Unicom Reviews | Glassdoor

Unicom Reviews

Updated 30 de Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

1.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
3%
Recommend to a Friend
8%
Approve of CEO
Unicom CEO Chris Earle
Chris Earle
12 Ratings
  1. "MIS Department Head"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Unicom full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A stable company with good benefits

    Cons

    Work a lot of weekends and holidays in certain jobs

    Advice to Management

    Go back to being family friendl

    Unicom2016-01-13
  2. "Great oopurtunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Unicom

    Pros

    24/7 CALL CENTER SO THERE ARE A LOT OF SHIFTS TO CHOOSE FROM AND IN TURN A LOT OF MONEY TO BE MADE.

    Cons

    The scheduling is not that great. Lots of times you will be required to work home days. I say try it!

    Unicom2016-02-12
  3. "Great people great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unicom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management will listen to what you have to say they were a family company.

    Cons

    salary was not as what I would expect

    Advice to Management

    I wish I was still working for this company great place

    Unicom2014-06-05
  4. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Wythenshawe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Unicom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can not think of any.

    Cons

    Extremely high turnover in staff. I started at the beginning of the month with 15 others and by the end of the month, I was the last one to leave. The aim was to sell a mobile contract to businesses so they could divert business calls to this mobile. The mobile phones offered were outdated and even if a customer was to accept the SIM card, majority of them don’t even activate it - meaning your target is not met.... Targets are unachievable and therefore people are sacked, so they don’t get their commission on any sales they made. Managers were not professional, they would also be on the phone and put customers on mute and call them names and laugh. This was their idea of making in a fun environment to work in.

    Show More
    Unicom2019-07-21
  5. "Awful company, avoid like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TELESALES Representative in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Unicom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Poorly paid, comission often not paid, ordered to work extra hours for no extra pay if office targets not met. High stress. Management don't have a clue how to manage.

    Advice to Management

    Train better managers, support your staff more. Learn how to pay on time

    Unicom2019-07-04
  6. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retention Specialist in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unicom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, treated well if you worked hars

    Cons

    Not that much, bit school-playground in terms of rules and gossip

    Advice to Management

    Chill on the white shirt thing

    Unicom2019-05-10
  7. "Telesales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unicom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good People, fast culture, accepting

    Cons

    Micromanagement, unrealistic salary expectations (OTE earnings)

    Advice to Management

    Focus on employee retention

    Unicom2018-04-18
  8. "Full time Telesales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telesales in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unicom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people On fridays they tone it down from very strict to slightly strict The sales environment when a deal was done was okay

    Cons

    Very Boiler room type job High labour turnover - Don't expect to make friends as they'll be gone next week Pointless strict rules on dress Nobody seemed happy to work there

    Advice to Management

    They make employees feel very much like a hamster on a wheel. Quite a gossipy place

    Unicom2017-12-11
  9. "Sales role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unicom full-time

    Pros

    People are nice, training isnt hard

    Cons

    Micromanagement, 30 miunte "after hours" penalty if you are late

    Advice to Management

    Care about the employees more

    Unicom2018-01-05
  10. "ok at times, but bad overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unicom full-time

    Pros

    friendly staff with some decent staff incentives. Office did have quite a high tempo feel.

    Cons

    Found the office to be unprofessional at times with managers often being inappropriate. The company has a poor staff attrition rate.

    Advice to Management

    Hard to know where to start. But I feel more emphasis on listening to staff would be a good start.

    Unicom2017-06-17
Found 37 reviews