Ultimate Medical Academy "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ultimate Medical Academy Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Ultimate Medical Academy CEO Thomas Rametta
Thomas Rametta
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great job with good pay and benefits(in 33 reviews)

  • "UMA has a unique collaborative work environment(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Headsets (current headsets do not cancel the noise) - CS sounds too much like a call center(in 29 reviews)

  • "You have upper management making sexual advances to male and female alike(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "One of the best places to work in Tampa Bay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Services Advisor in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ultimate Medical Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities for growth. Cares about their employees. Great work environment. Excellent management team that is more than willing to give you hands on training.

    Cons

    If you are not a goal oriented individual, you will struggle.

    Ultimate Medical Academy2019-10-10
  2. "Two-edged sword"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Services Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Medical Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are looking for a place to grow, this may not be the place for you unless you get hired on as a manager. -bonus (depending on performance ) - Very detailed training for new hires -Pay is fantastic - Good health Benefits - if in between jobs- good transitional job - Departmental transfers may be an option after 6 months if in good standing. - Employee evaluations

    Cons

    - Favoritism results in an unequal work environment for potential positions or promotions - Micromanaging depending on the manager or department. - Very production based, not a good fit if you do not like a call center/sales environment -- Management/Directors (if they do not like you-- you will not advance in the company) - Very strict metrics (you have a time frame to hit numbers if not meet, you will be let go after the grace period is up)

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Medical Academy2019-10-16
  3. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Administrative Assistant in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ultimate Medical Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is extremely competitive which makes you work harder. They have a lot of events and floor wide competitions to up moral which makes it fun to go to work.

    Cons

    Very fast turnover rate

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Medical Academy2019-07-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Career Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Advisor in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ultimate Medical Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Holiday pay. Free red bull. Spacious work environment.

    Cons

    We are supposed to be a team however there are employees there who are rude and inmoral. Stealing students and job orders. Management does nothing. There is a strong divide. My team was terrible. Always at eachothers throats. They rather steal a student and hit bonus when in turn it can cost another employee their job.

    Ultimate Medical Academy2019-01-09

    Ultimate Medical Academy Response

    February 7, 2019Senior Director of Communications

    Dear Former Employee, Thank you for the work you did in support of our value to Champion Student Outcomes. We know that positions at Ultimate Medical Academy can be rewarding as well as challenging at times. As you know, a core value at UMA is to Act with Integrity. This guides our day-to-day decision making and behavior. As an institution, we are committed to operating in an honest, ethical, and industry-compliant fashion. As such, our leaders and employees are fair, trustworthy, and strive to do the right thing for our students and for each other. As an institution committed to continuous improvement, we would like to learn more about your concerns. Please reach out to HR or me at social@ultimatemedical.edu. If you would like to share confidentially, please call our HR Cares hotline at 844-858-1420.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (8)

    "career service adviser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ultimate Medical Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros in working at UMA after the changes in leadership.

    Cons

    Unstable work environment, turn over rate is very high (every month a great amount of people are/will get let go), UMA do not follow their company's values, not a family work environment, and no positive change has been made to benefit their student of employees.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Medical Academy2018-05-10

    Ultimate Medical Academy Response

    May 14, 2018Senior Director of Communications

    Dear Former Employee, Thank you for your work in support of our value to Champion Student Outcomes. We are an institution committed to continuous improvement and achieving our mission to equip and empower students to excel in healthcare careers. We work hard to live our value to Commit to Employee Success by building long term professional relationships with those who work in Career Services by being transparent in the expectations of all new and existing team members. We understand the environment is not for everyone, so we reiterate those expectations throughout Career Service Advisor (CSA) interviews, onboarding, training, and daily work in the student support center. Any changes we made in Career Services are designed to make a positive difference in the work experience of CSA’s at UMA and in helping our students launch or advance their careers in healthcare.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Medical Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    UMA has a unique collaborative work environment! I look forward to coming to work everyday. UMA even offers yoga, pilates, and other health living options and often offers fresh fruit and veggies to employees!

    Cons

    I can't think of any at this moment.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Medical Academy2018-02-27

    Ultimate Medical Academy Response

    April 4, 2018Communications Manager

    Dear Current Employee, We are glad to hear that you enjoy working at UMA and we thank you for over five years at UMA. One of our values is to Work as One we are glad to see that you are seeing the positive results. Our team will be happy to hear that you like the focus on a healthy lifestyle. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Sr. Finance Central Processor II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Medical Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - A Great Work Environment -A lot of opportunity for growth -Management is really easy to speak with -Great work benefits and Paid time off

    Cons

    Parking at MLK Building Not a lot of sick time

    Ultimate Medical Academy2018-02-09

    Ultimate Medical Academy Response

    May 25, 2018Communications Manager

    Dear Current Employee, Thank you for over three years at UMA! We are pleased to hear that you enjoy so many things about our culture. As you know, we like to Have Fun and Build Energy while we Champion Student Outcomes. We understand the parking situation, which is a challenge as we grow while continuing to provide covered parking. We have shared your feedback regarding sick time and encourage you to share your feedback in our annual Benefits Survey. We appreciate you sharing your experience.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Proceed with Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Advisor in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ultimate Medical Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and fun environment (at least it was)

    Cons

    UMA is fun but very unprofessional. It is a good job to get if you are in between jobs or while you are looking for something more secure. You will never know whether or not you will have your job the next day, everything is ran through favoritism, and in the end of the day they do not CARE about their students. All they care about is keeping their accreditation and will teach you to do whatever means necessary to "place" graduates into minimum wage jobs that they could have gotten without their overpriced diploma. UMA is a complete joke and could never be a creditable work environment if they keep treating PEOPLE like they are dispensable. First job ever that I walked out without giving notice and never thought twice about my decision.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Medical Academy2018-03-20

    Ultimate Medical Academy Response

    April 2, 2018Senior Director of Communications

    Dear Former Employee, Thank you for your positive comments about how we live our value to Have Fun and Build Energy. Our institutional culture is guided by our core values and mission to Equip and Empower Students to Excel in Healthcare Careers. Another one of our core values is to Act with Integrity. This guides our day-to-day decision making and behavior. As an institution, we are committed to operating in an honest, ethical, and industry-compliant fashion. As such, our employees are fair, trustworthy, and strive to do the right thing for our students and for each other. We work hard to live up to our values and fulfill our mission. With that said, we were disappointed to read that you are dissatisfied with your experience at UMA. We are an institution that is committed to continuous improvement and recognize that feedback from our employees and former employees is critical for our ongoing development. Best wishes for your future.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (7)

    "UMAmazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Finance 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Medical Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Encouraging and engaging work environment! I love my job at UMA! Would recommend to anyone looking for a fun, energetic, fast pasted work environment!

    Cons

    The job doesn't have any cons!

    Ultimate Medical Academy2018-02-07

    Ultimate Medical Academy Response

    May 25, 2018Communications Manager

    Dear Current Employee, Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm about your positive experience at UMA. We are glad to hear that you enjoy the culture, realizing how we Commit to Employee Success as one of our core values. We are growing and encourage you to use our Employee Referral Program and potentially receive a financial reward. We continually look to enhance our culture and your feedback is appreciated.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Crazy performance expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learner Services Advisor in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ultimate Medical Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    UMA has a fun work environment. They frequently play games, have competitions, and reward with happy hours. I loved all of my co-workers and most of my bosses.

    Cons

    This is such a hard job, and at the time I was there it was not worth the pay. I felt more like a stalker than an advisor. They encourage you to TRIPLE-DIAL students over and over again, and you do it because your performance is measured by if they talk to you on the phone and if they stay in school. Yes, you are held responsible for if a grown adult stays in school. No matter how many times you call them, if they decide to leave, it's over.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Medical Academy2018-02-12

    Ultimate Medical Academy Response

    February 22, 2018Senior Director of Communications

    Dear Former Learner Services Advisor, Thank you for your work in supporting our students. At Ultimate Medical Academy, we live our value to HAVE FUN. BUILD ENERGY. We are glad you enjoyed our work environment. We understand that being a Learner Services Advisor can be challenging. However, we also recognize that our students benefit from our Learner Services Advisors staying in regular contact with them to help them overcome obstacles they often face. This encouragement and support helps UMA students stay in school, complete their programs, and interview for jobs to begin or advance their healthcare careers. Thank you again for your contributions to our students’ success. Best wishes in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
Found 39 reviews