Umstead Hotel & Spa Reviews | Glassdoor

Umstead Hotel & Spa Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Umstead Hotel & Spa General Manager Jim Beley
Jim Beley
3 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sous Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Umstead Hotel & Spa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great practical experience with high standards and great benefits

    Cons

    Very challenging and demanding trying to meet the high standards

    Umstead Hotel & Spa2019-05-15
  2. "Bad hours, okay work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Cary, NC

    I worked at Umstead Hotel & Spa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    beautiful work environment and coworkers are fun

    Cons

    the hours are tough and clientele can be rude

    Umstead Hotel & Spa2020-01-12
  3. "Beautiful Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Umstead Hotel & Spa full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are very good including healthcare.

    Cons

    Long hours, hard work, must be 5 star at all times.

    Umstead Hotel & Spa2019-03-25
  4. "Massage Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Umstead Hotel & Spa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay rate is high There is food in the cafeteria for all employees They provide decent health care They provide uniforms

    Cons

    The spa management team is not the rest of the hotel. They pick favorites and really only allow certain team members to work certain hours and have weekends off. They don't care about you as a person just if you can cover a shift they need you to cover. Also with bad weather such as snow they still expect you to make it to work. I have seen people lose their jobs for calling out because their kid was sick. They have all these Forbes standards that you have to meet in the way you talk to the guest and their is no personal interactions with guest. If they talk to you you have to shut in down and say nicely take a deep breath and relax. They have no interest in your well being and they basically treat you like a robot. They money isn't worth it. Everyone that does massage here hates it. Only the naive new people like it. They haven't been there long enough to see all the ridiculous stuff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites and actually care about your employees. We are people too.

    Umstead Hotel & Spa2018-12-20
  5. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Umstead Hotel & Spa full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work while in school or coming straight out of college to get some basic customer service experience. Very upscale and you get the chance of meeting some great people.

    Cons

    Benefits are not good at all all and they have a really bad turn over rate.

    Umstead Hotel & Spa2018-08-30
  6. "Front Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Umstead Hotel & Spa full-time

    Pros

    Upscale environment and beautiful surroundings

    Cons

    Front Office Management gossips about their employees and don't care about anyone's feelings.

    Umstead Hotel & Spa2018-03-08
  7. "Stressful Yet Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Umstead Hotel & Spa full-time

    Pros

    Learning a ton about service and hospitality. Providing the guests with a 5 star experience is very satisfying. Meeting influential people. Pretty good pay after tips included. Benefits (medical, dental, 401k, holiday pay, accumulation of paid vacation time)

    Cons

    Lots of drama and snootiness. Staff takes no responsibility for themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Provide performance ratings where honest, candid feedback is provided.

    Umstead Hotel & Spa2018-01-14
  8. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Umstead Hotel & Spa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    World class experiences. Opportunity for high level of quality performance in a beautiful high end environment.

    Cons

    Working most holidays. Sometimes understaffed for high volume business.

    Advice to Management

    Give more attention to personnel morale so dedicated workers aren't overlooked. Recognize the loyals.

    Umstead Hotel & Spa2017-06-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Restaurant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Umstead Hotel & Spa full-time

    Pros

    Really fun working for a 5 star / 5 diamond hotel and spa, you get to meet a lot of celebrities, the "image" was great.

    Cons

    I was hired to be one thing and turned into a glorified busser in a suit. Just not what I expected. I worked 6 days a week and at least 12 hour days.

    Umstead Hotel & Spa2017-04-12
  10. "Review of Umstead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Reception Agent in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Umstead Hotel & Spa

    Pros

    This particular property is a five Star Hotel. They also offer free meals, supply two uniforms, and have a nice staff.

    Cons

    The employee parking is located off campus, so employees have the leave the property and cross the street for parking.

    Advice to Management

    Management is nice and professional. They treat employees with respect. So my advice to management is minimal. They are doing a good job.

    Umstead Hotel & Spa2016-10-20
Found 23 reviews