow - 90% of the floor coverage is done by the Retail Sales Manager although it is in every member of management's Division of Responsibility. (DOR) to be a part of the sales floor experience

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Learned alot and great staff

      May 5, 2021 - Beauty Advisor in Sugar Land, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people were helpful and great to work with. Got the hours that I needed to work. As long as you are reliable they will give you the hours!

      Cons

      Be on time. If you are more then 5 minutes late, you get a write up based on a points system.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great environment

      May 5, 2021 - Merchandising and Service Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping guests, meeting new people

      Cons

      Management doesn’t hold staff accountable

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 6,575 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ulta Beauty Job Seekers

    Hair Stylist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ulta Beauty? Share Your Experiences

    or