Unilever Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Unilever CEO Alan Jope
Alan Jope
476 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and learn"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Englewood Cliffs, NJ

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great brands, great people and wonderful purpose.

    Cons

    It is a large company with a lot of processes.

    Unilever2020-04-29
  2. "Great place, solid benefits, need to improve on pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Services Manager in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Opportunities to get hands on experience - Great place to meet awesome people - Some cool projects and brands to work with

    Cons

    - Struggle between the older generation and younger generations - Digital transformation is a joke here - Poor pay, definitely not competitive to the marketplace

    Continue reading
    Unilever2020-05-23
  3. "ok"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Validation Engineer 

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    good experience and friendly coworkers

    Cons

    change in management and reduced salaries

    Unilever2020-05-30
  4. "UFLP"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UFLP in Italy, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to grow professionally

    Cons

    Being used to demanding situations

    Unilever2020-05-07
  5. "Great place to work at"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and working environment

    Cons

    Frequent change of the organization

    Unilever2020-05-03
  6. Helpful (3)

    "No longer the company I joined."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Management in Englewood Cliffs, NJ
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great career progression through the UFLP, though there are complaints that progression to management is constrained to those who are in the program. Not 100% true, but certainly the perception. Fantastic 401(k) match Generally great coworkers - high trust in direct line management, though very low trust in top-level leadership with respect to employee development and wellbeing. Commitment to using 100% PCR in their packaging, which is cool. Also great work streams in using diverse suppliers (women-owned, POC, etc.)

    Cons

    My time with Unilever is a tale of two parts - before the Kraft bid, and after. Before, Unilever was an incredible place to work. I looked forward to going to work each day. After the bid, extreme cost cutting measures were put in place. At first this was not done at the expense of employees, but shareholders are quite greedy - especially when UL can’t clock in more than 2% growth in North America. If you can’t put up the numbers on the top line, you best believe shareholders will demand it come from the bottom. Almost half of my 4-year tenure was spent double or triple hatting due to the company hiring freezes, the end of which was always a mystery due to VP-level’s opaque leadership style. No transparency. Just demands to root cause every small hit to customer service that occurs. If you love pointing fingers and root causing every aspect of your existence, then Unilever supply chain is a great career choice for you. Depressing office. All desks are “hot desks” so that there is no personal touch whatsoever since no personal affects can be left overnight. EC’s Culture is bleak, and will get worse when they cram Logisitics in with Planning after closing the Shelton office and outsourcing Customer Service to a subpar 3rd party in India. Marketing will 100% use supply chain as their scapegoat as to why they can’t grow their brands, so have fun in any cross functional arguments—I mean—workstreams.

    Continue reading
    Unilever2020-05-10
  7. "Okay place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Demand Planner in Englewood, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of training and you g work force

    Cons

    There has been salary cuts

    Unilever2020-05-02
  8. "Best Company Ever!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Operator II in Raeford, NC

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay! The health and wellness benefits are top of the line. Retirement plans are matched at a highly desirable percentage. Clean and family oriented work environment. Always seeking to improve the lives of its employees by not only taking action on suggestions that make the technicians job easier, but paying you for those ideas. All around motivation for quality in every aspect of the company.

    Cons

    Little to none at all.

    Continue reading
    Unilever2020-04-08
  9. "Really Great Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Fair, inclusive and fun company culture.

    Cons

    Lots of processes and slow decision making

    Unilever2020-04-06
  10. "Good environment to work in, pay is better than average"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Sikeston, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, good benefits & 401k

    Cons

    People don’t want to work as a team anymore.

    Continue reading
    Unilever2020-04-10
Found 4142 reviews