UniFirst "sales rep" Reviews | Glassdoor

UniFirst Employee Reviews about "sales rep"

Updated Nov 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
UniFirst President and CEO Steven S. Sintros
Steven S. Sintros
154 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes you may have work long hours(in 74 reviews)

  • "As a Sales Rep, you need to put in the work in your first year to set up the rest of your career(in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "sales rep"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Culture with Career Advancement Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training in the beginning, then you are given the appropriate tools to go out and succeed. If you are willing to put in the work, constantly build your craft, and consistently bring in business, you will be rewarded. After 2 years of outside sales, I worked my way through the sales career path and recently accepted a Sales Management position with UniFirst. We promote from within and reward top talent.

    Cons

    You get what you put into the job. As a Sales Rep, you need to put in the work in your first year to set up the rest of your career. As I mentioned, top reps are rewarded, and you don't become a top rep without a high work ethic and a natural drive.

    UniFirst2019-08-13
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Worst company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Waco, TX
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool co-workers, got free food every now and then.

    Cons

    This company is a disaster. No loyalty to employees , screw over customers constantly, don’t do things right hardly ever. What bothered me the most is how much people hate working here, it says so much about your company if you have a bad culture and Unifirst without question had a horrible culture. Managers don’t hold drivers account for stinking at their jobs AKA not taking customers the right stuff or not taking them enough. The Austin plant is a cluster ball of confusion as there is not a trace of structure out there. The sales team cycles through boatloads of sales reps because they fire you if you don’t sell a dying business model (renting clothes) in your first 90 days because it makes more sense to hire and completely train a new rep vs keeping one you already have......... the style of business is hilariously outdated. Orders are turned in on paper through a folder... that should tell you why Cintas is DOMINATING Unifirst. This company is in need of a massive corporate restructuring or they will not stay afloat and be bought in the next big merger as Cintas and Aramark continue to get bigger and better.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The Croatti’s need to sell out and be done. Start fresh or this company won’t last.

    UniFirst2019-11-03
  3. "If you don't want a commitment..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OUTSIDE SALES in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    2 office day 3 field days Little management involvment

    Cons

    Revolving door of sales reps which leads to low morale Don't invest in sales reps future Insurance coverage is sub par Managers make back door deals in order to keep commission in house.

    Advice to Management

    Have some integrity

    UniFirst2019-07-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch sometimes, paid weekly

    Cons

    I can not begin to even accurately articulate the stress of this job. I have lost sleep working here because I have no training or direction and feel like I will be fired at anytime without notice. Ive been in Sales a while and feel that this place is truly impossible to be a successful sales rep. Management is so “micro-management-y” that my supervisor calls me at least twice a day to check in with me to make sure I’m going to appointments that I’ve already set up - ridiculous!!! The only reason this place is still in business is because Unifirst bought out the local Chattanooga uniform company a couple of years ago. If you care about your health and happiness, work somewhere else. Once I find another job, I am taking this company off my resume.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, we all know this is a sinking ship, so my advice would be just to encourage your team and hope for the best.

    UniFirst2018-06-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    ""Stay Away" Unethical, shady, and selfish company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Consultant in North Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Company to put on your resume because of big name and thats it

    Cons

    Upper management puts so much stress on the zero week that the sales reps lose focus of getting the larger accounts and then management complains about them only selling small deals. Take 2 to 3 months get paid on your commission and even after that your commission is not guarantee until customer pay 13 weeks of invoice which it depends on RSR servicing the account. if you have a bad RSR expect to get charge backs on your commission. Huge internal politics. Company look as sale people as just numbers. UniWORST. worst company i have work for. u are just a number to them. no growth

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to applicants about the perks of unifirst when they are none . Provide better hanads on training and actually go through the agreement

    UniFirst2018-03-15
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Great place for experience but move on once the right opportunity comes along"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Norwalk, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to set your schedule. You learn the basics of territory management. Can be a fun job. You meet cool people frequently because they come and go. First manager was great, motivated us in every way, at least until he decided to leave us for the other team.

    Cons

    Dynamics was a huge mistake, no one likes it. The new tablet is trash as well. Upper management puts so much stress on the zero week that the sales reps lose focus of getting the larger accounts and then management complains about them only selling small deals. My second manager was terrible. Didn't have the tools to motivate us or make us want to be there. I went from loving going into the office to dreading it. They prefer you don't take anymore than one week vacation at a time otherwise they'll find a reason not to pay you. If you have to convince your reps to drink the Kool Aid, it's probably not that great of a place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your ways and adapt to the times. Stop hiring 10 people with hopes of only 2/less working out. Hire slowly and fire quickly. You seem to only get the latter portion correctly. Compensate your sales people better. 3% commission is garbage. Develop better relationships with your reps instead of always seeing them as your slaves who are to get you to bonus. How are you going to seed an A with one Sees Candy? Really? That was such a joke that everyone ate them. Do you really think that a decision maker, who already doesn't wanna meet with you, is going to spring up in the air and give you a meeting after you drop off a candy?

    Show More
    UniFirst2018-02-14
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Talk a great game, but the toxic culture soon swallows you... Stay FAR away from UniWorst!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comprehensive Training, full benefits package

    Cons

    There is a major disconnect between stated policy, and what is practiced. When you burn through almost a sales rep a month, and 80% sales rep turnover company wide, the problem should be obvious... incompetent, indecisive, self-serving management, yet the new management gets progressively worse with each change.

    Advice to Management

    Unifirst is a relatively small fish in an industry dominated by 2 giants, if they don't fix their sales/business development problems they will be the next company to be targeted for merger, way too small and regional presence to ever be a serious national threat to Cintas or Aramark going forward.

    UniFirst2017-11-23
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly, if you're coming out of college, interested in learning about sales, and have a crazy good work ethic, an outside sales rep at Unifirst might be a good first step. The pay and benefits are OK. Revised vacation policy is very good. Outstanding training program in which you communicate with trainers at the corporate level very often. Depending on your sales manager, your experience may be amazing, or may be miserable...I saw both.

    Show More

    Cons

    The cons at UniFirst are many. First and most important, on a national scale, UniFirst is 2nd among national uniform and facility service providers. Number one is Cintas and I won't mince words, Cintas dominates the market I was in as well as numerous other markets in the United States. If you take a job at Unifirst, please be aware that there is a CRAZY emphasis on setting appointments. In fact, before I left, they created this insane contest where your location earned a score based on how many appointments you set. The logic behind it is that if you set appointments, you can pitch this VIP Cost Analysis Program to audit the uniform program at a company and hope that Cintas has screwed up, angering the customer enough to switch to UniFirst. The problem is 2 fold. First, the industry standard for contracts in the uniform rental business is 5 years. So, if a company is in year 1-2-3-4....there is virtually no chance they move until their contract is up. If a company is having major issues with Cintas, UniFirst wants you to assist that customer by helping them write letters to Cintas and help them fix their problems in the hope that when the contract is up, they will switch to UniFirst. But, for a sales rep, that's a TON of work for a sale that may or may not happen in 2-3 years and will seem like an incredible waste of time. Here is my last issue, selling at UniFirst is like selling in the 1960's. A full 12 hours of your 40+ hour work week will be in the office on a phone block trying to set appointments. PLEASE be prepared to get a TON of rejection, hung up on, yelled at, or simply ignored. When you aren't on the phone, the expectation is that you go door to door selling to as many businesses you can to try to set an appointment. It's wildly inefficient.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is now that Ron has passed away, it's time to do an internal scrub of your sales process. What worked for Aldo and then Ron, doesn't mean it works today. The lack of promotions outside of sponsoring a race car driver is killing sales reps. Statistics show that less than 2% of cold calls result in an appointment being set. Another statistic shows that customers do NOT want to be contacted by phone. Their preferred channel of communication is email, or snail mail. So, what is the point of spending 9 hours on a Monday or Friday pounding the phones? What is wrong with e-mailing prospects at UniFirst? If mail is the preferred communication, having them warm to the idea before a sales rep makes a call to them to set an appointments seems like a vastly better way to run the sales process.

    Show More
    UniFirst2017-07-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Run far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -weekly paychecks -travel allowance -cell phone compensation -lots of sales resources -interactive sales meetings -the chance to read ridiculous scripts over the phone

    Cons

    -They treat you like a number until your number is up and when that time comes, everyone in management who you think you've built relationships with over the years will turn their backs on you. -Turnover! Turnover! Turnover! The average sales rep lasts 6-8 months. Tenured reps are not valued and will be put under constant pressure to hit increasing, and at times unattainable quotas. -Every account that you sell will eventually come to hate you because of the poor service they will be getting. -Management techniques are based on threats, micromanaging. -Sales training that focuses entirely on scripts and rehearsed procedures that are completely useless in the actual sales field. -Must work a full year before earning a reasonable amount of PTO

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Show that you have a soul

    UniFirst2017-06-16
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Extreme Daily Micromanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at UniFirst

    Pros

    Base pay is decent. Benefits package average. Emphasis on their "process" versus closing the sale. Training has nothing to do with what you need to know when you hit the field. Horrible training on how their service works. You have to teach yourself on the fly.

    Cons

    EmExtreme micromanagement of every second of every day. Literally. It wears on you. Selling is the best, but the weekly grilling, the administrative work and the constant phonecalls from sales managers during the day when you are out working is unbearable! Very high turnover! This company needs to have a corporate meeting to determine why Sales Reps don't stay. People leave because of your management style. Back off.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees and be respectful and treat them like adults and not your children

    UniFirst2016-10-19
Found 36 reviews