Ulta Beauty "beauty" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ulta Beauty Employee Reviews about "beauty"

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4665 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
1,918 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "beauty"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Don’t assume you’ll build clientele"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hairstylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time

    Pros

    The store discount was nice.

    Cons

    They do not care where you’re starting out in the beauty industry. They expect your books to be full & if they aren’t you’re shifts start getting cut. Find a store that’s busy with walk ins or else you’ll be looking for a new job quickly.

    Ulta Beauty2019-08-30
  2. "Only experience I had was as a customer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty

    Pros

    It’s a happy place because of cosmetics

    Cons

    Be successful popular beauty advisor

    Advice to Management

    Friendly management and professionalism

    Ulta Beauty2019-07-08
  3. "Good Concept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salon Manager 

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of exposure to new products, techniques, and training. A beautiful working environment with most of the tools and products you will need.

    Cons

    Corporate beauty concepts don't allow a lot of room for creativity and coloring outside the lines, which is what good stylists do. service menu did not take into account fashion trends and ethnic styles. Corporate micromanaged to maintain an operational standard that did not work well for all areas.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your managers, consider a wider range of customer base, allow for product substitution when the need calls for it.

    Ulta Beauty2019-07-05
  4. "The most unfeeling company ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specially Beauty Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are like family.

    Cons

    Management is not like family. They are heartless, asking you to still come in when a family member has died, have a sick child, etc. they only care about themselves and their advancements, not yours. Fake attitudes, pushing customers to buy stuff that isn’t even right for them, just to make a sale. Pressuring the whole store to get credit cards like crazy so they can win contests and get all the recognition. Making... specialty beauty advisors who work for a brand stock the entire store, not just their area as per the official handbook to their job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make it a policy that NO religion or politics should be discussed on the job for no reason at all. Management pushes their super conservative and super Christian views on employees, to the point of asking if they believe in god. You are there to work, politics and religion should never be questioned about at all. Should be a zero tolerance policy to not even bring either up, as neither effects your ability to be a... good employee.

    Show More
    Ulta Beauty2019-07-23
  5. "good first job but could improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, 25% discount and customers were really nice and friendly

    Cons

    although it was fun and nice to help customers out, it was very over whelming to answer customers questions and watch the register at the same time, My ulta was a bit small compared to other locations so typically it would only be me and my manager working a closing shift. i was hired as a beauty advisor yet i was working register and talking/helping customers in mass and prestige but not getting paid for doing... prestige work. My manager would complain that i was never to be found and should’ve been at the register but it’s nearly impossible to help customers on the opposite side of store and watch the register at the same time because i can’t just tell customers “sorry can’t help i have to watch the register” if no one else is on the floor to help. also, the whole credit card thing is stupid. you can’t force people to sign up for a credit card so it shouldn’t count against you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    please be more lenient on the credit card sign ups it’s not our faults that most customers already have 5 credit cards and don’t want another.

    Ulta Beauty2019-06-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I honestly love Ulta"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prestige Beauty Advisor in Bay Shore, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers Great training and education on products Flexible schedule Gratis and employee discount Fun work environment Meeting brand reps is a lot of fun Great benefits Competitive pay

    Cons

    Unclear on how to move up in the company. Prestige beauty advisors cannot do makeup applications Not enough payroll

    Advice to Management

    I personally think that all employees should have the opportunity to be trained and moved up to prestige. Even if they don’t become prestige beauty advisors, I think beauty advisors could contribute to getting people to buy prestige products over mass cosmetics since they can suggest higher end alternatives and have the product knowledge behind it to justify it. I also think that it is overwhelming for 1 person to... help customers and make sure everything is up to the standards Ulta sets. It’s understandable to think that each person can clean and help section by section and teamwork could be used between the shifts, but oftentimes you can get caught up helping customers and never getting around to doing the little things that make a huge difference between neat and sloppy.

    Show More
    Ulta Beauty2019-05-23
  7. "Best Customer Service Job I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly managers - Responsibilities are well outlined

    Cons

    - Shifts can be really long (only as lead cashier, beauty adviser positions are alright)

    Advice to Management

    If management cares then so will the staff below them

    Ulta Beauty2019-05-04
  8. "Ok if only looking for a part time job, not a good company to stick with long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Patchogue, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you love makeup, it's a fun environment Easy

    Cons

    Hours cut depending on how while corporate feels the company is doing, if they don't sell enough product they cut hours without warning so they won't have to pay, corporate really doesn't care about employees at all and prestige is treated like they are above regular beauty advisors. The store is also extremely wasteful in throwing out cardboard, plastic, and packaging and leaving lights on 24/7, terrible for the... environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give raises and stop cutting hours

    Ulta Beauty2019-05-02
  9. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Lead Beauty Advisor in Humble, TX
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was given the lead position within 4 months of getting my job. They saw my potential and gave it to me. They worked with my school schedule still giving me adequate hours. All of my coworkers helped one another.

    Cons

    They give you hours according to how well you perform, not caring that people sometimes have bad days. That is not referring to myself I had my solid hours but for the other beauty advisors they really struggled with that

    Ulta Beauty2019-04-13
  10. "Ulta Needs Some Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lancôme Beauty Advisor in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A fun environment, and you’re constantly learning new things about products and brands.

    Cons

    Ulta basis their hours given to employees off their sells. Even in a high volume store there aren’t enough hours given so a guest is ALWAYS griping about how they’re not being assisted. It’s truly not the stores fault. The company is getting over on boutiques because their hours are separate from the Ulta given ones and are to be used to solely focus on the sells and progression of that particular boutique. They’re... not supposed to be the “backup” for Prestige Beauty Advisors. Boutique Leads receive ZERO commissions. Ulta’s pay scale is rather atrocious based on other beauty brand stores.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being cheap, and give these stores enough hours to fully handle the steady stream of business that’s coming in. Implement a bonus or commission based pay for your boutiques. It’s not right that they are out there on the sells floor pushing and cultivating their brands, but also have to do the same for other brands without compensation. Meanwhile management receives bonuses for the hard work.

    Ulta Beauty2019-04-23
Found 4665 reviews