Unilever Reviews in Chicago, IL | Glassdoor

Unilever Chicago Reviews

Updated February 12, 2017
42 reviews

Filter

Filter

Chicago, IL Area

3.3
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Unilever CEO Paul Polman
Paul Polman
11 Ratings

42 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • work life balance might be tough (in 155 reviews)

  • Matrix structure can slow down decision making as does need to build consensus for all major decisions (in 83 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Business Insights Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Unilever full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity for Advancement
    Collaborative working environment

    Cons

    Lisle office relocation to New Jersey

    Unilever Response

    Mar 21, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - it's great to receive feedback. We'll ensure your comments and experiences are passed on to the respective teams. We wish you continued success ... More


  2. "All Work, No Pay"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Logistics in Chicago, IL
    Former Contractor - Logistics in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unilever as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    There is opportunity to learn as much as you can, in various departments.
    I took the opportunity to do and learn as much as I could while there

    Cons

    the work life balance, terrible pay, employees fearful of their jobs made for
    a very defensive atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    Never let good employees slip out of your hands. Time to PAY what their worth, and above market value


  3. "Associate Finance Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Lisle, IL
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Lisle, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Good company, good benefits. If you are willing to move, a lot of opportunity for international experience. Lots of different positions in the corporate office

    Cons

    Promotions based on who you know not abilities. Move people around to positions that they do not necessarily want to move into.

    Unilever Response

    Aug 30, 2016 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. It's pleasing to see that you mention a number of positives of your time here - including benefits, international opportunities and ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "No life"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Mechanic in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Line Mechanic in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, lots of overtime, union, pretty easy job at times.

    Cons

    You have no life here at all, management is horrible, the union here is horrible, you get forced to work.

    Unilever Response

    Sep 20, 2016 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will ensure your points around work life balance and management are sent on to the respective teams.


  6. "Great company overall"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Development in Lisle, IL
    Former Employee - Customer Development in Lisle, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Strong support of growth and education. Great benefits, work flexibility, and opportunity for advancement. Challenging and rewarding work environment. Ethical and sustainable. Good corporate citizen.

    Cons

    Constant change was the norm. Lacked innovation, in regard to new product development, while competition was the opposite. Seemed to not want to take risks on new products. Difficult to compete with other leading brands. Started utilizing third party manufacturing, which took away some control on price and quality.

    Advice to Management

    Listen better to people in customer development, who are out in the field. Focus more on what the customer really want, vs. what just what SLT want.


  7. "Associate brand manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great working environment
    Good benefits
    Chance to move between brands very easily

    Cons

    Can take a long time to get promoted


  8. "Unilever... A Great Place to Work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lisle, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lisle, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Unilever is an excellent company with high ethics who strongly supports diversity, sustainability and work life balance. Company has a great culture which really fosters team work.

    Cons

    Unilever has limited locations in the United States.

    Unilever Response

    May 5, 2016 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for leaving a review. We appreciate all feedback - so it's pleasing to see you mention our focus on diversity, ethics and sustainability. We wish you continued success in your ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great for Getting Experience, High Amount of Change"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain Manager in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Supply Chain Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Corporate vision, global leverage, high percentage of great co-workers, flexibility, a ton of experience learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Non stop change in and inconsistency in expectations and organization, mixed messages on performance, unbalanced workload, minimal work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Too many short term wins lead to longer term headaches. Design goals and projects with a vision to be sustainable to business and processes, not just one and done. Do a thorough assessment of talent and leadership, including a balancing of work.

    Unilever Response

    May 13, 2016 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review - we appreciate the feedback. It's pleasing to see that you list a number of highlights including our vision, co-workers and learning opportunities. We'll pass on your ... More


  10. "Requirements Planner"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lisle, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lisle, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Diversity and Inclusion in the workplace

    Cons

    Nothing outside of basic corporate America in terms of restructures.

    Unilever Response

    Mar 18, 2016 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate your comments. It's great to see such a positive outlook and wish you all the best for throughout 2016.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "This is a great company to work for because they invest in their employees."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Brand Manager in Lisle, IL
    Current Employee - Senior Brand Manager in Lisle, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This is a great company to work for because they invest in their employees, are serious about their sustainability program (USLP), and have so many different opportunities that you'll always find a new challenge to tackle.

    Cons

    They are very process oriented. Great because you minimize risks and failures. Tough because you are not organized to move fast and end up being a follower more often than leader.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in more of the entrepreneurial spirit so you take risks on true innovations

    Unilever Response

    Feb 8, 2016 – The Unilever Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your current role with us at Unilever. It's pleasing to see that you've highlighted a number of positives, including our commitment to investing ... More


Showing 42 of 2,733 reviews
Reset Filters