Ulta Beauty Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
2,094 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lots of turnover in upper management(in 188 reviews)

  • "Be successful popular beauty advisor(in 179 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the besuty industry.

    Cons

    Applications for make up can be tricky.

    Ulta Beauty2020-03-10
  2. "I do cycle account ,I like counting."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Control 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I do cycle account, i like counting.

    Cons

    Who are hard working they should get bonus 10 ,20 ulta gifts card.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-05-28
  3. "Not a bad place to work for anyone interested in cosmetics and hair."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise & Service Coordinator in North Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Discount, Great Management Team, Flexibility, Versatile, Gender friendly/fluid, and Fun Atmosphere to work.

    Cons

    Horrible contingency plan relating to COVID-19, the company handled the care of part-time employees terribly. A lot of people lost their jobs with no supplemental pay.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-05-27
  4. "Would definitely go back"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome experience being around makeup and getting to learn about new products and techniques.

    Cons

    Shifts were inconsistent; felt like beauty ambassadors were on their own.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-27
  5. "Fun but scheduling is tough"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prestige Beauty Advisor in Glen Allen, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love makeup you’ll love it. Customers are nice for the most part and your coworkers become great friends.

    Cons

    Weekends, nights, and holidays required. Break times are not well managed.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-26
  6. "Amazing place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly workplace. Management wants you to learn

    Cons

    Hours are not the best and those they like will get better hours.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-25
  7. "Great management and company culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hairstylist in Marlton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, great culture, inclusive workplace.

    Cons

    Depending on position, pay is lower, but wages are normal for retail workers.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-21
  8. "Best Part Time Job I've Had"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive Corporate Culture Team Environment Strong Leadership Fun Benefits like Gratis

    Cons

    Bare minimum wages Some corporate pressure regarding sales and personal information collection quotas

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-20
  9. "Love this job! Great team! Great pay! Great for hands on cosmetologist."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time

    Pros

    Pay Cleanliness Team members Discount Hands on training

    Cons

    Most beauty advisors only work part timer because there are so many employees so you only get 25 hrs a week which isn’t bad if you go to school but if you have bills to pay you might want to consider getting another job.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-19
  10. "Great for a part time college student"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor 

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time

    Pros

    The hours on the weekend worked well with my college schedule.

    Cons

    Pressure to get loyalty cards.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-19
Found 5038 reviews