KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Ultimate Medical Academy

Engaged Employer

Ultimate Medical Academy

Add a Review

Ultimate Medical Academy Employee Reviews about "turnover rate"

Updated Oct 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 877 reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Ultimate Medical Academy Interim President and CFO Thomas Rametta
Thomas Rametta
211 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay for work that is required(in 40 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance, Great pay and a all around GREAT organization to work for(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A high turnover rate for experienced professionals(in 23 reviews)

  • "High turnover rate, did not like company structure(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ultimate Medical Academy and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "turnover rate"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Current job

      Oct 28, 2020 - Admissions Representative in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good paying job for college grads

      Cons

      High turnover rate within the company. Not understanding

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      They don't care

      Jul 10, 2020 - Admissions Representative in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly can't think of many - but I met some great people and they always have a different food truck outside

      Cons

      They claim to want to make people's lives better but that's a lie. They target low income people, specifically women, and force you to meet metrics that are almost impossible if you're a good person. They don't care at all what the person is going through in life (debt, medical bills, taking care of kids, death in the family, etc.) They will put you on blast in front of everyone if you can't convince them to at least enroll. On top of that, calls can be hours long sometimes, my longest was 4 hours. If you were scheduled to leave at 5 but are stuck on a call, you're screwed until the other person hangs up. There is always petty drama, it's like high school. Even from the supervisors towards their team members. Their turnover rate is incredibly high and there's a reason for that. Not a great company.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Ultimate Medical Academy Response

      Marketing Specialist

      At UMA, we strive to create a diverse, inclusive and collaborative workplace focused on the mission of equipping and empowering students to excel in healthcare careers. It is certainly a big commitment to pursue a new degree or certification program, and students must be qualified and prepared. UMA upholds standards consistent with the requirements of our institutional accreditor to ensure we are enrolling qualified students, and we take great care to make sure incoming students understand the time and technology required to attend UMA, the full cost of their program and their options for managing work and family obligations in conjunction with school. Our goal is to help students achieve success academically and professionally, and we do hope that ultimately changes their lives for the better. We would like to better understand your experience and concerns. If you would be open to speaking with us, please reach out to UMACares@ultimatemedical.edu.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Review

      Oct 23, 2020 - Alumni Relations in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people to work with

      Cons

      High turnover rate, did not like company structure

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good in between Job

      Aug 22, 2020 - Career Services Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meet some good quality co workers/life long friendships

      Cons

      High turnover rate Lots of metrics No job security Call center atmosphere

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Total Scam

      Jul 20, 2019 - Career Services Advisor in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None other than the alternative of being unemployed

      Cons

      UMA is a total scam raking in hundreds of millions in financial aid each year. They mostly prey on single minority moms with kids. Graduates from their programs would routinely tell us they couldn’t remember a SINGLE class they took. We had to find them jobs. Some of them have zero access to a computer...yet they completed an online degree. They can barely speak or write proper English, they were recruited and pressured to enroll in the school by relentless admission reps calling all day long, they leave school tens of thousands in debt and haven’t learned almost anything. In my dept you had to call employers near these people and basically beg them to hire these grads. For the school to verify a “placement” and submit it to their accreditation bureau we only needed the grad to work for a week or 2. They can get fired after that but the school keeps raking in millions in financial aid money. I’ve seen placements for these medical administration graduates at vape shops, law offices, convenience stores. These poor minorities, usually single moms, are promised great jobs and more money for their families, rarely do they find that. When you are struggling to pay bills and someone is dangling financial aid checks in front of your face with thousands of dollars it’s hard for a poor person to say no. At the end of the year management will scramble to get the last placements they need to stay accredited. They fly managers out around the country to go knock on these graduates doors and beg them to go work for at least a week or 2. The school will send them rent money, pay their bills, BUY THEM CARS, etc. whatever it takes to get these people working. The turnover rate is insane, hiring call center reps off the street to become “learner service advisors” while these people are in school. How anyone off the street with none of the same education is going to help guide someone through their “class” work makes no sense. The system is set up so almost no one can fail as long as they log in. The main objective is continuing to rake in the financial aid money. Read the huffington post article on this school. Total scam preying on poor disadvantaged people.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Ultimate Medical Academy Response

      Marketing Specialist

      Dear Former Employee, we take your comments and concerns seriously. UMA is a non-profit institution with a mission to equip and empower students to excel in healthcare careers. Healthcare is one of the fastest-growing industries in the United States, and there is an expanding need to fill new and open positions in the field. By obtaining the education and certifications required to meet that growing need, many students are able to improve their lives and the lives of others. We're proud to support that. At UMA, we live by our values. Among them is Championing Student Outcomes. We work closely with students throughout their journey to ensure they have the best possible chance at success. Our Admissions process includes confirming with students that they have the technology access, language skills and time required to complete an academic program. Like most institutions of higher learning, UMA offers student support services for academic assistance, tutoring and financial guidance. Career Services advisors support graduates as they start their new careers, and UMA's job placement rates are based on students obtaining positions in their field of study. UMA's Alumni team also provides ongoing support for graduates seeking new opportunities and career advancement. While UMA is based in Florida, our presence is nationwide. We understand the importance of face-to-face engagement, so we conduct continuous in-field efforts with alumni throughout the country to help build connections and provide added support. In addition to Championing Student Outcomes, our values also include Acting with Integrity. As an institution, we are committed to operating in an honest, ethical and industry-compliant fashion. As such, we would like to learn more about your concerns. Please feel free to contact us at social@ultimatemedical.edu or call our HR Cares hotline at 844-858-1420.

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good pay for a temporary job, not long term

      Jan 22, 2019 - Career Services Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very friendly environment people are positive and you meet a lot of friends. Free goodies often.

      Cons

      Very stressful, with goals that are standard across the board but not everyone has the same situation to achieve the goal making it unfair for certain people, managers are dirty and talk trash about reps behind their back, also talk to you like a child rather than a professional. Management and HR are buddy buddy and make decisions to fire people for false reasons and dont consult the person or even investigate they just fire you like majority decision wins. If you miss goal you're done no coaching you have a manager sit at your desk pressuring you while you make calls then get feedback saying just do better rather than actual help. No forgiveness at all here. High turnover rate but recruiters say its low to get you in the door. Expect to be fired or quit.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Ultimate Medical Academy Response

      Senior Director of Communications

      Dear Employee, Thank you for the work you do every day in support of our value to Champion Student Outcomes. We know that positions at Ultimate Medical Academy can be rewarding as well as challenging at times. We appreciate your feedback and are concerned about your comments reflecting your dissatisfaction with your experience working at UMA. We would appreciate it if you could contact HR or me at social@ultimatemedical.edu to give us more specifics. If you would like to share confidentially, please call our HR Cares hotline at 844-858-1420 or submit an HR Cares online report via the HR page on our Scoop intranet. As an institution committed to continuous improvement, we recognize that feedback from our students, employees, and former employees is critical for our ongoing development.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great work environment

      Jul 27, 2019 - Student Administrative Assistant in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work environment is extremely competitive which makes you work harder. They have a lot of events and floor wide competitions to up moral which makes it fun to go to work.

      Cons

      Very fast turnover rate

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      N/A

      Apr 5, 2019 - Senior Corporate Alliance Representative in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary I above average for the location and market.

      Cons

      Very high turnover rate at location.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ultimate Medical Academy Response

      Senior Director of Communications

      Dear Former Employee, Thank you for the work you did in support of helping our graduates begin their careers in their field of study in healthcare. We know that positions at Ultimate Medical Academy can be rewarding as well as challenging at times. As an institution committed to continuous improvement, please reach out to HR or me at social@ultimatemedical.edu if you would like to share anything else.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Cold Call Job

      Jan 29, 2019 - Career Services Advisor in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is okay. Hard to get the bonus.

      Cons

      too much pressure; cold call employers; uncooperative graduates; high turnover rate; unrealistic goal; micromanagement; they monitor everything: phone calls, emails, messages; no support from management; long time sitting; stealing leads each other

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Ultimate Medical Academy Response

      Senior Director of Communications

      Dear Former Employee, Thank you for your feedback. We know positions at Ultimate Medical Academy can be rewarding as well as challenging at times. We are concerned about your comments reflecting your dissatisfaction with your experience working at UMA. We would appreciate it if you could contact HR or me at social@ultimatemedical.edu to give us more specifics. If you would like to share confidentially, please call our HR Cares hotline at 844-858-1420. As an institution committed to continuous improvement, we recognize that feedback from our students, employees, and former employees is critical for our ongoing development.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Career Service Advisor

      Feb 16, 2016 - Career Service Advisor II in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is acceptable and you get a 1 dollar raise every three months which was true. Start out at usually 16 dollars an hour. Work environment is exciting. People here are pretty nice to hang around. Not a terrible company.

      Cons

      Job security is an issue here. They tell you in orientation that their turnover rate is not bad, but it is believe me. They have new hire classes every couple months of upwards to 50 people. If you do not like loud work places, then this is not the place for you. People also play loud music and yell frequently while you are on the phone. Metrics can be unreasonable depending on where your territory is located. You have to place 3 graduates in a Allied Health related job a month, and get 10 interviews set up a week. Sounds easy but, depending on the reality of your territory, it can potentially become a nightmare.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Ultimate Medical Academy Response

      Vice President, Marketing

      Hi CSA, thank you for your tireless dedication to our mission and helping the Academy champion student outcomes. Without your hard work, the Academy would not be successful. Our employees drive the culture, so you can make an impact by sharing your feedback directly with your co-workers, manager and our human resources team. Much of what we do is based upon the input of our staff, so please share it (I will share your comments above as well.) We have a wonderful opportunity for employees that demonstrate strong core skills to be reassigned to other teams. Feel free to contact HR for information on department transfers - we agree that not everyone is a fit for each job, but might be a fit for one in which they did not start out. C.S. Lewis said, "There are far, far better things ahead than any we leave behind." Keep moving forward and keep up a positive attitude and you will go far.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ultimate Medical Academy Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ultimate Medical Academy? Share Your Experiences

    or